NESCAC Fall All-Academic Team Released

NESCAC All-Academic

HADLEY, Mass. – A total of 639 student-athletes have been named to the 2018 NESCAC Fall All-Academic Team. To be honored, an individual must have reached sophomore academic standing, and be in good standing in their sport with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.50 or equivalent on a 4.0 scale. Transfers must have completed one year of study at the institution.


Of the 639 student-athletes named to the team, 230 were honored for the second time in their career, while 150 were recognized for the third time. In addition, 63 members of the group garnered both All-Academic and All-NESCAC accolades this fall, led by 11 student-athletes from both Middlebury and Tufts. A total of 39 individuals were named to both the All-Sportsmanship and All-Academic Teams.

Three individuals were selected to all three squads. That elite group included Amherst senior Tucker Meijer (men’s cross country), Colby senior Cam Clouse (men’s soccer), and Middlebury senior Sarah Staver (volleyball).

The 2018 Fall All-Academic Team includes three NESCAC Players of the Year, a NESCAC Offensive Player of the Year, and a NESCAC Most Outstanding Performer.

Bowdoin junior Caroline Flaharty (Fort Meyers, Fla.) was named the 2018 NESCAC Volleyball Player of the Year after leading her team to the NESCAC title. Flaharty, the 2016 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, was part of a Bowdoin squad that made its fifth trip to the NCAA Tournament. The Polar Bears advanced to the regional final and set a program record for most wins in a season (29). Flaharty is a two-time All-Academic honoree.

Connecticut College sophomore goalkeeper AJ Marcucci (West Chester, Pa.) was the third Camel to garner NESCAC Player of the Year honors in men’s soccer. The 2017 NESCAC Rookie of the Year helped Connecticut College reach the second round of the NCAA Tournament. Marcucci is the first men’s soccer player since 2000 to be named the Rookie of the Year and Player of the Year in consecutive seasons.

Williams junior Ryan Cox (Bainbridge Island, Wash.) was named the NESCAC Most Outstanding Performer after winning the 2018 NESCAC Men’s Cross Country Championship. Cox earned All-Region honors after finishing fifth at the NCAA Division III New England Regional. Cox, a two-time All-Academic honoree, and his Eph teammates earned an automatic berth to the NCAA Men’s Cross Country Championship.

Middlebury sophomore Erin Nicholas (Scarsdale, N.Y.) earned NESCAC Field Hockey Player of the Year honors after leading the Panthers to their fifth NESCAC Championship in the last seven years. The 2017 NESCAC Rookie of the Year is the first field hockey player since 2006 to earn Rookie of the Year and Player of the Year honors in back-to-back seasons. Nicholas anchored a defense that helped the Panthers win their second straight NCAA National Championship.

Trinity senior Chandler Solimine (Pelham, N.Y.) was named the 2018 NESCAC Field Hockey Offensive Player of the Year. Solimine helped Trinity reach the NESCAC Semifinals for the second consecutive season. She led the Bantams in scoring with 32 points on a team-high 12 goals and eight assists. Solimine has been honored on the NESCAC All-Academic Team each season she was eligible.

Founded in 1971, the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) consists of 11 liberal arts colleges and has consistently reflected its commitment to the values of athletics and academic achievement. The member colleges of the conference are Amherst College, Bates College, Bowdoin College, Colby College, Connecticut College, Hamilton College, Middlebury College, Trinity College, Tufts University, Wesleyan University, and Williams College.