Eight Players Named Semifinalists for Concannon Award

Eight Players Named Semifinalists for Concannon Award

Colby and Trinity Receive Two Semifinalists Each 

Courtesy Gridiron Club of Greater Boston

BOSTON, Mass. – The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston announced today the 18 semifinalists for the 14th Annual Joe Concannon Award, which recognizes the best American-born player in New England playing at the Division II or Division III level.

This year's list is comprised of 12 forwards, two defensemen and four goaltenders. Six different institutions have represented the NESCAC in having players recognized for their great play and strong leadership on and off the ice.

This year, eight skaters were named as semifinalists, including 2013 semifinalists Williams junior goaltender Sean Dougherty (Smithtown, N.Y.) and Colby senior forward Nick Lanza (Rocky Hill, Conn.).

Dougherty leads the NESCAC with a 1.51 goals against average and a .944 save percentage to go along with a 12-3-2 record between the pipes for the Ephs so far this season. Dougherty was named to the All-NESCAC Second Team last season.

Lanza, also a 2013 All-NESCAC Second Team selection, is second on the Mules' squad with 10 goals, including three game-winners, and nine assists for 19 points. Lanza is joined on the semifinalist list by senior teammate Ben Chwick (Purchase, N.Y.), who paces the Colby offense with 22 points on 12 goals and 10 assists.

Connecticut College junior forward JC Cangelosi (Estero, Fla.) leads the Camels' offense with 10 goals and nine assists. Amherst junior defenseman Aaron Deutsch (Lloyd Harbor, N.Y.) has paced the Jeffs with 13 points on five goals, including three game-winners, and eight assists, while helping a defense that is second in the conference with 2.28 goals allowed. Bowdoin senior forward/defenseman Colin Downey (East Sandwich, Mass.) is tied for a league-leading 14 goals to go along with 12 assists for a Polar Bear-best 26 points. 

A Trinity duo rounded out the semifinalists with junior Jackson Brewer (Newton, Mass.) and senior Benjamin Coulthard (South Windsor, Conn.) representing the Bantams. Brewer currently paces the NESCAC with 35 points on 13 goals and a conference-leading 22 assists. Coulthard, a 2013 All-NESCAC First Team selection, ranks second among league goaltenders with a .924 save percentage and is third with a 2.21 goals against average.

"There really aren't any more upsets, either in or outside of conference play, as the level of competition this season has truly been amazing," said Gridiron Club Hockey Awards Committee chairman Tim Costello in a news release. "There have been a number of different teams in and out of the national rankings this season, and the consideration we're seen across all of the conferences reflects the high level of play and talent found in New England. Our committee believes this is another outstanding group of semifinalists. It will be a challenge for the committee to pick the winner from the players nominated."

The finalists and winner will be announced in March, prior to the start of NCAA Frozen Four tournament play. The formal award presentation is scheduled for the the New England Hockey Writers' dinner in April.

Previous Winners
2001: Keith Aucoin, Norwich University
2002: Michael Carosi, Bowdoin College
2003: Nick Stauder, Salem State College
2004: Jim Pancyzkowski, Wesleyan University; Michael O'Sullivan, Curry College
2005: Brian Doherty, Curry College; Joseph Ori, Trinity College
2006: Adam Dann, Bowdoin College
2007: Greg Osborne, Colby College
2008: Tom Maldonado, Middlebury College
2009: Jeff Landers, Amherst College
2010: Coleman Noonan, St. Anselm College
2011: Josh Harris, Castleton State College
2012: Jeremiah Ketts, Johnson and Wales University
2013: Colin Mulvey, Norwich University