Golf All-Conference Teams Announced

Golf All-Conference Teams Announced

Hamilton’s Preiss Named Player of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. – Spurred by an even-par 142 performance this past weekend at the NESCAC Fall Qualifier, Hamilton senior Phil Preiss (Lake Forest, Ill.) has been named the 2009 NESCAC Player of the Year. Preiss becomes the first Continental player to earn the conference’s top honor since 2003 when Brian Williams claimed back-to-back Player of the Year awards.

Preiss was the model of consistency for Hamilton over the weekend during the NESCAC Fall Qualifier at Waubeeka Golf Links in Williamstown, Mass. Although he was slated to be one of the first groups to tee off on Saturday, Preiss had to wait over an extra hour as rain and wet course conditions delayed the start of the tournament. After overcoming the adverse conditions of the course, Preiss ended the day with an even-par 71 and sat atop the leaderboard with junior teammate Brad Roche (Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y.). On Sunday, Preiss continued his steady performance under sunny skies and fired another even-par round of 71. In addition to being the first top-five finish of the season for Preiss, who was also named to the All-NESCAC First Team for the first time in his career, it was also the lowest score he has carded in his career.

The 2009 NESCAC Golf All-Conference teams, selected based upon individual finish at the championship qualifier, had a total of six players make the cut for the First Team while eight individuals had Second Team recognition bestowed upon them. Although Roche could not keep pace with teammate Preiss on Sunday afternoon, he still performed well enough to garner All-NESCAC honors for the third consecutive year. Roche, the 2007 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, received First Team accolades for the second time in his career (2007) as he was part of a four-way tie for third with a two-day total of 148 (+6). Roche was also the only individual on the 2009 All-Conference First Team to earn All-NESCAC honors a year ago.

Representing Williams on the First Team were juniors Robert Camp (Raleigh, N.C.) and Jacob Wagner (Wilmette, Ill.). The duo was part of a four-way tie for fourth along with Hamilton’s Roche with a score of 148 (+6). It is the second time in their careers that Camp and Wagner have received All-Conference recognition after both were honored as freshmen in 2007, Wagner on the First Team and Camp on the Second Team. Over the past weekend, Wagner shaved two strokes off his day one score of 75 to finish with 148 while Camp turned in carbon-copy scores of 74. The Ephs put together two consistent days of golf at Waubeeka this past weekend and were rewarded with first place and the right to host the 2010 NESCAC Golf Championship on April 24-25. It should come as little surprise that four of the Ephs’ five linksmen earned All-NESCAC this year, as junior Jack Killea (Katy, Texas) and sophomore Chris Valle (Victor, N.Y.) finished among the top 12 to secure Second Team honors.

Joining Roche and the Williams tandem of Camp and Wagner in the four-way tie for fourth was Middlebury freshman Andrew Emerson (Pelham, N.Y.). Emerson (148, +6) helped keep the defending NESCAC champion Panthers in the hunt for a top four finish by tying for the team-low round of 73 on day one before returning on day two and shooting a 75. Emerson added NESCAC Rookie of the Year to his First Team plaudits, as his performance edged out fellow teammate William Prince (New Canaan, Conn.) and Colby sophomore Harry Smith (Locust Valley, N.Y.) for the league’s top rookie honor.

Rounding out the 2009 NESCAC All-Conference First Team was Trinity sophomore Alex Bermingham (Bedford, N.Y.). Bermingham was the runner-up to Preiss for individual honors at the fall qualifier, as he finished the tournament with a two-day total of 147 (+5). After he shot an 80 to open the event on Saturday, Bermingham turned around on Sunday and fired the most impressive round by anyone over the weekend with a minus-4 score of 67.

Coach of the Year honors went to Rick Pohle of Williams. Now in his 27th season with the Ephs, Pohle’s squad will have the opportunity this spring to add to their legacy, as Williams has won the conference championship more than any other team in tournament history with 10 titles, the most recent coming in 2008. It is the fourth time this decade that Pohle has earned Coach of the Year, as he was recognized by his peers in 2001, 2004, and again in 2005.


2009 NESCAC All-Conference Golf Teams

First Team              
Year   Hometown
Alex Bermingham
Trinity So. Bedford, N.Y.
Robert Camp
Williams Jr. Raleigh, N.C.
Andrew Emerson
Middlebury Fr. Pelham, N.Y.
Phil Preiss
Hamilton Sr. Lake Forest, Ill.
Brad Roche
Hamilton Jr. Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y.
Jacob Wagner
Williams Jr. Wilmette, Ill.
Second Team Institution Year Hometown
Luke Heffernan
Tufts Jr. Arlington, Mass.
Jack Killea
Williams Jr. Katy, Texas
Jim Levins
Middlebury Jr. Rutland, Vt.
Reid Longley
Trinity Sr. Atlanta, Ga.
William Prince
Middlebury Fr. New Canaan, Conn.
Harry Smith
Colby So. Locust Valley, N.Y.
Peter Taylor
Wesleyan So. East Greenwich, R.I.
Chris Valle
Williams So. Victor, N.Y.
NESCAC Player of the Year
Phil Preiss
Hamilton Sr. Lake Forest, Ill.
NESCAC Rookie of the Year
Andrew Emerson
Middlebury Fr. Pelham, N.Y.
NESCAC Coach of the Year
Rick Pohle