Field Hockey All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Field Hockey All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Bowdoin's Kennedy Repeats Player of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. – Senior forward Rachel Kennedy (Trumbull, Conn.) of Bowdoin has been named the NESCAC Player of the Year for the second consecutive season as voted on by the league’s coaches. She leads all conference players with 30 goals, including nine game-winners, and 64 points. Kennedy has recorded a goal in 17 of 18 games this season, and has registered nine multi-goal games. She is the fourth player in league history to be named Player of the Year in back-to-back seasons, joining Bowdoin’s Lindsay McNamara (2007, 2008), Tufts’ Tamara Brown (2009, 2010) and Middlebury’s Lauren Greer (2011, 2012). Kennedy helped top-seeded Bowdoin win its first conference title since 2011 on Sunday when the Polar Bears defeated No. 2 Middlebury, 2-1.

  • Rachel Kennedy became Bowdoin’s career leader in goals (98) and points (214) earlier this season. The 2012 NESCAC Rookie of the Year and three-time All-NESCAC First Team selection is the fourth Polar Bear to be named NESCAC Player of the Year, joining Marissa O’Neil (2003), Taryn King (2005) and Lindsay McNamara (2007, 2008).
  • Bowdoin senior Kim Kahnweiler, a repeat first-team selection, was named the NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year. She anchors a Polar Bear defense that has allowed a conference-low 12 goals to go along with nine shutouts. Kahnweiler has also chipped in two goals and three assists for seven points. She is the third Polar Bear to be recognized as the league’s Defensive Player of the Year. Ella Curran and Brooke Phinney were honored in 2011 and 2012, respectively.  
  • Six players were elevated from the All-NESCAC Second Team to the First Team this season. Three other players received first-team recognition for the first time.
  • Bowdoin and Middlebury paced all teams with five all-conference selections each, while Amherst received four All-NESCAC picks.
  • Senior Bridget Instrum of Middlebury has anchored the Panther midfield all season. Offensively, the 2014 All-NESCAC Second Team honoree ranks fourth in the conference with nine assists, and has poured in eight goals. 
  • Middlebury senior Shannon Hutteman and junior Lauren Berestecky play critical roles in the Panther defense, which has allowed just 15 goals and posted seven shutouts heading into the NCAA Tournament. Hutteman, who has posted four goals and four points, garnered all-conference accolades for the first time in her career, while Berestecky was elevated to the First Team after being named to the Second Team last season. 
  • Bowdoin junior Kimmy Ganong has provided the Polar Bears with another offensive threat, as she ranks third among all NESCAC players with 18 goals and 42 points heading into the NCAA Tournament. 
  • Senior Annie Turnbull of Amherst paces the conference with five defensive saves to be named to the First Team this season after being a second-team pick in 2014. Turnbull was also a factor in the offensive zone as she tallied three goals and seven assists for 13 points.
  • A pair of Tufts senior midfielders landed on the All-NESCAC First Team. Alexandra Jamison moved up to the First Team after being selected to the Second Team in 2013 and 2014. This season, she contributed a pair of assists while helping the Jumbos at both ends of the field. Jamison was joined by first-time all-conference honoree, Maggie Chapman, who chipped in ten points on two goals and six assists and played a key role on penalty corners.
  • Junior Eva Rosencrans led Hamilton in every offensive category. Among all conference players, the two-time Second Team selection is tied for third with four game-winning goals, and ranks seventh in points (29) and eighth in goals (12).
  • Amherst’s Emily Horwitz was selected as the league’s top goalkeeper after being named to the Second Team last year. The junior paces the conference with a .824 save percentage, and ranks third in goals against average (1.33) and fifth in saves (103). She posted a 12-5 mark with five shutouts.
  • Middlebury first-year Grace Jennings was named NESCAC Rookie of the Year. The midfielder leads all conference players with 14 assists to go along with five goals for 24 points. Jennings has recorded an assist in 10 of the last 12 games. She is the second Panther to receive the award along with Lauren Greer, who earned the honor in 2009.
  • Nicky Pearson of Bowdoin earned NESCAC Coach of the Year honors for an unprecedented ninth time in her 20 years at the helm. Pearson guided the Polar Bears into the NESCAC Championship as the top seed with an unblemished record. Bowdoin went on to claim its first conference title since 2011 to earn its tenth NCAA Tournament appearance in 11 years.

Field Hockey All-Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Kimmy Ganong Bowdoin Jr. Brunswick, Maine
F Bridget Instrum Middlebury Sr. Granby, Mass.
F Rachel Kennedy Bowdoin Sr. Trumbull, Conn.
F Eva Rosencrans Hamilton Jr. Greenwich, Conn.
M Lauren Berestecky Middlebury Jr. Madison, Conn.
M Maggie Chapman Tufts Sr. St. Louis, Mo.
M Alexandra Jamison
Sr. Gaithersburg, Md.
M Annie Turnbull Amherst Sr. Harding Township, N.J.
D Shannon Hutteman Middlebury Sr. Webster, N.Y.
D Kim Kahnweiler Bowdoin Sr. Winnetka, Ill.
GK Emily Horwitz Amherst Jr. Wilmington, Del.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Alex Bennett Williams So.  Rye, N.Y.
F Kelcie Finn Trinity So. Weymouth, Mass.
F Megan Fortier Colby Sr. Falmouth, Maine 
F Annika Nygren Amherst Sr. Sudbury, Mass.
F Pam Schulman Middlebury Jr. Greenwich, Conn.
M Mettler Growney Bowdoin Jr. New Canaan, Conn.
M Anna Kenyon Middlebury Sr.  Dedham, Mass.
D Caroline Fiore
Amherst So. Essex Fells, N.J. 
D Emma Grauberger Williams Sr. Chevy Chase, Md.
D Kelsey Mullaney Bowdoin Sr. Boston, Mass.
GK Sara Grundy Wesleyan Sr. Montpelier, Vt.

Rachel Kennedy
Player of the Year
Rachel Kennedy, Bowdoin

Kim Kahnweiler
Defensive Player of the Year
Kim Kahnweiler, Bowdoin
Grace Jennings
Rookie of the Year
Grace Jennings, Middlebury

Nicky Pearson
Coach of the Year
Nicky Pearson, Bowdoin