Fall All-Sportsmanship Selections Announced

Fall All-Sportsmanship Selections Announced


Honor Recognizes Positive Contributions to Sport Within Conference

– A total of 86 student-athletes have been named to the 2013 NESCAC Fall All-Sportsmanship Team. The team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport that the conference sponsors. Honorees are selected by the players and coaches from their respective teams.

The NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents and spectators. They display sportsmanship, not only as a participant in their sport, but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. Through their positive actions and example, these student-athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship that the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.

Of the 86 individuals honored this fall, 13 were also recognized as All-Conference in their respective sports. Five members of the Golf All-Sportsmanship Teams also garnered All-NESCAC accolades and both major individual awards. Middlebury junior John Louie was named the NESCAC Player of the Year, while Colby first-year Geoffrey Sullivan was the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. Other all-conference honorees included first-team selection sophomore James Line of Amherst and second-team picks senior Thomas Lilly of Bowdoin and senior Dylan Dethier of Williams. Lilly and Dethier are also repeat All-Sportsmanship selections, as Lilly was recognized in 2012 and Dethier was recognized in 2011.

Four additional members of the Golf All-Sportsmanship Team were multiple honorees. Hamilton senior Greg Scott and Tufts junior Alex Zorniger have made the team three times. Scott was listed in 2010 and 2012, whereas Zorniger has been named three straight years. Junior Bill Burchill of Trinity and senior Ryan Marvick of Wesleyan were honored a year ago.

Three Men's Soccer All-NESCAC selections landed on the All-Sportsmanship Team. Wesleyan junior Ben Bratt was a First Team All-NESCAC pick, while Amherst senior Ben Norton and Williams senior Peter Morrell were members of the Second Team.

Tufts senior Abby Barker and Wesleyan senior Blair Ingraham were NESCAC All-Conference First Team selections in cross country and field hockey, respectively.

Seniors Chris Lee of Williams and Andrew Shapero of Tufts were First and Second Team All-NESCAC performers in cross country.

Bowdoin senior defender Becky Stoneman, a 2012 All-Sportsmanship honoree, was also a member of the Women’s Soccer All-NESCAC First Team.

Eight other individuals repeated as All-Sportsmanship Team selections from a year ago. Among those was senior volleyball player Sarah Pfund of Hamilton, who was honored for the third consecutive year.

Senior cross country runners Allie Gurney of Hamilton and Emily Attwood of Middlebury were selected for the second year in a row. They were joined by women's soccer players, senior Sara Abrahams of Amherst and junior Astrid Kempainen of Connecticut College, along with senior volleyball player Meg Anderson of Middlebury, senior field hockey player Deidre Miller of Middlebury and junior men's soccer player Kento Nakamura of Tufts.

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the NESCAC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators. The committee provides a voice to represent the concerns of all student-athletes and to discuss issues impacting student-athlete welfare. The NESCAC SAAC represents all students who participate in intercollegiate athletics and promotes and celebrates student-athletes' achievements.

2013 NESCAC Fall All-Sportsmanship Team

Men's Cross Country
Name Institution Yr. Hometown
Alvaro Morales Amherst Sr.  Sterling, Va. 
Mike Martin Bates Sr. Slatersville, R.I. 
Nicholas Saba Bowdoin Sr.  Hamden, Conn. 
Chris Greenlee Colby  Sr.  Westminster, Mass. 
Aaron Davis Conn. Coll. Sr.  New London, Conn. 
Scott Etkin Hamilton Sr.  New York, N.Y. 
Chuck Jones Middlebury Jr.  North Haven, Maine 
Patrick Hoagland Trinity So.  San Diego, Calif. 
Andrew Shapero Tufts Sr.  Laguna Beach, Calif. 
Paul Brauchle Wesleyan Fy.  Mound, Minn. 
Chris Lee Williams Sr. Longmeadow, Mass. 
Women's Cross Country
Name Institution Year Hometown
Brooke Kirkham Amherst Sr.  Minneapolis, Minn. 
Mikka Kei Macdonald Bates So.  Catonsville, Md. 
Reaha Goyetche Bowdoin Sr.  York, Maine 
Sarah Barrese Colby Sr.  Short Hills, N.J. 
Sarah Huckins Conn. Coll. Sr. Henniker, N.H.
Allie Gurney Hamilton Sr. West Hartford, Conn.
Emily Attwood Middlebury Sr. Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Sarah Ballinger Trinity Sr.  Scituate, Mass. 
Abby Barker  Tufts Sr.  San Carlos, Calif. 
Karley Dutra Wesleyan Sr.  Lake Grove, N.Y. 
Brianne Mirecki Williams Sr. East Lyme, Conn. 
Field Hockey
Name Institution Year Hometown
Sarah Canning Amherst Sr. Cos Cob, Conn.
Lexie Carter Bates Sr. Saco, Maine
Pam Herter Bowdoin Jr. Topsfield, Mass.
Natalie Fischer Colby Sr. Freeland, Md.
Kat Barker Conn. Coll. Sr.  Dedham, Mich.
Gabriele Lenihan Hamilton Jr. Cos Cob, Conn.
Deidre Miller Middlebury Sr. Rye, N.Y.
Julia Rivera Trinity Sr. Silver Spring, Md.
Katy McConnell Tufts Sr. Baltimore, Md.
Blair Ingraham Wesleyan Sr. Northport, N.Y.
Emily Pavlini Williams Sr. Far Hills, N.J.
Name Institution Year Hometown
Kevin Callahan Amherst Sr. Spring Lake, N.J. 
Charlie Donahue Bates Sr. Plymouth, N.H. 
Griffin Cardew Bowdoin Sr.  Ipswich, Mass. 
Jeff Lamson Colby Sr.  Amesbury, Mass. 
Charlie Bueneman Hamilton Sr.  Queenstown, Md. 
Andrew Duval Middlebury Sr.  Hamilton, Mass. 
Edward Franca Trinity Sr.  Miami, Fla. 
Jon Sobo Tufts Sr.   Tenafly, N.J. 
Jeremy Edelberg Wesleyan Sr.  Ridgewood, N.J. 
John McKenna Williams Sr.  Cohasset, N.J. 
Men's Golf
Name Institution Yr. Hometown
James Line Amherst So.  Glastonbury, Conn. 
Zachary Abbott Bates Sr.  Rangeley, Maine 
Thomas Lilly Bowdoin Sr. Bronxville, N.Y.
Geoff Sullivan Colby Fy. Topsfield, Mass. 
Greg Scott Hamilton Sr. New Haven, Vt.
John Louie Middlebury Jr.  Salinas, Calif. 
Bill Burchill Trinity Jr. East Walpole, Mass.
Alex Zorniger Tufts Jr. Dayton, Ohio
Ryan Marvick  Wesleyan Sr. Captain Cook, Hawaii
Dylan Dethier Williams Sr. Williamstown, Mass. 
Men's Soccer
Name Institution Year Hometown
Ben Norton Amherst Sr. Bethesda, Md.
Nick Ford Bates Jr. Columbus, Ohio
Cedric Charlier Bowdoin Fy. Baltimore, Md.
Charlie Dupee Colby Jr. Portland, Maine
Zach Punt Conn. Coll. Jr. West Hartford, Conn.
Sampson Reider Hamilton Sr. Slingerlands, N.Y.
Adam Batista Middlebury Sr. Newport, Vt.
Shaun McGann Trinity Sr. West Hartford, Conn.
Kento  Nakamura Tufts Jr. Tokyo, Japan
Ben Bratt Wesleyan Jr. Winchester, Mass.
Peter Morrell Williams Sr. Brunswick, Maine
Women's Soccer
Name Institution Year Hometown
Sara Abrahams Amherst Sr. Williamsburg, Va.
Chelsea Thompson Bates Sr. Farmington, Maine
Becky Stoneman Bowdoin Sr. Faribault, Minn.
Alex Yorke Colby Sr. Chicago, Ill.
Astrid Kempainen Conn. Coll. Jr. Chazy, N.Y.
Victoria Freeman  Hamilton So.  Freehold, N.J. 
Melissa Garrett Middlebury Sr. Asheville, N.C.
Kristen Elia Trinity Sr. Erie, Pa.
Kristin Wright Tufts Sr. Austin, Texas
Hannah Knudsen Wesleyan Sr. Yardley, Pa.
Abby Conyers Williams Sr. Aurora, Ore.
Name Institution Year Hometown
Kelci Keeno Amherst Fy. Honolulu, Hawaii
Abby Leberman Bates So. Concord, N.H.
Audrey DeFusco Bowdoin So. Cheshire, Conn.
Sarah Arvidson Colby So. Andover, Mass.
Erin Barker Conn. Coll. Sr. Edwards, Colo.
Sarah Pfund Hamilton Sr. Ho-Ho-Kus, N.J.
Meg Anderson Middlebury Sr. Berlin, Mass.
Sarah Whitham Trinity Sr. South Weymouth, Mass.
Virginia Clay Tufts Sr. Santa Clara, Calif.
Kate Centofanti Wesleyan Sr. Cos Cob, Conn.
Mandy Schott Williams Jr. Niskayuna, N.Y.