2004 Golf All-Conference Teams Announced

Williams' Ryder Claims Player of the Year

HARTFORD, Conn. – Nick Ryder of Williams College earned medalist and Conference Player of the Year honors after shooting a 74 on Sunday to lead the Ephs to the NESCAC title at the 2004 Golf Championship. Ryder, who as the top freshman finisher also garnered NESCAC Rookie of the Year accolades, posted a 154 over the two-day tournament held at Middlebury’s Ralph Myhre Golf Course.

The Hamilton duo of Zach Yeager and Chris Pike, the 2003 Rookie of the Year, tied for second place with Amherst’s Sean Jules a shot behind Ryder posting a two-day total of 155. Middlebury sophomore Mitch St. Peter finished the championship with a two-day score of 156 to claim first-team honors.

Rick Pohle of Williams was named NESCAC Coach of the Year by his peers after rallying the Ephs from 11 stokes back to edge defending champion Hamilton by a stroke.

The four players tied in sixth place, with a two-day total of 157, and the 10th place finisher who posted a 158 were named to the all-conference second team.


2004 NESCAC All-Conference Golf Teams

First Team
Nick Ryder Williams Fr. Rosemont, Pa.
Sean Jules Amherst So. Chicago, Ill.
Zach Yeager Hamilton Fr. Mertztown, Pa.
Chris Pike Hamilton So. Keene, N.H.
Mitch St. Peter Middlebury Jr. San Francisco, Calif.
Second Team
Justin Sharaf Amherst Sr. Danvers, Mass.
Joe Pierce Bowdoin Sr. Hinsdale, Ill.
Matt Linde Tufts So. Chappaqua, N.Y.
Jeff Lin Williams Fr. Fremont, Calif.
Jay Yonamine Middlebury So. Eden Prairie, Minn.
NESCAC Player of the Year
Nick Ryder Williams Fr. Rosemont, Pa.
NESCAC Rookie of the Year
Nick Ryder Williams Fr. Rosemont, Pa.
NESCAC Coach of the Year
Rich Pohle Williams