Winter All-Sportsmanship Selections Announced

Winter All-Sportsmanship Selections Announced

HADLEY, Mass. – A total of 85 student-athletes have been named to the 2017 NESCAC Winter All-Sportsmanship Team. The team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport that the conference sponsors. Honorees are selected by the players and coaches from their respective teams.

The NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents and spectators. They display sportsmanship, not only as a participant in their sport, but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. Through their positive actions and example, these student-athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship that the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.

Of the 85 individuals honored this winter, 11 were also recognized as All-NESCAC honorees in their respective sports. In men’s squash, Colby junior Will McBrian (Dedham, Mass.) earned his second All-Sportsmanship honor and was an All-NESCAC First Team selection. Middlebury senior Wyatt French (Farmington, Conn.) made his first appearance on the All-Sportsmanship Team and is a two-time All-NESCAC First Team selection. Bowdoin senior Ben Bristol (Rocky Hill, N.J.) and Trinity junior Omar Allaudin (Lahore, Pakistan) earned All-NESCAC Second Team honors and are on the All-Sportsmanship Team for the first time in their careers.

Seniors Sarah Nelson (Concord, Mass.) of Bowdoin and Anna Kimberley (Colchester, England) of Trinity were named to the All-NESCAC First Team in women’s squash and are making their second appearance on the All-Sportsmanship Team. Colby junior Devin Mullaney (Boston, Mass.) earned her third All-NESCAC First Team honor this season and is making her second appearance on the All-Sportsmanship Team.

In women’s ice hockey, Connecticut College senior Julie Beattie (Livonia, Mich.) is on the All-Sportsmanship Team for the first time and was an All-NESCAC Second Team selection. Colby senior Katie McLaughlin (Glenburn, Maine) is the only three-time All-Sportsmanship honoree among the winter season athletes selected.

Bates senior swimmer Sara Daher (Marblehead, Mass.) earned All-NESCAC honors in five events this season and is a repeat All-Sportsmanship selection. Fellow Bobcat Daniel Walpole (Montclair, N.J.) also earned All-NESCAC honors in two events in the pool this season and is on the All-Sportsmanship Team for the first time. Sophomore Marc Klepacki (Hadley, Mass.) of Connecticut College is making his first appearance on the All-Sportsmanship Team and earned All-NESCAC honors in the 50-yard butterfly.

The other all-conference pick named to the All-Sportsmanship Team included Bates senior Allie Coppola (Tarrytown, N.Y.). Coppola was a member of the All-NESCAC Women’s Basketball Second Team as a forward.

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the NESCAC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators. The committee provides a voice to represent the concerns of all student-athletes and to discuss issues impacting student-athlete welfare. The NESCAC SAAC represents all students who participate in intercollegiate athletics and promotes and celebrates student-athletes achievements.

2017 NESCAC Winter All-Sportsmanship Team

Men's Basketball
Name Institution Yr. Hometown
Eric Conklin Amherst Sr.
Scottsdale, Ariz.
Max Hummell
Bates So. Glastonbury, Conn.
Jack Hewitt
Bowdoin Sr. Scarsdale, N.Y.
Ethan Schlager
Colby Fy. Washington, D.C.
Colin Pascoe
Conn. College Sr. Somers, Conn.
Kyle Pitman
Hamilton Sr. Phoenix, Ariz.
Jack Daly
Middlebury Jr.
Eastchester, N.Y.
Chris Turnbull
Trinity Sr. Ridgewood, N.J.
Drew Madsen
Tufts Sr. San Diego, Calif.
Chad Elliott
Wesleyan Jr.
Flower Mound, Texas
Taysean Scott
Williams Sr. Baltimore, Md.
Women's Basketball
Name Institution Yr. Hometown
Jackie Nagle
Amherst Jr. Colchester, Vt.
Allie Coppola Bates Sr. Tarrytown, N.Y.
Sydney Hancock Bowdoin Sr. Casco, Maine
Caitlyn Nolan Colby  Sr. Barrington, R.I.
Caroline Pangallo
Conn. College So. Fairfield, Conn.
Halie Serbent
Hamilton So. Killingworth, Conn.
Sabrina Weeks
Middlebury Jr. Los Altos, Calif.
Kaitlin Lewis
Trinity Sr. Demarest, N.J.
Katy Hicks
Tufts Sr. Canton, Mass.
Tara Berger
Wesleyan So. Purchase, N.Y.
Lauren McCall
Williams Sr. Natick, Mass.
Men's Ice Hockey
Name Institution Yr. Hometown
Chris Roll
Amherst Sr. Fairport, N.Y.
Kendall Culbertson
Bowdoin Sr. Laguna Niguel, Calif.
Geoff Sullivan
Colby Sr. Topsfield, Mass.
Joe Giordano
Conn. College Sr.  Ellington, Conn.
Conor Lamberti Hamilton Sr. Kings Park, N.Y.
Greg Conrad
Middlebury Sr. Peabody, Mass.
T.J. Sherman
Trinity Sr.  Chesterfield, Mo.
Patrick Lackey Tufts Sr. Summit, N.J.
Robby Harbison
Wesleyan Sr. Pittsburgh, Pa.
Alex Hagerty
Williams Sr. New Vernon, N.J.
Women's Ice Hockey
Name Institution Yr. Hometown
Audrey Duquette
Amherst Sr. Alexandria, Va.
Kimmy Ganong
Bowdoin Sr. Brunswick, Maine
Katie McLaughlin Colby Sr. Glenburn, Maine
Julie Beattie
Conn. College Sr. Livonia, Mich.
Maddie Carras
Hamilton Sr. Northfield, Minn.
Allie Aiello
Middlebury Sr. Maplewood, N.J.
Allie Bravi
Trinity Sr. Montreal, Quebec
Samantha Curran
Wesleyan Sr. Scituate, Mass.
Caitlin Buckley
Williams Sr. Mahopac, N.Y.
Men's Squash
Name Institution Yr. Hometown
Michael Groot
Amherst Sr.
Victoria, British Columbia
Anirudh Nambiar
Bates Jr. Bangalore, India
Ben Bristol
Bowdoin Sr.  Princeton, N.J.
Will McBrian
Colby Jr.  Dedham, Mass.
Daniel Reisman
Conn. College Jr.  Santa Barbara, Calif.
Callum Sondhi
Hamilton Fy. Summit, N.J.
Wyatt French
Middlebury Sr. Farmington, Conn.
Omar Allaudin
Trinity Jr.  Lahore, Pakistan
Imran Trehan Tufts So. New York, N.Y.
Alex Kamisher
Wesleyan Sr.  Norwalk, Conn.
John Shuck
Williams Sr. Rye, N.Y.
Women's Squash
Name Institution Yr. Hometown
Jenna Finkelstein
Amherst Fy. Greenwich, Conn.
Emma Dunn Bates Sr. Bellevue, Wash.
Sarah Nelson
Bowdoin Sr. Concord, Mass.
Devin Mullaney
Colby Jr. Boston, Mass.
Caroline Lippincott
Conn. College Sr.
Jamestown, R.I.
Perry Von Stade
Hamilton Sr. Philadelphia, Pa.
Audrey Ellen
Middlebury Sr. New York, N.Y.
Anna Kimberley Trinity Sr. Colchester, England
Sahana Karthik
Tufts So. Singapore
Abigail Smith
Wesleyan Sr. Houston, Texas
Alyssa Ritchie
Williams Sr. Chicago, Ill.
Men's Swimming and Diving
Name Institution Yr. Hometown
Bobby Shogren
Amherst So. Minneapolis, Minn.
Daniel Walpole
Bates Sr. Montclair, N.J.
Timothy Long Bowdoin Sr. Framingham, Mass.
Travers Losert
Colby So. Wellesley Hills, Mass.
Marc Klepacki
Conn. College So. Hadley, Mass.
Ryan Cassidy
Hamilton Sr. Merion, Pa.
Brendan Leech
Middlebury So. Pittsburgh, Pa.
Joseph Paine
Trinity Sr. Tokyo, Japan
Luca Guadagno
Tufts Sr. Summitt, N.J.
Aidan Winn
Wesleyan Jr. Florence, Mass.
Jack Ferguson
Williams Sr. San Rafael, Calif.
Women's Swimming and Diving
Name Institution Yr. Hometown
Marie Maxwell
Amherst Jr. Burlingame, Calif.
Sara Daher
Bates Sr. Marblehead, Mass.
Liza Tarbell
Bowdoin Sr. New York, N.Y.
Katherine King
Colby So. Shelburne, Vt.
Anuschka Sambel
Conn. College Fy.
Bloomfield Hills, Mich.
Hannah Mooney
Hamilton Sr. Piedmont, Calif.
Harper Baldwin
Middlebury So.
Brattleboro, N.Y.
Audrey Ettinger
Trinity Fy.
New Canaan, Conn.
Sarah Elghor
Tufts Sr.
Eden Prairie, Minn.
Sophia Antonio
Wesleyan So. Chicago, Ill.
Anna Neufeld Williams Jr. Weston, Mass.