Men's Soccer All-Conference Selections Unveiled

Men's Soccer All-Conference Selections Unveiled

Hawkey Becomes First Camel to Earn Player of the Year Honors

HADLEY, Mass. – Connecticut College senior forward Billy Hawkey (Pennington, N.J.) has been selected as the 2013 NESCAC Player of the Year by the league’s coaches. Hawkey led the league with 23 points, tied for a conference-best nine goals and tied for third among all NESCAC players with five assists. His offensive numbers paced the Camels in every category and marked a career high for Hawkey. The two-time First All-NESCAC selection is the first player in program history to garner NESCAC Player of the Year honors.

Joining Hawkey as First Team forwards are junior Maxime Hoppenot (Princeton, N.J.) of Tufts and first-year Adam Glaser (Washington, D.C.) of Middlebury. Hoppenot was a repeat First Team selection after registering a team-best six goals and 14 points for the Jumbos. Glaser made an immediate impact for the Panthers, as he tied for a league-high nine goals and ranked second with 22 points in his rookie campaign. As a result of his efforts, he was also named NESCAC Rookie of the Year. Glaser joins David LaRocca (2004) and Tyler Macnee (2008) as the third Panther to receive the award.

This year’s First Team All-NESCAC midfielder selections consist of entirely first-time honorees. Leading the way is senior Max Fikke (New York, N.Y.) of Amherst. Fikke tallied two goals and  four assists in 17 starts for the Lord Jeffs. His biggest goal of the season came in the NESCAC Championship game when he headed in the game’s lone goal to give Amherst a 1-0 victory for its third straight league crown. Williams junior Matt Muralles (Weston, Fla.) paced the Ephs in points (14) and goals (6) this year. He leads the Williams charge into the NCAA Tournament after earning an at-large berth, as the Ephs host first- and second-round games starting on Saturday. Wesleyan saw a pair of midfielders land on the First Team. Sophomore Brandon Sousa (Waterbury, Conn.) and first-year Charlie Gruner (Stevenson, Md.) wrapped up the season with a pair of goals each for the Cardinals, while Sousa added two assists and Gruner recorded one. The final midfielder to join the squad is first-year Pat Devlin (Washington Crossing, Pa.) of Connecticut College. Devlin registered a goal and an assist in 15 appearances this season for the Camels.

Defensively, the First Team features three backs who have earned All-NESCAC recognition before. Amherst senior Julien Aoyama (Narbeth, Pa.) anchors a defense that has allowed just eight goals all season, including two goals in the last seven games. The 2012 Second Team selection also has two assists to his credit. Junior Ben Bratt (Winchester, Mass.) of Wesleyan appeared on the 2012 Second Team and has a goal on the season. He solidified a defensive unit that amassed eight shutouts during the season. Bowdoin senior Ben Brewster (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) adds another post-season accolade to his list of credentials after being named First Team in 2012, Second Team in 2011 and receiving Rookie of the Year in 2010. He was a mainstay for the Polar Bears this season, starting all 16 games and contributing a goal and an assist.

Thomas Bull (Montgomery, N.J.) of Amherst was selected as the league’s top goalkeeper for the first time in his career. The sophomore has surrendered only eight goals this season in over 1,550 minutes between the posts and leads the conference with a 0.46 goals against average. He is 15-0-2 with a league-best eight shutouts as the Lord Jeffs host first- and second-round NCAA Tournament action this weekend.

Justin Serpone of Amherst was named NESCAC Coach of the Year for the first time in his seven years at the helm. Serpone guided the Lord Jeffs to their third consecutive NESCAC title, and are in the midst of a 37-game unbeaten streak. He recorded his 100th career victory in the regular season finale against Trinity, as he boasts a 103-14-16 record.

Men's Soccer All Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Adam Glaser Middlebury Fy. Washington, D.C.
F Billy Hawkey Conn. College Sr. Pennington, N.J.
F Maxime Hoppenot Tufts Jr. Princeton, N.J.
M Pat Devlin Conn. College Fy. Washington Crossing, Pa.
M Max Fikke Amherst Sr. New York, N.Y.
M Charlie Gruner Wesleyan Fy. Stevenson, Md.
M Matt Muralles Williams Jr. Weston, Fla.
M Brandon Sousa Wesleyan So. Waterbury, Conn.
D Julien Aoyama Amherst Sr. Narbeth, Pa.
D Ben Bratt Wesleyan Jr. Winchester, Mass.
D Ben Brewster Bowdoin Sr. Cape Elizabeth, Maine
GK Thomas Bull Amherst So. Montgomery, N.J.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Christian Carrasquillo Trinity Sr. Manchester, Conn.
F Zach Danssaert Bowdoin Sr. Solana Beach, Calif.
F Mohammed Rashid Williams So. Accra, Ghana
M Brendan Caslin Amherst Sr. Lincoln, Mass.
M Andrew Jones Bowdoin So. Scarborough, Maine
M Chris Pratt Colby Sr. Wellesley, Mass.
D Graham Knisley Middlebury Sr. Wakefield, R.I.
D Ben Norton Amherst Sr. Bethesda, Md.
D Buck Reynolds Hamilton Jr. Rye, N.Y.
D Sam Williams Tufts Jr. Thetford Center, Vt.
GK Peter Morrell Williams Sr. Brunswick, Maine
Billy Hawkey
Player of the Year
Billy Hawkey, Connecticut College
Adam Glaser
Rookie of the Year
Adam Glaser, Middlebury

Justin Serpone
Coach of the Year
Justin Serpone, Amherst