Men's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Released

Men's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Released

Colby's Deveau Named Player of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. - Colby senior midfielder Ian Deveau has been tabbed by conference coaches as the 2013 NESCAC Player of the Year. The Mules' top scorer, Deveau was second in among conference scorers with 36 goals and 52 points, while he is the first midfielder to be named Player of the Year since 2009.

For the third straight year, Deveau, the 2010 NESCAC Rookie of the Year and three-time all-conference honoree, led the Mules in scoring. Deveau amassed 50 points for the first time in his career thanks to a single-season best 36 goals, while his 3.71 points per game was tops in the conference. The senior captain finished his career with 179 points on 99 goals and 80 assists. The career points and assists for Deveau rank fifth all-time in Colby history, while is 99 goals is sixth-best. Deveau set the tone this year in his first two games, scoring the game-winner in overtime against Amherst, followed by a 10-point performance in a win against New England College. He also played a pivotal role in Colby's 8-6 win over rival Bowdoin, scoring and dishing out an assist in the final quarter.

The 2013 All-Conference First Team included players from eight NESCAC teams. The attack unit featured Amherst junior Devin Acton, and sophomores Cole Bailey of Tufts and Chad Sawyer of Connecticut College. Acton, the 2011 Rookie of the Year and Second Team member, has led Amherst in scoring since arriving on campus. This year was no different, as he put up 35 goals and nine assists. Bailey, last year's Rookie of the Year, is currently third in the conference with 31 assists and tied for fourth with 50 points. He also has 19 goals on the year, and his points are the most by a Jumbo this season. Sawyer, who only played in eight games last year, moved into a starting role this season and didn't disappoint. He bettered his rookie campaign and has 39 points on 30 goals and nine assists.

Joining Deveau on the midfield line are Tufts senior Andrew Fiamengo and Middlebury senior Andrew Metros. Fiamengo has proved to be a scoring threat off the Jumbo bench, ranking third on the team with 50 points and 28 goals, while his 15 assists are good for second on the team. Stepping into a starting spot this year, Metros has made the most of his minutes. He is currently tied for third on the team with 32 points, fourth with 20 goals and second with 12 assists, all career highs.

The defense is anchored by a trio of seniors who have all been selected to an all-conference team for the second time in their career. Matt Callahan of Tufts is the only repeat First Team selection, making the 2012 Team. Through 14 games, Callahan has scooped up 33 ground balls and caused 19 turnovers, in addition to chipping in with two goals and three assists. Leading the Middlebury defense is Billy Chapman, who received a promotion from the 2012 Second Team. Chapman has career highs in ground balls (59) and caused turnovers (24), to go along with three goals and three assists. Wesleyan's Mike Robinson returns as an All-Conference selection after being named to the 2011 Second Team. Robinson is second in the NESCAC with 29 caused turnovers and has 39 ground balls, good for third on the team.

A 2012 Second Team honoree, Wesleyan senior Brendan Hanley garnered First Team status at long-stick midfield. Hanley has stuffed the stat sheets, scoring 12 points on eight goals and four assists, with 34 ground balls and 14 caused turnovers. Bates sophomore Mac Jackson racked up his second All-Conference honors after being bumped up from Second Team last year. Jackson leads the NESCAC with 89 ground balls with a faceoff percentage of .559 (118-211) and three goals and one assist.

Bowdoin senior Chris Williamson moved up from last season's Second Team to earn a spot as the First Team goaltender in 2013. Williamson (8-7), who has played the most minutes of any goalie in the conference, ranks first in the conference with 188 saves, second with a .606 save percentage and fourth with an 8.06 goals against average.

Middlebury's Jon Broome was selected as NESCAC Rookie of the Year. Broome has had a standout first year, leading the conference with 44 goals and 54 points. The attackman, who was also named to the Second Team, also has added 10 assists and 28 ground balls. Broome also broke a NESCAC championship record last weekend, scoring eight goals in a 19-9 quarterfinal win over Amherst.

Peter Lasagna of Bates has been recognized by his peers as the NESCAC Coach of the Year for the second time in his career. Lasagna, who has been at the Bobcats' helm for 13 seasons, was also recognized in 2005. He helped guide Bates to their first NESCAC Championship appearance since 2006 and in the process, guaranteed the Bobcats (7-7, 5-5 NESCAC) their first non-losing record since 2007.

Men's Lacrosse All Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
A Devin Acton Amherst Jr. Sudbury, Mass.
A Cole Bailey Tufts So. Millersville, Md.
A Chad Sawyer Conn. College  So. Northfield, Ill.
M Ian Deveau Colby Sr. Portsmouth, R.I.
M Andrew Fiamengo Tufts Sr. New Fairfield, Conn.
M Andrew Metros Middlebury Sr. Kings Point, N.Y.
D Matt Callahan Tufts Sr. Acton, Mass.
D Billy Chapman Middlebury Sr. Greenwich, Conn.
D Mike Robinson Wesleyan Sr. Ridgewood, N.J.
SP Mac Jackson Bates So. Hood River, Ore.
LSM Brendan Hanley Wesleyan Sr. Rockville Centre, N.Y.
GK Chris Williamson  Bowdoin Sr. Winnetka, Ill.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
A Jon Broome Middlebury Fy. Mountain Lakes, N.J.
A Andrew Freedman Conn. College Sr. Sudbury, Mass.
A John Jennings Colby Sr. Danvers, Mss.
M Matt Cohen Trinity Sr. East Lyme, Conn.
M Rob Highland Bates Sr. Yarmouth, Maine
M Bryan Hopper Hamilton Jr. Ridgewood, N.J.
D Zach Driscoll Middlebury Sr. Concord, Mass.
D Mike Fiacco Hamilton Sr. Fayetteville, N.Y.
D Dylan Lahey Hamilton So. Osterville, Mass.
S Brian Foster Middlebury Sr. Medfield, Mass.
LSM Darric White Middlebury Jr. Fairfield, Conn.
GK Nate Gaudio Middlebury Jr. Cheshire, Conn.
Ian Deveau
Player of the Year
Ian Deveau, Colby
Jon Broome
Rookie of the Year
Jon Broome, Middlebury
Peter Lasagna
Coach of the Year
Peter Lasagna, Bates