2005 NESCAC Field Hockey Championship
First Round
Sunday, Oct. 30 Saturday, Nov. 5 Sunday, Nov. 6
at No. 2 MID 3, No. 7 BAT 0 at No. 1 BOW 2, No. 4 WES 0 at No. 1 BOW 1, No. 3 WIL 0 - 2OT
at No. 3 WIL 5, No. 6 CONN 3 No. 3 WIL 1, vs. No. 2 MID 0 - OT BOW wins on Penalty Strokes, 4-2 
at No. 4 WES 1, No. 5 TUF 0    
Championship Seeding
Championship Preview  Championship Records 

Bowdoin Earns 2005 Field Hockey Championship on Penalty Strokes

Courtesy Bowdoin Sports Information

Box Score

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The Bowdoin College field hockey team won their second NESCAC Championship in grand style, defeating Williams in penalty strokes after 100 minutes of scoreless play, 1-0. With the victory, Bowdoin earns the NESCAC's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament that begins next week. Pairings will be announced on Sunday evening. The Polar Bears, ranked fourth in the national poll, are the only unbeaten team in Division III and improve to 16-0 on the year. Williams will hope for an at-large bid after dropping to 13-4 on the season, including two penalty-stroke losses to Bowdoin.

In an incredibly evenly-matched contest, Bowdoin?s best chance in the first half came off a crossing pass from Christi Gannon mid-way through the frame. The ball was tipped by Burgess LePage, but skipped just wide of the goal, keeping the contest tied. Another great chance on a corner for Bowdoin resulted in a defensive save by Emily Grannon with 13 minutes left. The Ephs responded with a flurry of chances with nine minutes left in the frame. Kate Leonard made several clutch saves in the closing minutes to keep the game scoreless. The Polar Bears closed the half with several strong chances, including a corner with no time remaining, but Emily Wasserman swept aside all attempts and the game remained scoreless heading into intermission.

The teams traded opportunities to begin the second half, with Bowdoin coming close to scoring in transition with 23 minutes left. A loose ball in front rebounded off the leg of Wasserman to the stick of Hillary Hoffman, whose attempt sailed wide. With 12 minutes remaining, a Williams rush resulted in a close chance for Meaghan McGowan. McGowan's slap shot from five yards out was kick-saved by Leonard. The Ephs garnered a trio of penalty corners with under five minutes left, but Margaret Gormley and the Bowdoin defenders were able to parry every opportunity for the Ephs. With under a minute to play, Lindsay McNamara had a solid chance from the middle of the circle for Bowdoin, but a great stop by Wasserman kept the game scoreless and, following a Polar Bear corner went unrewarded with no time remaining, the contest went to overtime.

Bowdoin had a stellar chance to score just one minute into the overtime, with the ball slipping past Wasserman in the circle. Charlotte VanWagenen tapped the ball wide with a defensive save to keep Williams alive. McNamara came loose and had another solid chance with 7:30 left in the extra session, but Wasserman made a diving kick save. Minutes later, McGowan had a one-on-one chance on Leonard, but a diving stop by the Polar Bear goalkeeper secured the deadlock and sent the game to the second overtime.

Williams had the better of the chances to start the second extra session, but Leonard made a handful of solid stops to keep the game tied. Bowdoin answerd with a solid chance from Christi Gannon in the circle off a feed into the zone, but Wasserman kicked the ball wide for the save. After Bowdoin could not convert on three penalty corners late in the period, the game moved to strokes.

Tied at two apiece after Williams' McGowan and Cary Bearn and Bowdoin's Julia King and Kristen Veiga all made their attempts, both teams missed in the third round. In the fourth round, a save by Leonard off an attempt by Cathleen Clark set the stage for Polar Bear Madeleine McQueeney, who buried a shot to the lower left corner to give Bowdoin a 3-2 lead in strokes. Leonard made a diving stop on Jaye Gregory's final attempt for Williams, clinching the victory for the Polar Bears. Despite the penalty stroke outcome, both goaltenders proved to be outstanding with Wasserman making 12 saves for Williams and Leonard stopping 14 for Bowdoin.

The NESCAC Championship is the second for Bowdoin, who also won the first-ever NESCAC Tournament in 2000 over Williams. As a school, the Polar Bears have now won 11 NESCAC crowns since the establishment of conference tournaments in the 2000-01 school year. This will be the fourth appearance by the Polar Bears in the NCAA Tournament, as the team qualified in 1997, 1999 and 2000.

First Round - Sunday, Oct. 30 at Higher Seeds

at No. 2 Middlebury 3, No. 7 Bates 0
at No. 3 Williams 5, No. 6 Connecticut College 3
at No. 4 Wesleyan 1, No. 5 Tufts 0

Semifinals - Saturday, Nov. 5 at Bowdoin
at No. 1 Bowdoin 2, No. 4 Wesleyan 0
No. 3 Williams 1, vs. No. 2 Middlebury 0 - OT

Championship - Sunday, Nov. 6 at Bowdoin
at No. 1 Bowdoin 1, No. 3 Williams 0 - 2OT