March 30, 2010

Winter All-Sportsmanship Selections Released

Honor Recognizes Positive Contributions to Sport Within Conference

HADLEY, Mass. – The New England Small College Athletic Conference has announced the Winter All-Sportsmanship Team for each winter sport sponsored by the conference. The All-Sportsmanship Team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team for their positive contributions to sportsmanship. The student-athlete selected must be in good academic standing and a member of the team at the conclusion of the season in order to be eligible for selection.

The All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. Through their positive actions and examples, these student-athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship that the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.

Notable members among the 83 individuals selected to the Winter All-Sportsmanship Team were men’s ice hockey forward Zach Miller (Bridgeton, N.J.) and men’s squash player Ethan Buchsbaum (Princeton, N.J.), both from Williams College. Miller is one of three skaters from the NESCAC among the seven finalists for the 2010 Hockey Humanitarian Award, given annually to college hockey’s finest citizen. Buchsbaum earned Co-Player of the Year in Men’s Squash, as he went 10-11 and helped the Ephs to a runner-up finish at the 2010 NESCAC Championship in February.

Eighteen members of the All-Sportsmanship team earned All-NESCAC honors in some form this winter, with 12 of the 22 men’s and women’s squash players garnering both honors. Returning from the 2008-09 All-Sportsmanship team were 17 individuals, with four student-athletes - Samantha Smith (Locust Valley, N.Y.) of Colby, Caroline Flynn (Philadelphia, Pa.) of Connecticut College, Jo-Ann Jee (Kuching, Malaysia) of Trinity, and Cara Madden (Ipswich, Mass.) of Wesleyan - receiving recognition for the third year in a row.

The Winter All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the NESCAC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators. The committee provides a voice to represent the concerns of all student-athletes and to discuss issues impacting student-athlete well-being. The NESCAC SAAC represents all students who participate in intercollegiate athletics and promotes and celebrates student-athletes achievements.

Men's Basketball  |  Women's Basketball  |  Men's Ice Hockey  |  Women's Ice Hockey 
Men's Squash  |  Women's Squash  |  Men's Swimming & Diving  |  Women's Swimming & Diving


2010 NESCAC Winter All-Sportsmanship Team

Men's Basketball

back to top

Kurt Bennett Amherst Jr. Placerville, Calif.
Marshall Hatch Bates Sr. Chicago, Ill.
Mike Hauser Bowdoin Sr. East Williston, N.Y.
Christian Van Loenen Colby Jr. Falmouth, Maine
Brian Mahoney Connecticut College So. Quincy, Mass.
Jamal Davis Middlebury Jr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
Jared Pimm Trinity Jr. Chelmsford, Mass.
Reed Morgan Tufts Sr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
Jeremy Kaminer Wesleyan Sr. Cherry Hill, N.J.
Joe Geoghegan Williams Sr. Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Women's Basketball

back to top

Livia Rizzo Amherst So. Dover, Mass.
Annie Burns Bates So. Topsfield, Mass.
Sabrina Cote Bowdoin Sr. Dexter, Maine
Aarika Ritchie Colby So. Lee, Maine
Rita Holak Connecticut College Sr. Windham, N.H.
Vincenta Hudziak Middlebury Sr. Charlotte, Vt.
Rebecca Cohn Trinity Jr. San Francisco, Calif.
Katie Wholey Tufts Sr. Marshfield, Mass.
McKinley Tennant Wesleyan Jr. Swampscott, Mass.
Elizabeth Hansen Williams Sr. Chicago, Ill.
Men's Ice Hockey

back to top

Keith Nelson Amherst Sr. Manalapan, N.J.
Leland Fidler Bowdoin Sr. Waltham, Mass.
Michael Belliveau Colby Sr. Bridgewater, Nova Scotia
Ryan Riffe Connecticut College Jr. Berwick, Maine
Harry Biggs Hamilton Sr. West Newbury, Mass.
Charlie Townsend Middlebury Sr. Pennington, N.J.
Joseph Tierney Trinity So. Reading, Mass.
David Antonelli Tufts Sr. Westwood, Mass.
Sam Robinson Wesleyan Sr. Winchester, Mass.
Zach Miller Williams Sr. Bridgeton, N.J.
Women's Ice Hockey

back to top

Alyssa Chwick Amherst Sr. Purchase, N.Y.
Chelsea Young Bowdoin Jr. Orchard Lake, Mich.
Kaitlyn Conway Colby Sr. Andover, Mass.
Abby Hine Connecticut College Jr. Madison, Conn.
Katie Zimmerman Hamilton Fy. Plymouth, Mich.
Lani Wright Middlebury Sr. Reading, Mass.
Emilie Wiggin Trinity Sr. Belmont, Mass.
Izzy Huston Wesleyan Sr. Hopewell, N.J.
Hannah Systrom Williams So. Winchester, Mass.
Men's Squash

back to top

Todd Lavine Amherst So. Atherton, Calif.
Eric Bedell Bates Fr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
David Funk Bowdoin Sr. Short Hills, N.J.
Harry Smith Colby So. Locust Valley, N.Y.
Caleb Garza Connecticut College Fr. Ocean City, N.J.
Mario Magana Hamilton Sr. San Salvador, El Salvador
Simon Keyes Middlebury Sr. Concord, Mass.
Antonio Diaz Trinity So. Mexico City, Mexico
Zach Bradley Tufts Sr. Baltimore, Md.
Robert Broadfoot Wesleyan Sr. Hong Kong
Ethan Buchsbaum Williams Sr. Princeton, N.J.
Women's Squash

back to top

Anna Scheidt Amherst So. Fort Lee, N.J.
Mimi Neal Bates So. Danvers, Mass.
Lauren Gesswein Bowdoin Jr. Fairfield, Conn.
Samantha Smith Colby Sr. Locust Valley, N.Y.
Caroline Flynn Connecticut College Sr. Philadelphia, Pa.
Kelly Whipple Hamilton Sr. Rye, N.Y.
Avery Tilney Middlebury Sr. Philadelphia, Pa.
Jo-Ann Jee Trinity Sr. Kuching, Malaysia
Erin Bruynell Tufts Sr. Milton, Mass.
Casey Simchik Wesleyan Sr. Rye, N.Y.
Jennifer Coxe Williams Sr. Greenwich, Conn.
Men's Swimming & Diving

back to top

Michael O'Connor Amherst So. Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y.
Wansit Chatikavanij Bates Jr. Bangkok, Thailand
Matt Kwan Bowdoin Sr. Pleasanton, Calif.
Charlie Wulff Colby Jr. Millis, Mass.
Grant Moryan Connecticut College Sr. Westfield, N.J.
Chris Crowell Hamilton Sr. Wayland, Mass.
Andy Collins Middlebury So. Dallas, Texas
Paul Scafariello Trinity Sr. Hamden, Conn.
Lawrence Chan Tufts Sr. Fresh Meadows, N.Y.
Kevin McKeown Wesleyan Jr. Enfield, Conn.
Andrew D'Ignazio Williams Jr. Wallingford, Pa.
Women's Swimming & Diving

back to top

Susannah Rudel Amherst So. Chappaqua, N.Y.
Sarah Reingold Bates Sr. Oakland, Calif.
Caitlin Callahan Bowdoin Jr. Essex, Conn.
Jenny Reiner Colby So. Sudbury, Mass.
Mackenzie Lilly Connecticut College Fy. Frederick, Md.
Francesca Crane Hamilton Sr. New York, N.Y.
Kelsey Allan Middlebury So. Bale d'Urfe, Quebec
Jenna Carroll Trinity So. Stamford, Conn.
Valerie Eacret Tufts So. Goleta, Calif.
Cara Madden Wesleyan Jr. Ipswich, Mass.
Joanna Hoffman Williams Sr. Upper Arlington, Ohio
View: Mobile | Desktop