Spring All-Sportsmanship Selections Announced

NESCAC All-Sportsmanship

HADLEY, Mass. – A total of 112 student-athletes have been named to the 2018 NESCAC Spring All-Sportsmanship Team. The team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport the conference sponsors. Honorees are selected by the players and coaches from their respective teams.


The NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents and spectators. They display sportsmanship, not only as a participant in their sport, but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. Through their positive actions and example, these student-athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship that the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.

Of the 112 individuals honored this spring, 12 are multiple All-Sportsmanship honorees while 14 were also named All-NESCAC in their respective sports.

Headlining the list of repeat All-Sportsmanship honorees is senior Tess Trinka (Oak Park, Ill.) of the Bowdoin women’s tennis team. The four-time All-NESCAC selection was named to the All-Sportsmanship team for the second time in her career after earning the honor in 2016. Trinka was also selected as the 2018 Senior Sportswoman of the Year by the NESCAC women’s tennis coaches. Maddie Lupone (New Canaan, Conn.), a women’s tennis senior from Colby, is being recognized for the second consecutive year. Trinka and Lupone are joined on the Women’s Tennis All-Sportsmanship team by Williams senior Mia Gancayo (Potomac, Md.), a 2018 All-NESCAC selection.

Hamilton senior baseball player Dan DePaoli (Brewster, N.Y.) earns his second straight All-Sportsmanship nod. All-NESCAC honoree and Joe Gentile (Groton, Mass.), a senior at Bowdoin, earns his first All-Sportsmanship accolade.

Bates sophomore Julia Panepinto (Buffalo, N.Y.) makes her second appearance in as many years on the softball All-Sportsmanship Team. Seniors Rielly Wieners (West Springfield, Mass.) of Wesleyan and Margo Beck (Plano, Texas) of Williams are All-NESCAC selections who are on the All-Sportsmanship Team for the first time in their careers.

Three women’s lacrosse student-athletes have earned All-Sportsmanship nods for the second time in their careers. Wesleyan senior Dana Mitchell (Weston, Conn.) was named to the team after being honored in 2016. Middlebury senior Alex Freedman (Villanova, Pa.) and Hamilton junior Hannah Burrall (Geneva, N.Y.) earn the honor for the second time in as many years. All-NESCAC selection Hannah Hirschfeld (Concord, N.H.), a senior from Bowdoin, is on the Women’s Lacrosse All-Sportsmanship Team for the first time.

Connecticut College senior men’s tennis player Ben Sachs (Mount Kisco, N.Y.) earns All-Sportsmanship accolades for the second time in his career after being tabbed in 2016. Fellow senior Timo van der Geest (Oegstgeest, Netherlands) of Middlebury is also on the team for the second time after earning the honor in 2017. They are joined by All-NESCAC selection and 2018 NESCAC Rookie of the Year Sean Wei (Yorktown Heights, N.Y.) of Amherst who earns his first All-Sportsmanship honor.

Three men’s golfers have earned a spot on the All-Sportsmanship Team for the second time. Trinity senior Nate Choukas (Hanover, N.H.), a three-time All-NESCAC selection, previously earned the honor in 2016. Middlebury senior Bennett Doherty (Bedford, N.H.), an All-NESCAC selection, was also on the team in 2016, while Tufts senior Aaron Corn (Brookline, Mass.) was tabbed in 2017. All-NESCAC honoree Sam Goldenring (Florham Park, N.J.), a Williams sophomore, makes his first appearance on the All-Sportsmanship Team for men’s golf.

Women’s Outdoor Track & Field boasts three All-NESCAC selections on the All-Sportsmanship Team. Colby senior Julia Rembetsy-Brown (Westminster, Mass.), Middlebury senior Kate McCluskey (Westford, Mass.), and Williams senior Kayley McGonagle (Natick, Mass.) all earned All-NESCAC accolades this season and are on the All-Sportsmanship Team for the first time. Colby senior Jimmy O’Donnell (Melrose, Mass.) also earned All-NESCAC honors and is on the Men’s Outdoor Track & Field All-Sportsmanship Team for the first time.

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the NESCAC Student Advisory Committee on Athletics’ (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators. The committee provides a voice to represent the concerns of all student-athletes and to discuss issues impacting student-athlete welfare. The NESCAC SAAC represents all students who participate in intercollegiate athletics and promotes and celebrates student-athletes’ achievements.