Amherst's Olson Nominated for Bob Cousy Award

Courtesy Amherst Sports Information

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Amherst College junior point guard Andrew Olson (San Diego, Calif.) is among 17 finalists for the prestigious Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford, an honor presented annually to the nation's top collegiate point guard. The winner will be announced at the NCAA Men's Final Four in Atlanta, Georgia April 2.

The Basketball Hall of Fame had originally scheduled 16 finalists for this year's award, but the strongest candidate pool ever resulted in the largest number of finalists in the award's history. Nominations for finalists were gathered throughout the season from Sports Information Directors, and ultimately screened by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Olson and David Arsenault of Grinnell College are the only finalists from Division III, with two finalists representing Division II schools and 13 representing Division I schools.

In 2001, Amherst senior Brian Daoust (Dover, Mass.) was awarded the Bob Cousy Award by the New England Basketball Coaches Association (NEBCA) just a few years before the Hall of Fame and The Hartford joined to make the award nation-wide.

In his three seasons at Amherst, Olson has amassed a career mark of 75-6, and currently sits in second place on Amherst's All-Time Assists list with 442. Last season Olson set a school single-season record with 179 assists, and at 150 through 21 games, will most likely improve on that mark again this season.

Previous winners of the award include Dee Brown (Illinois, 2006), Raymond Felton (UNC, 2005) and Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's, 2004).

The Blue Ribbon selection committee is comprised of basketball Hall of Famers, coaches from Divisions I, II and III, members of the media, college basketball experts and celebrities. Fans have a great deal to do with the outcome, as one vote will be represented by the top vote-getter in an online poll at

2007 Bob Cousy Award Finalists

Division I
Bobby Brown (Cal State Fullerton)
Darren Collison (UCLA)
Levance Fields (Pittsburgh)
Taurean Green (Florida)
Dominic James (Marquette)
Jared Jordan (Marist)
Acie Law (Texas A&M)
Ty Lawson (North Carolina)
Russell Robinson (Kansas)
Ramon Sessions (Nevada)
Sean Singletary (Virginia)
Mustafa Shakur (Arizona)
Ronald Steele (Alabama)

Division II
Anthony Atkinson (Barton College)
Zach Whiting (Chaminade University)

Division III
Andrew Olson (Amherst College)
David Arseneault (Grinnell College)