Fall All-Sportsmanship Selections Announced

Fall All-Sportsmanship Selections Announced


Honor Recognizes Positive Contributions to Sport Within Conference

– A total of 86 student-athletes have been named to the 2014 NESCAC Fall All-Sportsmanship Team. The team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport that the conference sponsors. Honorees are selected by the players and coaches from their respective teams.

The NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding sportsmanship in their respective sport. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents and spectators. Through positive action and leadership, these student-athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.

Of the 86 individuals honored this fall, 11 hold multiple All-Sportsmanship Team awards while five were also named to All-NESCAC teams in their respective sports.

Headlining the list is Tufts men's golf senior Alex Zorniger (Dayton, Ohio), who received his fourth All-Sportsmanship Team award. Four other men's golfers joined Zorniger as repeat honorees. Senior Bill Burchill (East Walpole, Mass.) of Trinity was previously selected to both the 2012 and 2013 teams, while Amherst junior James Line (Glastonbury, Conn.) and Middlebury senior John Louie (Soledad, Calif.) were picks last season. Williams senior Jake Goldenring (Florham Park, N.J.) earns his second All-Sportsmanship Team Award after receiving the honor in 2011. Goldenring was also an All-NESCAC Second Team performer this fall.

Earning her third All-Sportsmanship Team award was Connecticut College women's soccer senior Astrid Kempainen (Chazy, N.Y.), who was also named the 2014 NESCAC Women's Soccer Player of the Year.

In men's soccer, Tufts senior Kento Nakamura (Tokyo, Japan) has made the All-Sportsmanship Team three times, while Connecticut College senior Zach Punt (West Hartford, Conn.) received his second straight honor.

Williams men's cross country senior Aldis Inde (Edina, Minn.) has been named to the All-Sportsmanship Team for the first time in his career. He was also an All-NESCAC First Team performer. Junior Patrick Hoagland (San Diego, Calif.) of Trinity garnered his second All-Sportsmanship Team award after receiving the award in 2013.

In volleyball, junior Sarah Arvidson (Andover, Mass.) of Colby earned her second consecutive all-sportsmanship award. Joining Arvidson on the All-Sportsmanship Team was Amherst junior Katie Warshaw (Manhattan Beach, Calif.), a Second Team All-NESCAC selection.

Bates field hockey senior Jill Conway (Andover, Mass.) received her second All-Sportsmanship Team award after being named to the 2011 team, while Colby senior Kellie Walsh (Andover, Mass.) was named to the all-conference second team in field hockey.

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the NESCAC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators. The committee provides a voice to represent the concerns of all student-athletes and to discuss issues impacting student-athlete welfare. The NESCAC SAAC represents all students who participate in intercollegiate athletics and promotes and celebrates student-athletes' achievements.


2014 NESCAC Fall All-Sportsmanship Team

Men's Cross Country
Name Institution Yr. Hometown
Lucas Lebovitz Amherst Sr.  Palos Verdes, Calif.
Zach Polich Bates Sr. Westborough, Mass.
Avery Wentworth Bowdoin Sr.  Annapolis, Md.
Seth Gilbane Colby  Sr.  Providence, R.I. 
Ryan Dean Conn. Coll. Jr. Leeds, Mass.
Evan Abelson Hamilton Jr.  Greenfield, Mass. 
Derek Satterfield Middlebury Sr.  Newport Beach, Calif. 
Patrick Hoagland Trinity Jr.  San Diego, Calif. 
Greg Hardy Tufts Sr.  Barnstable, Mass. 
Will Dudek Wesleyan So.  Montclair, N.J. 
Aldis Inde Williams Sr. Edina, Minn.
Women's Cross Country
Name Institution Year Hometown
Jessie Kaliski Amherst Sr.  McLean, Va.
Katherine Courtney Bates Jr.  Hermosa Beach, Calif.
Brenna Fischer Bowdoin Sr.  Ridgewood, N.J. 
Laurel Whitney Colby Jr.  Waterbury, Vt.
Emily Winter Conn. Coll. Jr. Easton, Conn.
Emily Banzer Hamilton Sr. Brockport, N.Y.
Katie Merrick Middlebury So. South Burlington, Vt.
Haley Wodenshek Trinity Sr.  Wyckoff, N.J. 
Catherine Madden Tufts Sr.  Lymington, U.K.
Rachel Unger Wesleyan Sr.  Winchester, Mass. 
Anna Spiers Williams Sr. Chester, Va.
Field Hockey
Name Institution Year Hometown
Camille Youngblood Amherst Sr. Milwaukee, Wis.
Jill Conway Bates Sr. Andover, Mass.
Meaghan Dwan Bowdoin Sr. Dedham, Mass.
Kellie Walsh Colby Sr. Andover, Mass.
Ryley van de Velde Conn. Coll. So.  Louisville, Ky.
Emma Anderson Hamilton So. Greene, N.Y.
Anna Kenyon Middlebury Jr. Dedham, Mass.
Olivia Tapsall Trinity Jr. Greenwich, Conn.
Celia Lewis Tufts Fy. Houston, Texas
Anna Howard Wesleyan Sr. Austin, Texas
Haley Ladd-Luthringshauser Williams Sr. Boxborough, Mass.
Name Institution Year Hometown
Henry Falter Amherst Sr. Glencoe, Ill. 
Adam Cuomo Bates Sr. Plymouth, Mass. 
Jon Fraser Bowdoin Sr.  Marshfield, Mass. 
Nick Joseph Colby Sr.  Mattapan, Mass. 
Jeffrey Hopsicker Hamilton Sr.  Cazenovia, N.Y. 
David Elkhatib Middlebury Sr.  Lincroft, N.J. 
Kyle McGuire Trinity Sr.  Mansfield, Mass. 
Kyle Duke Tufts Sr.   Arlington, Mass.
Anthony Antonellis Wesleyan Sr.  Westwood, Mass.
Josh Helmkamp Williams Sr.  Simsbury, Conn.
Men's Golf
Name Institution Yr. Hometown
James Line Amherst Jr.  Glastonbury, Conn. 
Matt Marcus Bates Fy.  Newton, Mass.
Dustin Biron Bowdoin Sr. Lancaster, Pa.
Jack Hartigan Colby Sr. Andover, Mass. 
Gipper Gailor Hamilton Sr. North Granby, Conn.
John Louie Middlebury Sr.  Soledad, Calif. 
Bill Burchill Trinity Sr. East Walpole, Mass.
Alex Zorniger Tufts Sr. Dayton, Ohio
Paul Andrick Wesleyan Jr. Reading, Mass.
Jake Goldenring Williams Sr. Florham Park, N.J.
Men's Soccer
Name Institution Year Hometown
Mikey Hoeksema Amherst Sr. Bethany, Conn.
Jason Stephansky Bates Sr. Whitman, Mass.
Austin Downing Bowdoin So. Scarborough, Maine
Peter Quayle Colby Sr. Cambridge, Mass.
Zach Punt Conn. Coll. Sr. West Hartford, Conn.
Trevor Bobola Hamilton Sr. Jamestown, R.I.
Noah Gross-Woliner Middlebury Sr. Waitsfield, Vt.
Kyle Johnston Trinity Sr. Sagamore Beach, Mass.
Kento Nakamura Tufts Sr. Tokyo, Japan
Omar Bravo Wesleyan Sr. Santa Ana, Calif.
Andres Burbank-Crump Williams Sr. North Andover, Mass.
Women's Soccer
Name Institution Year Hometown
Caroline Broder Amherst Sr. Upper Saddle River, N.J.
Dakota Donovan Bates Sr. Marblehead, Mass.
Kaley Nelson Bowdoin Sr. Vienna, Va.
Maddie Tight Colby Sr. San Rafael, Calif.
Astrid Kempainen Conn. Coll. Sr. Chazy, N.Y.
Rebecca Rees Hamilton Jr.  Framingham, Mass.
Molly Parizeau Middlebury Sr. Wellesley, Mass.
Laura Nee Trinity So. Duxbury, Mass.
Allie Weiller Tufts Jr. Katonah, N.Y.
Hannah Stone Wesleyan Sr. Madison, Conn.
Hana Tomozawa Williams Sr. Honolulu, Hawaii
Name Institution Year Hometown
Katie Warshaw Amherst Jr. Manhattan Beach, Calif.
August Silver Bates Fy. Manhattan Beach, Calif.
Hailey Wahl Bowdoin Jr. Agoura Hills, Calif.
Sarah Arvidson Colby Jr. Andover, Mass.
Cailyn Straubel Conn. Coll. Jr. Dallas, Texas
Kirsten Kampmeier Hamilton Jr. Austin, Texas
Lizzy Reed Middlebury Sr. Cazenovia, N.Y.
Barbara Massa Trinity Sr. Old Lyme, Conn.
Jessica Ingrum Tufts Sr. Highlands Ranch, Colo.
Brittany Curran Wesleyan Jr. Morris Plains, N.J.
Claire Miller Williams Sr. Wilmette, Ill.