Field Hockey All-NESCAC Selections Released

Field Hockey All-NESCAC Selections Released

Middlebury’s Fowler Named Player of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. – Junior midfielder Catherine Fowler (Grosse Pointe, Mich.) of Middlebury has been selected as the NESCAC Player of the Year by the league’s coaches. Fowler leads the league with 17 goals, is tied atop the board in scoring with 47 points, tied for second with 13 assists and has contributed four game-winning goals heading into the weekend. She has registered a point in 16 of the 17 games she has played in this season. Fowler earned First Team All-NESCAC honors for the second time in her career, as she was named first team in 2012. She is the fourth Panther to be named Player of the Year, joining Char Glessner (2001), Janie Mackey (2004) and Lauren Greer (2011, 2012) on the list. Last season, Fowler set Middlebury’s single-season assist record with 17 assists. Fourth-seeded Middlebury captured its third NESCAC title with a 5-4 overtime victory over Bowdoin on Sunday.

A total of five midfielders were chosen as part of the 11-member All-NESCAC First Team. Joining Fowler were senior Emily Cannon (Atkinson, N.H.) of Tufts and senior Alex Philie (East Sandwich, Mass.) of Amherst. Cannon, a 2012 First Team selection, has posted seven goals and two assists, while Philie adds first-team recognition to her list of accolades that includes second-team honors in 2011 and 2012. Philie finished the season with two goals and three assists, while making a defensive save. The remaining midfielders include Bowdoin senior Olivia King (Georgetown, Mass.) and Wesleyan senior Blair Ingraham (Northport, N.Y.). Both players received their first all-conference selections, as King recorded one goal and seven assists and Ingraham was second in scoring for the Cardinals with six goals and two assists. All four players started every game for their respective squads.

A trio of high-scoring forwards found spots on the All-NESCAC First Team. Bowdoin senior Katie Riley (Hingham, Mass.) is tied for the conference lead in points at 47 to go along with a league-best 15 assists to pace the potent Polar Bear offense. Riley, a 2012 First Team pick, started all 17 games this season and recorded five game-winning goals. Joining Riley was teammate sophomore Rachel Kennedy (Trumbull, Conn.) who followed up her 2012 NESCAC Rookie of the Year campaign with 39 points, which ranked third in the NESCAC. Riley and Kennedy finished tied for second in the league with 16 goals. Amherst senior Krista Zsitvay (New Vernon, N.J.) paced the Jeff offense with 37 points on 12 goals, including four game-winners, and 13 assists after starting in all 16 games. Zsitvay was named Second Team All-NESCAC last season.

The defensive unit on the First Team includes three first-time selections. Middlebury senior Meredith Rowe (Kenilworth, N.J.), who was named NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year, contributed two defensive saves while being a key member of the transition game for the Panthers. Junior Sophie Doering (Darien, Conn.) of Trinity poses an offensive threat in addition to her defensive abilities, as she has recorded three goals and two assists. Colby sophomore Sarah Evans (Cohasset, Mass.) was named the league’s top goalkeeper. Evans led the league with a save percentage of .860 and 15 goals allowed. She posted a 1.12 goals against average, while registering four shutouts.

Mettler Growney (New Canaan, Conn.) of Bowdoin was named Rookie of the Year. The first-year midfielder is a two-way player who has played in 15 games so far this season for the Polar Bears. Growney has scored two goals, including one game-winning goal.

Amherst’s Carol Knerr was named NESCAC Coach of the Year for the first time in her 13 seasons at the helm. Knerr led the Jeffs to the program’s first No. 1-seed in the NESCAC Championship with a record of 9-1 after Amherst finished the 2012 season fifth in the league standings. She is the first Amherst field hockey coach to earn the award.

Field Hockey All Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Rachel Kennedy Bowdoin So. Trumbull, Conn.
F Katie Riley Bowdoin Sr. Hingham, Mass.
F Krista Zsitvay Amherst Sr. New Vernon, N.J.
M Emily Cannon Tufts Sr. Atkinson, N.H.
M Catherine Fowler Middlebury Jr. Grosse Pointe, Mich.
M Blair Ingraham Wesleyan Sr. Northport, N.Y.
M Olivia King Bowdoin Sr. Georgetown, Mass.
M Alex Philie Amherst Sr. East Sandwich, Mass.
D Sophie Doering Trinity Jr. Darien, Conn.
D Meredith Rowe Middlebury Sr. Kenilworth, Ill.
GK Sarah Evans Colby So. Cohasset, Mass.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Megan Fortier Colby So.  Falmouth, Maine
F Emily Jablonski Williams Sr. Madison, Conn.
F Eva Rosencrans Hamilton Fy. Greenwich, Conn. 
F Madeline Tank Amherst Jr. Winnetka, Ill.
M Brittany Norfleet Tufts Jr. Solana Beach, Calif.
M Dakota Sikes-Keilp Tufts So. Montclair, N.J. 
M Stephanie Wan Tufts Sr.  Morgan Hill, Calif.
M Elinore O'Brien Middlebury Sr. New Canaan, Conn. 
D Andrea Hoisington Conn. College Sr. Brownsville, Vt.
D Alexandra Jamison Tufts So. Gaithersburg, Md.
GK Rachel Tannenbaum Amherst Jr. Berwyn, Pa.

Catherine Fowler
Player of the Year
Catherine Fowler, Middlebury

Meredith Rowe
Defensive Player of the Year
Meredith Rowe, Middlebury
Mettler Growney
Rookie of the Year
Mettler Growney, Bowdoin

Carol Knerr
Coach of the Year
Carol Knerr, Amherst