Five from NESCAC Selected as Semifinalists for Concannon Award

Five from NESCAC Selected as Semifinalists for Concannon Award

Courtesy Gridiron Club of Greater Boston

BOSTON, Mass. – Gridiron Club of Greater Boston president Paul Stewart announced today that 18 players are semifinalists for the 12th Joe Concannon Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England playing at the NCAA Division D-II/III level.

This year's list is comprised of 14 dynamic forwards, three stellar defensemen and one game-stealing goaltender, including three of the nation's top 10 point getters in Division III. The candidates include five players from the NESCAC. Nominees Mike Baran (Duxbury, Mass.) a senior from Amherst College, and sophomore Nik Tasiopoulos (Norwell, Mass.) from Wesleyan University represent the best of defensive and offensive performances in the highly competitive conference.

Amherst, captained by Baran, enters the weekend with the number one ranked scoring defense; Wesleyan looks to advance in the quarterfinals of the conference tournament against Middlebury.

The remaining NESCAC representatives are Williams College senior goalie Ryan Purdy (LaJolla, Calif.), a semifinalist for the second year in a row; Bowdoin senior defenseman Jordan Lalor (Needham, Mass.); and Colby senior forward Michael Doherty (Lynnfield, Mass.).

"This season, more than any other has showcased an incredible level of competition as evidenced by the tight races and results of non-conference games where have shown that there is more balance across the conferences," said Gridiron Club Hockey Awards Committee chairman Tim Costello.

"This season the committee considered many more than the usual number of players in each of the leagues, and still, unfortunately, there were some worthy candidates who did not become semi-finalists. This is as strong and diverse a group of nominees ever selected for the award in its 12-year history, and it will take the few games remaining on the schedule to determine winner."

The Gridiron Club plans to announce the finalists and winner of the 12th Joe Concannon Award in March, prior to the start of NCAA Frozen Four Tournament play and present the award during the New England Hockey Writers dinner in mid-April.

Joe Concannon Award Winners
2001 - Keith Aucoin, Norwich University
2002 - Michael Carosi, Bowdoin College
2003 - Nick Stauder, Salem State College
2004 - Jim Pancyzkowski, Wesleyan University; Michael O'Sullivan, Curry College
2005 - Brian Doherty, Curry College, Joseph Ori, Trinity College
2006 - Adam Dann, Bowdoin College
2007 - Greg Osborne, Colby College
2008 - Tom Maldonado, Middlebury College
2009 - Jeff Landers, Amherst College
2010 - Coleman Noonan, St. Anselm College
2011 - Josh Harris, Castleton College

The Joe Concannon Award
The Gridiron Club established the Joe Concannon Award in 2001 to honor Joe, a lifelong devotee of college hockey, former member of the Walter Brown Award Selection Committee and, as a journalist, a staunch advocate for the amateur athletes he knew and covered. A native of Litchfield, Connecticut, Joe graduated from Boston University in 1961. He served as sports information director (SID) at Holy Cross before joining the Boston Globe in the late 1960's to cover college sports. Joe declined frequent invitations by his editors to write about Boston's major professional sports teams, preferring to concentrate on the colleges, distance running and golf. He wrote the book Marathoning with Bill Rodgers and established the highly successful Litchfield Road Race in his hometown. Joe was a world traveler and was especially proud of his Irish heritage, frequently sojourning to the Emerald Isle. He passed away in 2000.