Men's Squash All-Conference Teams Announced

Men's Squash All-Conference Teams Announced

Abdel Khalek of Bates Earns Both Player and Rookie of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. - Bates first year Ahmed Abdel Khalek has been selected by the conference coaches as the 2013 NESCAC Player of the Year. Abdel Khalek has gone undefeated in NESCAC play, with a 10-0 mark, while his overall dual match record is an impressive 17-1. His only defeat, a 3-1 setback, came at the hands of the 2012 National Individual Champion, Ali Farag of Harvard. Abdel Khalek, who was also named Rookie of the Year, has led Bates to a 13-9 record this season. The Bobcats topped Middlebury 7-2 in the NESCAC Third Place match. This is the second time a player from Bates has earned the league’s top honor, with Kush Mahan being named Co-Player of the Year in 2010.

Trinity placed three men on the First Team, with sophomore Miled Zarazua making his second-straight appearance on the First Team, after being named Rookie of the Year last season.  Junior Reinhold Hergeth makes his first appearance on the First Team after earning Second Team honors in 2012. Zarazua is 9-3 on the year, while Hergeth is 6-4, leading Trinity to a 16-0 record this season and its seventh straight NESCAC Championship.

Middlebury senior Jay Dolan collected his fourth All-Conference honor, with appearances on last year’s First Team and Second Team selections in 2011 and 2010. Playing at the top of the ladder for the Panthers, Dolan has a 4-4 mark against NESCAC foes. Wesleyan’s John Steele earned his third straight First Team recognition. The 2011 Rookie of the Year posted a 5-7 mark in his junior campaign. Williams sophomore Kevin Chen and Bowdoin senior Andrew Hillboldt were both elevated to the First Team after earning 2012 Second Team honors. Chen has posted a 9-15 record for the Ephs, while Hillboldt is 10-7 at the top spot for the Polar Bears.

Joining Abdel Khalek as First Team newcomers are fellow rookies Noah Browne of Amherst and Juan Vargas of Trinity, while Williams senior Nicholas Marks collected the first All-Conference recognition of his career.

Paul Assaiante of Trinity was chosen by his peers as NESCAC Coach of the Year for the third time in his career. Assaiante, in his 19th year leading the Bantams, was also recognized in 2008 and 2009.

Men's Squash All-Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Noah Browne Amherst Fy. Paget, Bermuda
Kevin Chen Williams So. Potomac, Md.
Jay Dolan Middlebury Sr. Wareham, Mass.
Reinhold Hergeth Trinity Jr. Bloemfontein, South Africa
Andrew Hillboldt Bowdoin Sr. New Canaan, Conn.
Ahmed Abdel Khalek Bates  Fy.  Cairo, Egypt
Nicholas Marks Williams Sr. Portland, Ore.
John Steele Wesleyan Jr. Merion Station, Pa.
Juan Vargas Trinity Fy. Bogota, Colombia
Miled Zarazua Trinity So. Mexico City, Mexico
Second Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Aditya Advani  Tufts Fy. New Delhi, India
Stephan Danyluk Bowdoin Jr. Williamstown, Mass.
Guy Davidson  Wesleyan Fy. New York, N.Y.
Johan Detter Trinity Sr. Malmoe, Sweden
Caleb Garza Conn. College Sr. Seaville, N.J.
Parker Hurst Middlebury Jr. Greenwich, Conn.
Matthew Mackin  Trinity Jr. Greenwich, Conn.
Karan Malik  Trinity So. Bangalore, India
CJ Smith  Colby Fy. Locust Valley, N.Y.
Andrew Ward  Bowdoin So. Southborough, Mass.
Ahmed Abdel Khalek
Player of the Year
Rookie of the Year
Ahmed Abdel Khalek, Bates
Paul Assaiante
Coach of the Year
Paul Assaiante, Trinity