2008 Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams Announced

2008 Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams Announced

Middlebury Sweeps Individual Honors, Bush Grabs Player of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. - Middlebury senior goalkeeper Brian Bush (Madison, Wis.) has been named the 2008 NESCAC Player of the Year, as determined by the conference coaches. He is the first Panther player to receive the conference’s top honor and the first keeper to be distinguished as Player of the Year this decade. Middlebury swept the individual honors this fall, as freshman forward Tyler Macnee (Willison, Vt.) garnered Rookie of the Year accolades while Panther head coach David Saward was chosen by his peers as Coach of the Year.

Bush, who also netted All-Conference First Team recognition for the second-straight year, has been the backbone of the Panther defense. In his second season as the everyday starter for Middlebury, Bush owns a 13-2-2 record with a league-leading 0.40 goals against average and nine shutouts while ranking second among conference netminders with a .873 save percentage. Entering this weekend’s NCAA action, the 2007 NCAA Tournament MVP boasts a career record of 29-4-4 with a 0.36 goals against average and a .908 save percentage with 23 shutouts, one shy of the program record. An economics major at Middlebury, Bush is a two-time NESCAC All-Academic honoree and was recently named to the CoSIDA Academic All-America District I team.

Macnee has had a breakout first season with the Panthers, as he currently ranks second among all players in both goals and points. Although the Middlebury roster features 10 individuals that have scored goals this season, Macnee has been the go-to-guy throughout the fall, tallying 12 of his team’s 27 goals along with two assists for 26 points. In addition to being named the Rookie of the Year, Macnee was selected to the All-NESCAC Second Team.

Saward, the national coach of the year in 2007, received the conference’s coaching honor for the first time in his 24-year career at the helm of the Panther program. Saward has guided the defending NCAA champions to a 13-2-2 record so far this season, the top seed in the 2008 NESCAC Men’s Soccer Championship, and a return trip to the NCAA Tournament.

At forward on the 2008 NESCAC All-Conference First Team were Amherst senior Jake Duker (Newton, Mass.), Trinity junior Sam Wisner (Wayland, Mass.), and Connecticut College sophomore Trevor Prophet (Nashua, N.H.). After battling through injuries and earning a spot on the Second Team last year, Duker took his game to another level in 2008. He not only leads his team in scoring for the third consecutive season but also the NESCAC this autumn with a career-best 13 goals and 29 points. Duker scored what proved to be the game-winning goal in the final of the 2008 NESCAC Men’s Soccer Championship, giving Amherst its first conference crown. In his first season with the Bantams, Wisner posted a team-high 24 points on eight goals and eight assists to rank third in the league. Trinity reached the semifinals of the Men’s Soccer Championship for the first time in tournament history this year before falling to eventual champ Amherst. A dynamic forward for the Camels, Prophet contributed four goals and two assists for 10 points through 12 outings, finishing second among his Connecticut College counterparts.

Senior midfielders Alan Ashenfelter (Millis, Mass.) of Wesleyan and Sam Empson (Washington, D.C.) of Williams moved up from last year’s Second Team to this year’s First Team. While Ashenfelter failed to register a point on the Cardinals’ score sheet this season, his inspired play and leadership paid off immeasurably for the Cardinals as they were able to make the field for the 2008 NESCAC Men’s Soccer Championship during the final days of the regular season. Empson doubled his career scoring totals this season, registering seven goals and six assists for 20 points to lead the Ephs and tie for sixth in the NESCAC.

Joining Ashenfelter and Empson at midfield were Middlebury senior Allen Bourdon (Lyme, N.H.) and Bowdoin sophomore Ben Denton-Schneider (San Rafael, Calif.). Starting all 17 games this season, Bourdon has contributed two goals and an assist to the Panther offense. Denton-Schneider, the 2007 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, netted a goal and two assists for the Polar Bears in 2008.

On defense, Amherst senior Grayson Holland (Sudbury, Mass.) had All-NESCAC honors bestowed upon him for the third-straight year. The only other holdover besides Bush from a senior-laden 2007 First Team, Holland has three goals through 17 games while leading a defense that ranks second in the conference in goals allowed with 13. Rounding out the 2008 All-Conference First Team were senior Corey Moffat (Berkeley, Calif.) and junior Colin Nangle (Westport, Conn.) from Middlebury. The duo are part of the league’s top defense, as the Panthers have surrendered only seven goals in 17 matches. Moffat has also chipped in two tallies for the second-straight year.


2008 NESCAC Men's Soccer All-Conference

  First Team Institution Yr. Hometown
F Jake Duker Amherst Sr. Newton, Mass.
F Trevor Prophet
Connecticut College     
Nashua, N.H.
F Sam Wisner Trinity Jr. Wayland, Mass.
M Alan Ashenfelter Wesleyan Sr. Needham, Mass.
M Allen Bourdon Middlebury Sr. Lyme, N.H.
M Sam Empson Williams Sr. Washington, D.C.
M Ben Denton-Schneider      Bowdoin So. San Rafael, Calif.
D Grayson Holland Amherst Sr. Sudbury, Mass.
D Corey Moffat Middlebury Sr. Berkeley, Calif.
D Colin Nangle Middlebury Jr. Westport, Conn.
GK Brian Bush Middlebury Sr. Madison, Wis.
  Second Team Institution Yr. Hometown
F Nick Cantone Trinity Sr. New York, N.Y.
F Tyler Macnee Middlebury Fr. Williston, Vt.
F Pierre Meloty-Kapella Williams Jr. Redwood City, Calif.
M Baer Fisher Middlebury Sr. Kenilworth, Ill.
M G.L. Genco Amherst Jr. Hauppauge, N.Y.
M Logan King Colby Sr. Hingham, Mass.
M Chris Meinke Connecticut College Sr. Westport, Conn.
D Peter DeGregorio Tufts Sr. Whately, Mass.
D Tom Milaschewski Colby Sr. Beverly, Mass.
D Clark Winchell Bates Sr. Waltham, Mass.
GK Zac Trudeau Trinity Sr. Norwell, Mass.
  Player of the Year      
GK Brian Bush
Middlebury Sr. Madison, Wis.
  Rookie of the Year      
F Tyler Macnee
Middlebury Fr. Williston, Vt.
  Coach of the Year      
  David Saward