Field Hockey All-NESCAC Selections Released

Field Hockey All-NESCAC Selections Released

Middlebury’s Greer Named Player of the Year for Second Straight Season

HADLEY, Mass. – Senior forward Lauren Greer has been selected as the NESCAC Player of the Year by the league’s coaches for the second consecutive season. After a stellar junior campaign in which she rewrote the Middlebury field hockey record book, Greer has continued to be the league’s most dynamic offensive threat in her senior season. She joined Lindsay McNamara (Bowdoin - 2007, 2008) and Tamara Brown (Tufts - 2009, 2010) as the only players in league history to earn the award in back-to-back seasons.

The captain will enter the NCAA Tournament as the national leader in goals (34) and points (81). In her team’s 17 games this season, she has been held scoreless just once and has recorded two goals or more on 10 occasions. Her five tallies at Hamilton on October 6 were a career high, and she closed out the regular season with her 100th career tally in a win over Williams on October 24.

Greer continued her dominance in the NESCAC Championship, shattering four tournament records. Her first goal just 55 seconds into her team’s 7-0 quarterfinal win over Connecticut College was the fastest in tournament history. She went on to score four times against the Camels to establish new records for goals (4) and points (8) in a game. Greer finished the tournament with seven goals and 14 points, both championship records. The top seeded Panthers claimed their second NESCAC title with a dramatic 3-2 shootout win over Bowdoin on Sunday.

No stranger to postseason accolades, Greer was voted to the All-NESCAC First Team for the third year in a row. In 2009, she was named the league’s Rookie of the Year and placed on the Second Team. Over the course of her outstanding career at Middlebury, she has amassed 258 points on 107 goals and 44 assists. Her 3.53 points per game are the most in NCAA history, and her goal (4th)  and point (5th) totals are also among the highest ever. Greer’s 35 tallies last fall were the most since NESCAC Championship play began in 2000.

A total of five forwards were chosen as part of the 11-member All-NESCAC First Team. Joining Greer were junior Katie Riley and senior Cathleen Smith of Bowdoin. Riley is tied for third in the NESCAC with 37 points on 13 goals and 11 assists, while Smith has posted 11 goals and seven helpers. After falling to Middlebury in the conference finals, the Polar Bears were named to the NCAA Tournament field and will begin with a First Round contest today. The remaining forwards include seniors Hadley Duncan of Trinity and Katie McMahon of Amherst. Duncan led the way for the Bantams, scoring 12 times. Meanwhile, McMahon earned her third All-NESCAC nod after racking up 30 points on 11 goals and eight assists.

At midfield, senior Charlotte Gardiner of Middlebury returned to the First Team due in large part to her nine assists. The senior was a 2011 First Team selection at forward, while earning a spot on the 2010 Second Team as a midfielder. Fellow Panther Catherine Fowler joined Gardiner on the First Team. The sophomore is currently leading the NESCAC with 15 assists and is ranked third with 37 points. Junior Emily Cannon of Tufts also made her way to the First Team after totaling five goals and four assists. The Jumbos earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament and will open with a First Round game today.

The defensive unit on the First Team includes three repeat selections. Seniors Brooke Phinney of Bowdoin and Margaret Souther of Middlebury were each members of the 2011 Second Team. Phinney, who was named NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year, has also been an offensive threat, posting 11 goals and six assists. Meanwhile, Souther contributed seven assists and a defensive save. Amherst sophomore Rachel Tannenbaum was named the league’s top goalkeeper. The 2011 Rookie of the Year is among the league leaders with a save percentage of .826 and a goals against average of 1.25. She surrendered just 20 goals in 16 games (1123:51). Tannenbaum was also a First Team selection last fall.

Rachel Kennedy
 of Bowdoin was named Rookie of the Year. The first year forward was third among NESCAC scorers with her team-best 14 goals.

Middlebury’s Katharine DeLorenzo was named NESCAC Coach of the Year for the first time in her 13 seasons at the helm. DeLorenzo has led the Panthers to an unblemished 17-0 this fall and their second NESCAC title. Middlebury also compiled perfect NESCAC marks in 2003 and 2004. DeLorenzo owns a 175-45 record entering NCAA play, her team’s tenth straight tournament appearance.

Field Hockey All Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Hadley Duncan Trinity Sr. Rye, N.Y.
F Lauren Greer Middlebury Sr. North Hampton, N.H.
F Katie McMahon Amherst Sr. Denville, N.J.
F Katie Riley Bowdoin  Jr. Hingham, Mass.
F Cathleen Smith Bowdoin Sr. Larchmont, N.Y.
M Emily Cannon Tufts Jr. Atkinson, N.H.
M Catherine Fowler Middlebury So. Grosse Pointe, Mich.
M Charlotte Gardiner Middlebury Sr. Larchmont, N.Y.
D Brooke Phinney Bowdoin Sr. Dedham, Mass.
D Margaret Souther Middlebury Sr. Scarsdale, N.Y.
GK Rachel Tannenbaum Amherst So. Berwyn, Pa.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Polly Merck Bates Jr.  Beverly Farms, Mass.
F Lia Sagerman Tufts Sr. La Jolla, Calif.
F Krista Zsitvay Amherst Jr. New Vernon, N.J. 
M Maggie Chapman Tufts So. St. Louis, Mo.
M Megan Fortier Colby Fy. Falmouth, Maine
M Ashley McLaren Wesleyan Sr. Essex Junction, Vt. 
M Alex Philie Amherst Jr.  East Sandwich, Mass.
D Sarah Duncan Trinity Jr. Dedham, Mass. 
D Andrea Hoisington Conn. College Jr. Brownsville, Vt.
D Kassey Matoin Bowdoin Sr. Springvale, Maine
GK Kayla Lessard Bowdoin Sr. Enfield, Conn.
GK Ariana Spiliotes Williams Jr. Bethesda, Md.
Lauren Greer
Player of the Year
Lauren Greer, Middlebury
Brooke Phinney
Defensive Player of the Year
Brooke Phinney, Bowdoin
Rachel Kennedy
Rookie of the Year
Rachel Kennedy, Bowdoin

Katharine DeLorenzo
Coach of the Year
Katharine DeLorenzo, Middlebury