Field Hockey All-Conference Teams Announced

Field Hockey All-Conference Teams Announced

Bowdoin’s McNamara, Tufts’ Scholtes Named Offensive, Defensive Players of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. - Bowdoin senior forward Lindsay McNamara (Milton, Mass.) has been selected as the NESCAC Offensive Player of the Year, while Tufts junior back Margi Scholtes (Grosse Pointe, Mich.) was chosen by the conference coaches as NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year. Both players helped their respective squads reach the final of the 2008 NESCAC Field Hockey Championship this past weekend, with the Polar Bears capturing their fourth-straight conference crown and fifth overall title.

McNamara, the NESCAC Player of the Year last fall, was the unanimous choice by the coaches for Offensive accolades. After ending the 2007 campaign as the league’s leading scorer with 61 points, McNamara is poised to once again pace the conference in points this season. McNamara has tallied 28 goals - including 10 game-winners - and two assists for 58 points heading into this weekend’s NCAA Tournament action. Already the all-time leading scorer for Bowdoin with 88 career goals, McNamara broke the Polar Bears’ single-season goal mark for the second year in a row, surpassing her previous record of 27 with two goals in Saturday’s 4-0 semifinal win over Middlebury. She also set the program record for goals in a game with five markers in a victory over Wheaton on Sept. 7. McNamara was also named to the All-Conference First Team for the third consecutive year.

In addition to being named the Defensive Player of the Year, Scholtes received All-NESCAC First Team recognition after being selected to the Second Team in 2007. Starting all 17 games so far this season, Scholtes was part of a Jumbo defense that is third in the conference in goals allowed at 15 (0.88 per game). She also contributed two goals and five assists for nine points, sixth among her teammates, as Tufts holds the best scoring margin in the conference at plus-3.14.

On the attack along with McNamara were three sophomores, Tamara Brown (Annandale, Va.) of Tufts, Chase Delano (Greenwich, Conn.) of Middlebury, and Robyn Williams (Bulawayo, Zimbabwe) of Trinity, all of whom earned All-NESCAC honors for the first time. Brown and Delano have both enjoyed record-setting seasons during their second year in the league. After collecting five goals and an assist during her rookie campaign, Brown shattered the program mark for goals in a season with 22 tallies so far and currently ranks third in the NESCAC in points with 48. Delano, who posted four goals and three assists in 2007, has tied the Panthers’ single-season goal record with 23 in 2008 while her team-best 53 points put her second in the conference behind McNamara. Williams was second for the Bantams in scoring with 10 goals and seven assists for 27 points as she helped her team reach the semifinals of the NESCAC Field Hockey Championship for the first time in tournament history.

Williams senior midfielder Meighan McGowan (Greenwich, Conn.) achieved the rare feat of being named to the All-NESCAC First Team in each of her four seasons with the Ephs. The 2006 NESCAC Player of the Year and 2005 Rookie of the Year battled through an injury-plagued fall and finished second on the Williams stat sheet with five goals and one assist. Joining McGowan at midfield were fellow seniors Julia King (Yarmouth, Maine) of Bowdoin and Alyssa Dudzik (Darien, Conn.) of Amherst. King, Bowdoin's all-time assist leader with 46 helpers and a two-time All-NESCAC honoree, is second for the Polar Bears in scoring with a conference-best 15 assists to go along with five goals for 25 points. Dudzik, who garnered First Team recognition for the third-straight year, contributed two goals and two assists for six points while starting all 15 outings for the Jeffs.

Seniors Christine Mwatarura (Helensvale, Zimbabwe) of Trinity and Taryn Petrelli (Harrison, N.Y.) of Middlebury complement Tufts’ Scholtes on defense. A First Team selection in 2006 and a Second Team honoree in 2005, Mwatarura split time between midfield and back in 2008, posting three goals and two assists for eight points along with two defensive saves as part of one of the conference’s top defenses. Petrelli, a Second Team member in each of the last two years, captains a defense that ranks fifth in the NESCAC in goals against average at 1.40.

Rounding out the 2008 NESCAC Field Hockey All-Conference First Team was Bates sophomore goalkeeper Katie McEnroe (Hockessin, Del.). The key component to the Bobcats’ defense, McEnroe made more saves than any other conference keeper this fall after she stopped 133 shots, an average of 9.50 per game. McEnroe finished the year with a 5-8 record, posting a goals against average of 3.04 and a save percentage of .764.

Rookie of the Year honors went to Amherst first year goalkeeper Emily Vitale (Cheshire, Conn.). Owning a 9-5 record during her first season with the Jeffs, Vitale recorded a 1.30 goals against average (6th NESCAC) and a .822 save percentage (3rd) with two shutouts. She also earned All-NESCAC Second Team honors.

Fifth-year head coach Tina McDavitt of Tufts was the choice among her peers for Coach of the Year honors. McDavitt has guided her squad to a program-record 16 wins so far this season, claiming the top seed in the NESCAC Field Hockey Championship along with reaching the final for the first time in tournament history. The honor is the first for McDavitt during her tenure with the Jumbos.


2008 NESCAC Field Hockey All-Conference

  First Team Institution    
Yr. Hometown
F Tamara Brown Tufts So. Annandale, Va.
F Chase Delano Middlebury So. Greenwich, Conn.
F Lindsay McNamara Bowdoin Sr. Milton, Mass.
F Robyn Williams Trinity So. Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
M Julia King Bowdoin Sr. Yarmouth, Maine
M Alyssa Dudzik Amherst Sr. Darien, Conn.
M Meighan McGowan Williams Sr. Greenwich, Conn.
D Christine Mwatarura Trinity Sr. Helensvale, Zimbabwe
D Taryn Petrelli Middlebury Sr. Harrison, N.Y.
D Margi Scholtes Tufts Jr. Grosse Pointe, Mich.
GK Katie McEnroe Bates So. Hockessin, Del.
  Second Team Institution Yr. Hometown
F Karli Del Rossi Trinity Sr. Mantua, N.J.
F Rachel Greenwood Bates Sr. Williamstown, Mass.
F Abby Hine Connecticut College      
So. Madison, Conn.
F Molly Malloy Amherst Jr. Stamford, Conn.
F Heather McCormack      
Middlebury Jr. Rowley, Mass.
M Brittany Holiday Tufts Sr. Wellesley, Mass.
M Meryl Poulin Colby So. Cape Elizabeth, Maine 
M Amanda Roberts Tufts So. Wenham, Mass.
D Sarah Burleigh Williams Sr. Darien, Conn.
D Leah Ferenc Bowdoin Sr. Rumney, N.H.
D Lucy Gotta Connecticut College Sr. Northbridge, Mass.
D Tierney Healy Amherst Jr. Moreland Hills, Ohio
GK Emily Vitale Amherst Fy. Cheshire, Conn.
  Offensive Player of the Year     
F Lindsay McNamara Bowdoin Sr. Milton, Mass.
  Defensive Player of the Year  
D Margi Scholtes Tufts Jr. Grosse Pointe, Mich.
  Rookie of the Year      
GK Emily Vitale
Amherst Fy. Cheshire, Conn.
  Coach of the Year      
  Tina McDavitt