NESCAC Releases Golf All-Conference Teams

NESCAC Releases Golf All-Conference Teams

Palmer Picks Up Player of the Year Honors After Leading Trinity to First Place at Qualifier 

HADLEY, Mass. – Trinity sophomore Greg Palmer has been named NESCAC Player of the Year after leading his team to a first place finish at the NESCAC Championship Qualifier over the weekend. Hamilton’s Matt Yung also took home a major award, earning NESCAC Rookie of the Year honors. The first year helped the Continentals to a third place showing at the two-day tournament, which was hosted by Amherst at Hickory Ridge Golf Club (par 72 - 6,704 yards).

Palmer (pictured right) earned medalist honors with a two-day score of 147. The sophomore finished day one tied with four others in fifth place (76) before firing a tournament-best 71 (-1) on Sunday. In the process, he became the sixth Bantam to earn NESCAC Player of the Year honors in the last eight years. Previous winners include George Boudria (2005), Reid Longley (2006, 2008), Josh Grossman (2007) and senior Jack Palley (2011).

By winning the qualifier, Trinity earned the right to host the spring championship from April 27-28. The Bantams recorded a team score of 592 (304, 288). They will be joined by Williams (607 - 307, 300), Hamilton (611 - 306, 305) and Middlebury (613 - 314, 299) at the tournament. Trinity also won the NESCAC Qualifier in 2007. The program’s lone NESCAC Championship came in 2010.

All five Trinity entrants earned All-NESCAC recognition. Palmer was joined on the First Team by classmates William Burchill and Nick Buenaventura, who finished in a deadlock for second place with matching scores of 148. Buenaventura was a repeat First Teamer after claiming NESCAC Rookie of the Year Honors last fall. Meanwhile, Palley and sophomore Don Hunt earned spots on the Second Team. Palley claimed NESCAC Player of the Year accolades in 2011.

Yung became the third player from Hamilton to earn NESCAC Rookie of the Year honors, joining Chris Pike (2003) and Brad Roche (2007). He was at his best on Saturday, when he carded a 73 to lead the field. The first year was named to the All-Conference Second Team after finishing the weekend with a two-day tally of 153.

Placement on NESCAC All-Conference Teams is based on individual performance at the qualifier. A total of six players were honored on the First Team. Joining Palmer, Burchill and Buenaventura were Middlebury senior William Prince, Amherst junior Nicholas Koh and Hamilton sophomore Mac Pivirotto.

Prince finished in a tie for second place with Burchill and Buenaventura to secure his spot on an All-Conference Team for the third time in his career. After earning Second Team honors in 2009, he was named to the First Team in 2011. Meanwhile, Koh picked up his second All-NESCAC nod after leading the Lord Jeffs with the team’s top score for the second consecutive year (149). Pivirotto finished in sixth place with a  two-day total of 151.

Four players earned Second Team honors for Williams. The group included juniors Ross Bowen, Dylan Dethier and Matt McCarron, along with sophomore Jake Goldenring. All four players collected All-Conference laurels last fall.

Rounding out the Second Team were Colby senior Taggie Martin and Hamilton junior Greg Scott. Both players were First Teamers in 2011.

Rick Pohle of Williams was named NESCAC Coach of the Year for the second straight season and sixth time in his 30-year career. He also earned the honor in 2001, 2004, 2005, 2009 and 2011. Pohle led the Ephs to four top four finishes this fall, including wins at the Bowdoin and Williams Invitationals. He has guided Williams to 10 NESCAC titles and 10 NCAA Championship appearances. The Ephs last wona NESCAC title in 2008. They took first place at last year’s fall qualifier. Pohle’s legendary career will come to a close at the conclusion of the fall season, as he enters retirement.

First Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Nick Buenaventura Trinity So. Weston, Mass.
William Burchill Trinity So. East Walpole, Mass.
Nicholas Koh Amherst Jr. Singapore
Greg Palmer Trinity So. Cheshire, Conn.
Mac Pivirotto Hamilton So. New Canaan, Conn.
William Prince Middlebury Sr. New Canaan, Conn.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Ross Bowen Williams Jr. Winnetka, Ill.
Dylan Dethier Williams Jr. Williamstown, Mass.
Jake Goldenring Williams So. Florham Park, N.J.
Don Hunt Trinity So. Andover, Mass.
Taggie Martin Colby Sr. New Canaan, Conn.
Matt McCarron Williams Jr. Portland, Ore.
Jack Palley Trinity Sr. Pelham, Mass.
Greg Scott Hamilton Jr. New Haven, Vt.
Matt Yung Hamilton Fy. Wilmington, Del.
Greg Palmer
NESCAC Player of the Year
Greg Palmer, Trinity
Matt Yung
NESCAC Rookie of the Year
Matt Yung, Hamilton

Rick Pohle
NESCAC Coach of the Year
Rick Pohle, Williams


Greg Palmer
 Rick Pohle, Williams