February 26, 2009

NESCAC Women's Squash All-Conference Teams Released

Trinity’s Bahgat Scores Player, Rookie of the Year Honors

HADLEY, Mass. - Trinity College first year Nour Bahgat (Cairo, Egypt) collected dual honors as she was selected by the conference coaches as both the 2009 NESCAC Player and Rookie of the Year. Bahgat has compiled a 12-0 record this season heading into this weekend’s College Squash Association (CSA) Individual National Championships.

Bahgat also earned NESCAC All-Conference First Team honors. She was joined on the First Team by juniors Nayelly Hernandez (San Luis, Mexico) and Jo-Ann Jee (Kuching, Maylasia). Hernandez, the 2008 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, holds a 7-5 mark this season while Jee has posted an 11-2 record. The trio helped the Bantams claim their third consecutive NESCAC Women’s Squash title earlier in the month along with a third-place at the Howe Cup, finishing the season at 12-3.

Williams joined Trinity as the only other to place three individuals on the All-NESCAC First Team. Returning from the 2008 All-Conference squad for the Ephs were juniors Jennifer Coxe (Greenwich, Conn.) and Toby Eyre (Gladwyne, Pa.). First year Courtney Bogle (Bronxville, N.Y.) rounds out the Williams contingent on the First Team. The Ephs went 12-10 in 2008-09 and finished as the runner-up to Trinity in the NESCAC championship.

A total of four individuals on this winter’s First Team earned All-NESCAC honors a year ago. Joining Williams’ tandem of Coxe and Eyre from the 2008 First Team were Middlebury senior Sarah Hatfield (Great Barrington, R.I.) and Hamilton junior Kelly Whipple (Rye, N.Y.). Hatfield heads into the weekend 13-10 while Whipple is 8-10.

Receiving All-NESCAC accolades for the first time in their careers were Bowdoin sophomore Elena Laird (Cambridge, Mass.), Connecticut College junior Cara Flynn (Haverford, Pa.) and Tufts senior Victoria Barba (New York, N.Y.). Laird played in the number one position for the Polar Bears this season and holds a 12-11 record. Flynn competed for most of the season at number two, compiling a 20-5 record along the way.

Middlebury head coach John Illig was chosen by his counterparts as NESCAC Coach of the Year. In his second season with the Panthers, Illig guided his team to a 19-8 showing and a fourth-place finish at this year’s conference championship.

 2009 NESCAC Women's Squash All-Conference Teams
First Team
Nour Bahgat
Cairo, Egypt
Victoria Barba
New York, N.Y.
Courtney Bogle
Bronxville, N.Y.
Jennifer Coxe
Greenwich, Conn.
Toby Eyre
Gladwyne, Pa.
Cara Flynn
Connecticut College
Haverford, Pa.
Sarah Hatfield
Great Barrington, R.I.
Nayelly Hernandez
San Luis, Mexico
Jo-Ann Jee
Kuching, Maylasia
Elena Laird
Cambridge, Mass.
Kelly Whipple Hamilton Jr. Rye, N.Y.
Second Team Institution Year Hometown
Stephanie Cabot
Bates So. Dover, Mass.
Lauren Gesswein
Bowdoin So. Fairfield, Conn.
Elizabeth Gillespie
Bowdoin Sr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
Kate Gormley
Bowdoin Sr. Brookline, Mass.
Tehani Guruge
Trinity Jr. Columbia, Sri Lanka
Emery Holton
Trinity So. Philadelphia, Pa.
Pamela Jimenez
Trinity Fy. Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Hayley Millbourn
Amherst So. Baltimore, Md.
Kristen Rubin
Hamilton Jr. Boston, Mass.
Samantha Smith
Colby So. Locust Valley, N.Y.
Player of the Year
Nour Bahgat
Cairo, Egypt
Rookie of the Year
Nour Bahgat
Cairo, Egypt
Coach of the Year
John Illig





View: Mobile | Desktop