2008 Cross Country All-Conference Teams Announced

2008 Cross Country All-Conference Teams Announced

Hamilton’s Kosgei, Amherst’s Tropiano Receive Most Outstanding Performer Honors

HADLEY, Mass. - Hamilton junior Peter Kosgei (Kapsabet, Kenya) and Amherst senior Elise Tropiano (Plainview, N.Y.) both earned 2008 NESCAC Most Outstanding Performer honors after both finished first at the 2008 NESCAC Cross Country Championships hosted by Bates College at Pineland Farms in New Gloucester, Maine on Saturday, Nov. 1.

Kosgei won his second-straight men’s title on Saturday afternoon as he covered the 8-kilometer Pineland Farms course in 25:07, a new course record and 35 seconds ahead of the next closest runner. The victory for Kosgei was his sixth this fall and the 16 out of 17 career races, falling short in the lone race - the 2007 NCAA Championship - by finishing second. Kosgei was also named to the NESCAC All-Conference First Team for the second year in a row.

Joining Kosgei on the All-NESCAC First Team for the second-straight year was Williams junior Edgar Kosgey (Eldoret Rift Valley, Kenya). Kosgey led the Ephs to their third consecutive conference crown and 11th in meet history by placing second at this year’s championship with a time of 25:42. Just one second behind Kosgey was Tufts junior Jesse Faller (Burlington, Mass.), as he moved up from the 2007 Second Team to the 2008 First Team.

Seniors Brian Murtagh (Rowley, Mass.) of Connecticut College and Hunter Norte (Ellington, Conn.) returned to the First Team after both last earned All-Conference honors in 2006. Norte, the 2006 Most Outstanding Performer and the 2005 Rookie of the Year, was fourth at the NESCAC championship while Murtagh, who was runner-up to Norte in 2006, came in sixth with a time of 26:05. Juniors Jeff Perlis (Bethesda, Md.) of Williams and Nick Welch (Seattle, Wash.) of Tufts round out the 2008 NESCAC All-Conference First Team. Perlis continued his fantastic fall season by finishing fifth, while Welch was seventh.

Rookie of the Year honors went to Williams freshman Anthony Raduazo (Bolton, Mass.), as he edged out fellow first year harrier Michael Schmidt (Wilmette, Ill.) of Middlebury for top rookie honors by one second. Both runners earned a spot on the All-NESCAC Second Team. Trinity head coach George Suitor was selected by his peers as the Men’s Coach of the Year. In his 17th season with the Bantams, Suitor guided Trinity to a second-place showing at this year’s championship, the highest finish for the program since 2001. It is the first time that Suitor has received the conference’s Coach of the Year honor.

Tropiano improved on her seventh place performance in 2007 by winning the 2008 6-kilometer race in 21:49, the lone runner to finish under 22 minutes. In addition to being named the 2008 Most Outstanding Performer, Tropiano garnered All-NESCAC First Team accolades for the second-straight year. The only other returner from last year’s First Team was Middlebury senior Alexandra Krieg (Wellesley, Mass.). Krieg finished in the top 10 for the third year in a row as she came in third during her final NESCAC championship meet (22:25). While Krieg was the sole member of the Panther team to claim First Team honors, four of her teammates performed well enough to receive Second Team plaudits. Middlebury finished the 2008 championship tied with Williams with 48 points.

Tufts sophomore Stephanie McNamara was one of five individuals that earned First Team recognition for the first time in their careers. McNamara, who has won three races so far this fall, improved from a 15th-place showing in 2007 by shaving over a minute off her time from a year ago to finish second to Tropiano on Saturday.

Completing the 2008 NESCAC All-Conference First Team were Bowdoin senior Anne Monjar (Wilmette, Ill.), Williams senior Lauren Philbrook (Hopkinton, Mass.), Wesleyan senior Liz Wheatley (Arlington, Mass.) and Williams first year Mary Brunelli. The four harriers finished three seconds apart, with both Monjar and Philbrook completing the Pineland Farms course in 22:30. Brunelli was also the top rookie finisher in seventh (22:33) and claimed NESCAC Rookie of the Year for her performance.

Middlebury’s Terry Aldrich was chosen as the Women’s Coach of the Year. Aldrich helped his squad earn a share of the 2008 NESCAC Women’s Cross Country title, the first conference championship for the Panthers since 2004. Aldrich previously received Women’s Coach of the Year in 2000 and again in 2001.


2008 NESCAC Men's Cross Country All-Conference Teams

First Team      
Jesse Faller
Tufts Jr. Burlington, Mass.
Peter Kosgei
Hamilton Jr. Kapsabet, Kenya
Edgar Kosgey Williams Jr. Eldoret Rift Valley, Kenya  
Brian Murtagh
Connecticut College  
Sr. Rowley, Mass.
Hunter Norte
Trinity Sr. Ellington, Conn.
Jeff Perlis
Williams Jr. Bethesda, Md.
Nick Welch Tufts Jr. Seattle, Wash.
Second Team
Brendan Christian Williams Sr. Chicago, Ill.
Eric Holaday
Amherst Jr. Moorestown, N.J.
Sam Moorhead
Trinity Sr. Dedham, Mass.
Shawn Mulcahy
Connecticut College
So. Lebanon, N.H.
Daniel Murner
Amherst Jr. Crestwood, Ky.
Anthony Raduazo
Williams Fr. Bolton, Mass.
Michael Schmidt
Middlebury Fr. Wilmette, Ill.
NESCAC Most Outstanding Performer (Medalist)
Peter Kosgei Hamilton Jr. Kapsabet, Kenya
NESCAC Rookie of the Year
Anthony Raduazo
Williams Fr. Bolton, Mass.
NESCAC Coach of the Year
George Suitor

2008 NESCAC Women's Cross Country All-Conference Teams

First Team      
Mary Brunelli
Williams Fy. West Cornwall, Conn.
Alexandra Krieg Middlebury Sr.     Wellesley, Mass.
Stephanie McNamara    
Tufts So. North Attleborough, Mass.
Anne Monjar
Bowdoin Sr. Wilmette, Ill.
Lauren Philbrook
Williams Sr. Hopkinton, Mass.
Elise Tropiano
Amherst Sr. Plainview, N.Y.
Liz Wheatley
Wesleyan Sr. Arlington, Mass.
Second Team
Cate Brown
Middlebury Fy. Hanover, N.H.
Claire McIlvennie
Middlebury Fy. Ithaca, N.Y.
Hannah Meier
Middlebury So. Charlotte, Vt.
Elise Moddy-Roberts
Middlebury Fy. Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Bret Scofield
Williams Jr. Orinda, Calif.
Meghan Shea
Williams So. Nesconset, N.Y.
Amy Wilfert
Tufts So. Westborough, Mass.
NESCAC Most Outstanding Performer (Medalist)
Elise Tropiano
Amherst Sr. Plainview, N.Y.
NESCAC Rookie of the Year
Mary Brunelli
Williams Fy. West Cornwall, Conn.
NESCAC Coach of the Year
Terry Aldrich