NESCAC Cross Country All-Conference Teams Released

NESCAC Cross Country All-Conference Teams Released

Connecticut College's LeDuc, Williams' Kenny Earn Top Honors

– Williams senior Kaleigh Kenny (Glen Rock, N.J.) and Connecticut College Michael LeDuc (Canton, Conn.) were named the NESCAC Most Outstanding Performers following the 2013 NESCAC Cross Country Championships hosted by Connecticut College on Saturday. The annual honor is given to the individual who finishes first at the conference championship meet.

After finishing third in the 2012 NESCAC Championship, Kenny tied the Connecticut College course record and took home first place by nearly eight seconds with a time of 21:20.0. Kenny is the third Eph in the last four years to win the NESCAC championship. Middlebury’s Erzsebet Nagy (Albion, Maine) became the first Panther since 2010 to earn NESCAC Rookie of the Year recognition after being the top first-year harrier at the championship with a runner-up time of 21:27.7. Middlebury senior Emily Singer (Harrison, N.Y.) and Williams senior Shayna Barbash (Bethesda, Md.) earned First Team All-NESCAC to go along with Second Team All-NESCAC honors they earned in 2011. Other first-time honorees included Hamilton sophomore Adrian Walsh (Bozeman, Mont.), Tufts senior Abby Barker (San Carlos, Calif.) and Middlebury junior Alison Maxwell (Port Angeles, Wash.).

2013 All-NESCAC Women's Cross Country The Panthers landed four harriers on the All-NESCAC Second Team to help Middlebury capture its fourth title in the last six years and 12th overall. Junior Sarah Guth (Wilton, Conn.) collected another Second Team All-NESCAC finish for her resume, while senior Katie Rominger (Brooklyn, N.Y.) added a second-team performance to her first-team performance in 2010. Teammates junior Summer Spillane (Shelburne, Vt.) and sophomore Katherine Tereck (Los Angeles, Calif.) earned second-team recognition for the first time. Connecticut College first-year Kelsey McGinnis (Somerset, Mass.), Tufts sophomore Olivia Beltrani (Pleasant Valley, N.Y.) and Williams sophomore Molly Belk (Charlotte, N.C.) were also named Second Team All-NESCAC for the first time.

Nicole Wilkerson of Middlebury has been selected as the NESCAC Women’s Cross Country of the Year by her peers. This is the first time Wilkerson has earned the award since taking over the helm at Middlebury in 2011 after serving as an assistant for nine years. She also coaches the Panther men’s cross country team.

2013 All-NESCAC Men's Cross Country LeDuc became the first Camel to claim the men’s individual title after besting the previous course record by 18 seconds with a time of 24:35.2, earning his fourth First Team finish to go along with 2010 NESCAC Rookie of the Year recognition. Joining LeDuc as four-time All-NESCAC honorees were Bates senior Tully Hannan (West Hartford, Conn.) and Bowdoin senior Coby Horowitz (Stow, Mass.). Hannan was a first-team performer in 2011 and a second-team performer in 2010 and 2012, while Horowitz, the 2012 Most Outstanding Performer, was named First Team All-NESCAC in 2011 and 2012 and Second Team All-NESCAC in 2010.

Williams senior Chris Lee (Longmeadow, Mass.) added a second first-team performance to his resume to go along with first-team recognition in 2012 and second-team recognition in 2011. Middlebury senior Greg Krathwohl (Ipswich, Mass.) was also a repeat First Team All-NESCAC performer, having previously been recognized in 2010. Panther senior Nate Sans (Princeton, Mass.) and Eph junior Colin Cotton (Cincinnati, Ohio) garnered first-team recognition for the first time in their careers after Sans was named Second Team in 2012 and Cotton was named Second Team and Rookie of the Year in 2011.

The Second Team is comprised entirely of new honorees, including 2013 NESCAC Rookie of the Year David Chelimo (Nayhururu, Kenya) of Colby. Chelimo was the top first-year harrier at the championship with a tenth-place time of 25:09.3, and was joined on the second team by classmate Silar Eastman (Chatham, N.H.). Last year’s NESCAC Rookie of the Year, Bijan Mazaheri (Wellesley, Mass.) earned Second Team recognition to help lead the Ephs, along with Cotton and Lee, to their sixth team title in eight years.

Rounding out the Second Team were Tufts senior Andrew Shapero (Laguna Beach, Calif.) and first-year Tim Nichols (North Lima, Ohio) and Middlebury senior Wilder Schaaf (Ashland, Ore.) and junior Kevin Wood (Lincolnshire, Ill.).

Jared Beers of Colby was named NESCAC Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year. It marks the first time any Colby men’s cross country coach has earned the award. Beers has coached men’s cross country at his alma mater for eight seasons. 

Men's All-Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Colin Cotton Williams Jr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Tully Hannan Bates Sr. West Hartford, Conn.
Coby Horowitz Bowdoin  Sr. Stow, Mass.
Greg Krathwohl Middlebury Sr. Ipswich, Mass.
Michael LeDuc Conn. College Sr. Canton, Conn.
Chris Lee Williams Sr. Longmeadow, Mass.
Nate Sans Middlebury Sr. Princeton, Mass.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
David Chelimo Colby Fy. Nyahururu, Kenya
Silas Eastman Colby Fy. Chatham, N.H.
Bijan Mazaheri Williams So. Wellesley, Mass.
Tim Nichols Tufts Fy. North Lima, Ohio
Wilder Schaaf Middlebury Jr. Ashland, Ore.
Andrew Shapero Tufts Sr. Laguna Beach, Calif
Kevin Wood Middlebury Jr. Lincolnshire, Ill.
Michael LeDuc
Most Outstanding Performer
Michael LeDuc, Connecticut College
David Chelimo
Rookie of the Year
David Chelimo, Colby

Jared Beers
Coach of the Year
Jared Beers, Colby

Women's All-Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Shayna Barbash Williams Sr. Bethesda, Md.
Abby Barker Tufts Sr. San Carlos, Calif.
Kaleigh Kenny Williams Sr. Glen Rock, N.J.
Alison Maxwell Middlebury Jr. Port Angeles, Wash.
Erzsebet Nagy Middlebury Fy. Albion, Maine
Emily Singer Middlebury Sr. Harrison, N.Y.
Adrian Walsh Hamilton So. Bozeman, Mont.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Molly Belk Williams So. Charlotte, N.C.
Olivia Beltrani Tufts So. Pleasant Valley, N.Y.
Sarah Guth Middlebury Jr. Wilton, Conn.
Kelsey McGinnis Conn. College Fy. Somerset, Mass.
Katie Rominger Middlebury Sr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
Summer Spillane Middlebury Jr. Shelburne, Vt.
Katherine Tercek Middlebury So. Los Angeles, Calif.
Kaleigh Kenny
Most Outstanding Performer
Kaleigh Kenny, Williams
Erzsebet Nagy
Rookie of the Year
Erzsebet Nagy, Middlebury

Nicole Wilkerson
Coach of the Year
Nicole Wilkerson, Middlebury