NESCAC Football All-Conference Teams Released

Williams’ Reardon and Amherst’s McGee Named Players of Year

HARTFORD, Conn. – Defensive Player of the Year Pat McGee of Amherst and Offensive Player of the Year Joe Reardon of Williams head the 2001 New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) All-Conference Football Team. Richard Farley of Williams was named NESCAC Coach of the Year for leading his team to an undefeated season. Running back Aaron Stepka of Colby and defensive back Peter Simon of Hamilton were named the NESCAC Offensive and Defensive Rookie of the Year, respectively.

McGee, a senior defensive lineman, earned first-team all-conference honors for the second consecutive year. He led the Jeffs defense that led Division III in scoring defense, limiting opponents to 6.1 points per game. McGee finished the season with 52 tackles, 17 tackles for loss, nine and one-half sacks, and five pass break-ups.

Reardon, a sophomore quarterback, led the conference and was among the national leaders in quarterback efficiency rating (145.5). He also led the conference in completions (146), touchdowns (13), and completion percentage (66.1 percent).

Four players in addition to McGee were repeat first-team selections on defense. Junior defensive back Steven Cella of Trinity was named to the first team for the third consecutive year. Senior defensive lineman Daryl Tracy of Middlebury, and senior linebackers Dan Lalli of Amherst and James Kingsley of Williams each received first-team recognition for the second consecutive year. Senior wide receiver Danny Noyes of Colby was the only repeat first-team honoree on offense.

Junior Scott Farley of Williams was named to the first team as a defensive back and place-kicker. He also earned second-team honors on special teams. Four other Amherst players joined McGee and Lalli as first-team all-conference defensive selections. Senior lineman Brad Hensley, senior linebacker Brian Landolfi, senior defensive back Jay Hutchins, and junior punter Geoff Bough all received first-team honors.

Rounding out the defensive first team were sophomore defensive lineman Caleb Hudak of Tufts, junior defensive lineman Robert Sherwood of Williams, junior linebacker Mike Moran of Colby, and senior defensive back Derrick Brantley of Wesleyan.

Junior running back Sean Atkins of Bates and senior wide receiver George Thompson of Wesleyan earned first-team honors this year after being named to the second team in 2000. Junior running back Keven Kelley of Tufts was named to the first team and sophomore teammate Mark Tilki was honored for his play on special teams. Middlebury junior wide receiver Denny Smith earned first-team accolades.

Two other players from NESCAC champion Williams joined Reardon and Farley as first-team offensive honorees. Senior tight end Sean Collins and senior lineman David Fontes received first-team recognition. Junior Andy Angoff of Middlebury was the only underclassmen to receive first-team honors on the offensive line. In addition to Fontes and Angoff, seniors Josh Ahearn of Amherst, Mike Willey of Tufts, and Brian Wezowicz of Colby were named first-team all-conference offensive linemen.



Pos First Team Offense School
QB Joe Reardon Williams So. Arlington, Va.
RB Keven Kelley Tufts Jr. Natick, Mass.
RB Sean Atkins Bates Jr. New York, N.Y.
WR Denny Smith Middlebury Jr. Weybridge, Vt.
WR Danny Noyes Colby Sr. Silver Lake, N.H.
WR George Thompson Wesleyan Sr. Virginia Beach, Va.
TE Sean Collins Williams Sr. West Hartford, Conn.
OL David Fontes Williams Sr. Scituate, Mass.
OL Josh Ahearn Amherst Sr. North Brookfield, Mass.
OL Mike Willey Tufts Sr. Sherborn, Mass.
OL Brian Wezowicz Colby Sr. Longmeadow, Mass.
OL Andy Angoff Middlebury Jr. Worcester, Mass.
PK Scott Farley Williams Jr. Williamstown, Mass.
Pos First Team Defense Team Yr. Hometown
DL Pat McGee Amherst Sr. Marshfield, Mass.
DL Daryl Tracy Middlebury Sr. Easton, Mass.
DL Brad Hensley Amherst Sr. Cincinnati, Ohio
DL Caleb Hudak Tufts So. White River Junction, V.
DL Robert Sherwood Williams Jr. Dallas, Pa.
LB James Kingsley Williams Sr. Madison, Conn.
LB Dan Lalli Amherst Sr. Watertown, Mass.
LB Brian Landolfi Amherst Sr. Hanover, Mass.
LB Mike Moran Colby Jr. Bedford, N.H.
DB Scott Farley Williams Jr. Williamstown, Mass.
DB Steven Cella Trinity Sr. Peabody, Mass.
DB Derrick Brantley Wesleyan Sr. Barrington, R.I.
DB Jay Hutchins Amherst Sr. Columbus, Ohio
P Geoff Bough Amherst Jr. Los Altos, Calif.
Pos First Team Specialists Team Yr. Hometown
  Mark Tilki
Tufts So. Derby, Conn.
Pos Second Team Offense Team Yr. Hometown
QB Brennan Carney Wesleyan So. South Burlington, Vt.
QB Greg Ward Trinity Jr. Avon, Conn.
RB Fletcher Ladd Amherst So. Amherst, N.H.
RB Christopher Weeden Hamilton Sr. Ilion, N.Y.
WR Colin Brooks Williams Sr. Delray Beach, Fla.
WR Derrell Wright Amherst Sr. Hudson, Ohio
Ryan Friend Williams Jr. Bedford, Mass.
TE Matt Flavin Amherst Sr. Littleton, Colo.
OL Rob Vernicek Amherst Jr. Mountville, N.Y.
OL Adam Collette Tufts Jr. Westminster, Mass.
OL Mike Mullholland Bowdoin Sr. Hillsdale, N.J.
OL Ed Witchey Hamilton Sr. Somers Point, N.J.
OL Jared Carillo Trinity So. Windsor, Conn.
PK Mike Frissora Middlebury Jr. Sudbury, Mass.
Pos Second Team Defense Team Yr. Hometown
DL Lewis Boyd Hamilton Sr. Kingston, N.Y.
DL William Gilyard Williams Sr. Bronx, N.Y.
DL Michael DiStefano Colby Jr. Lexington,Mass.
DL Kurt Chapman Bates So. Brunswick, Maine
DL Leroy Gaines Bowdoin Sr. Holyoke, Mass.
DL David Rooney Trinity Jr. Spring Lake, N.J.
LB Scott Mittenthal Tufts Sr. Atlanta, Ga.
LB David Ewart Williams Sr. Springfield, Ill.
LB Ryan Nolan Hamilton Sr. Stoneham, Mass.
LB Gregg Stankewicz Amherst Sr. Portland, Conn.
LB Dion Mueller Wesleyan Sr. Aurora, Colo.
DB Johnny Kelly Williams Jr. Bronxville, N.Y.
DB Ben Sands Williams Sr. Cleveland Heights, Ohio
DB Patrick Fahey Colby Sr. Bannockburn, Ill.
DB Craig Schuette Middlebury Jr. Derby, Conn.
DB Evan Zupancic Tufts Jr. Lake Oswego, Ore.
P Denny Smith Middlebury Jr. Weybridge, Vt.
Pos Second Team Specialists  
Team Yr. Hometown
  Scott Farley
Williams Jr. Williamstown, Mass.
  Offensive Player of the Year    
QB Joe Reardon Williams So. Arlington, Va.
  Offensive Rookie of the Year    
RB Aaron Stepka
Colby Fr. Farmington, Conn.
  Defensive Player of the Year    
DL Pat McGee
Amherst Sr. Marshfield, Mass.
  Defensive Rookie of the Year    
DB Peter Simon
Hamilton Fr. Miami, Fla.
  Coach of the Year      
  Richard Farley