Women's Squash All-NESCAC Selections Released

Women's Squash All-NESCAC Selections Released

El Defrawy of Trinity Repeats as Player of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. - Trinity sophomore Kanzy El Defrawy (Cairo, Egypt) has been selected by the conference coaches as the 2014 NESCAC Player of the Year. El Defrawy, who was named the NESCAC Player of the Year in 2013, became the second player in league history to receive back-to-back Player of the Year honors.  

El Defrawy was one of three Trinity players chosen as a part of the 10-member All-NESCAC First Team. Joining El Defrawy from the Bantams were seniors Wee Nee Low (Penang, Malaysia) and Catalina Pelaez (Bogota, Colombia). With an 8-1 record, Low is making her second career appearance on the First Team after being selected to the First Team in 2013 and the Second Team in 2011. Pelaez has posted a perfect 12-0 mark this season en route to her fourth First Team selection. Like El Defrawy, Pelaez was selected as both Rookie and Player of the Year in 2011 and the Player of the Year in the following season.

Seniors Mary Foster (Wallingford, Conn.) of Wesleyan and Abby Jenkins (Latham, N.Y.) of Middlebury have accomplished the feat of being named All-NESCAC in each of their four seasons. Foster, who is 9-9 this year, was a First Team selection in 2012 and 2013 and a Second Team pick in 2011, while Jenkins, who sports a 10-4 record, was named to the First Team in 2011 and 2012 and the Second Team in 2013. Panther junior Charlotte Dewey (Greewich, Conn.) makes her second consecutive appearance on the First Team after being named to the Second Team in 2012. Dewey is 6-2, while helping Middlebury finish third at the NESCAC Championship.   

Bates junior Nessrine Ariffin (Penang, Malaysia) makes her third straight appearance on the First Team, after collecting Rookie of the Year honors in 2012. Ariffin has posted a 12-3 mark during a season in which she helped the Bobcats earn the second seed in the NESCAC Championship. She is joined on the First Team by junior teammate Myriam Kelly (Bronx, N.Y.), who moved up to the First Team after being named to the Second Team in 2012 and 2013. Kelly is 10-7. 

Rounding out the First Team from Williams are senior Alyssa Northrop (Greenwich, Conn.) and junior Ellie O’Neill (Rye, N.Y.). Northrop finds herself on an All-NESCAC squad for the first time in her career, while O’Neill was elevated from the 2013 Second Team after posting a 13-11 mark for the Ephs.

Trinity first-year Anna Kimberley (Essex, England) posted an unblemished record of 11-0 so far this season, as she was named 2014 NESCAC Player of the Year and All-NESCAC Second Team. She is the fifth Bantam to earn NESCAC Rookie of the Year honors along with current teammates El Defrawy and Pelaez.

Jamie King of Hamilton was selected by his peers as NESCAC Coach of the Year after guiding the Continentals to their highest NESCAC seed, while posting a 13-4 record thus far. This is the second Coach of the Year honor for King, who received the award in 2011.

Women's Squash All-Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Nessrine Ariffin Bates Jr. Penang, Malaysia
Charlotte Dewey Middlebury Jr. Greenwich, Conn.
Kanzy El Defrawy Trinity So. Cairo, Egypt
Mary Foster Wesleyan  Sr.  Wallingford, Conn.
Abby Jenkins Middlebury Sr. Latham, N.Y.
Myriam Kelly Bates Jr. Bronx, N.Y.
Wee Nee Low Trinity Sr. Penang, Malaysia
Alyssa Northrop Williams Sr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
Ellie O'Neill Williams Jr. Rye, N.Y.
Catalina Pelaez Trinity Sr. Bogota, Colombia
Second Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Natalie Babjukova Trinity Jr. Prague, Czech Republic
Nicole Feshbach Williams So. Santa Barbara, Calif.
Hilary Gray Hamilton Jr. Bala Cynwyd, Pa.
Anna Kimberley Trinity Fy. Essex, England
Lauren Nelson Wesleyan Jr. Baltimore, Md.
Leah Puklin Conn. College Jr. Bala Cynwyd, Pa.
Caroline Sawin Williams Jr. Haverford, Pa.
Paget Stanco Tufts So. Rye, N.Y.
Ashley Tidman Trinity Jr. Lamor-Plage, France
Julie Wolpow Colby So. Wellesley, Mass.
Kanzy El Defrawy
Player of the Year
Kanzy El Defrawy, Trinity
Anna Kimberley
Rookie of the Year
Anna Kimberley, Trinity
Jamie King
Coach of the Year
Jamie King, Hamilton