2003 Men's Basketball All-Conference Teams Announced

Amherst's Zieja Named Player of the Year

HARTFORD, Conn. - Senior forward Steve Zieja was named 2002-03 NESCAC Men’s Basketball Player of the Year in a vote by the conference coaches. Zieja, a repeat first-team selection, averaged 17.6 points and 6.2 rebounds a game while converting on 51.5% of his field goals and 81.9% of his free throw attempts. Zieja, who is Amherst’s all-time leading scorer (1,650 career points), is one of ten national finalists for the Jostens Trophy, awarded annually to the outstanding men’s and women’s basketball players in NCAA Division III. The senior is also a two-time Verizon Academic All-District honoree.

NESCAC champion Williams placed two members on the all-conference first team. Mike Crotty, NESCAC Co-Rookie of the Year in 2000-01, and junior forward Ben Coffin led the third-ranked Ephs to a 26-1 mark and their first NESCAC Tournament title. Crotty, a junior guard, has averaged 12.3 points and is currently ranked third nationally with 7.3 assists per game. Coffin leads Williams in scoring and rebounds with 12.9 points and 9.3 boards per game while shooting 52.1% from the floor.

Kanem Johnson of Wesleyan University earned first-team honors after leading the NESCAC in scoring averaging 20.8 points per game. The junior forward pulled down 7.0 rebounds a game while hitting 56.9 % of his attempts from the field.

Tufts senior Mike McGlynn was named to the first team after earning second-team honors last season. McGlynn averaged 17.0 points per game from his guard spot while shooting 78.9% from the foul line and hitting a league-best 68 three-pointers on the year.

Amherst’s Adam Harper was named NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year. The junior guard leads the conference and is currently ranked fourth in the nation in steals averaging 3.73 per game. Harper was also honored as a second-team all-conference selection.

Tyler Rhoten of Trinity was honored as the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. The freshman forward was second in the conference in scoring (19.6 ppg), sixth in rebounding (8.1 rpg), third in field goal percentage (54.8%) and led the league at the free throw line hitting 83.6% of his attempts.

After leading his team to the NESCAC title, Williams head coach Dave Paulsen was named NESCAC Coach of the Year by his peers. Paulsen has guided the Ephs to a 26-1 overall mark this season, 8-1 in conference, and is 69-14 in three seasons at Williams.

2002-03 NESCAC Men's Basketball All-Conference

  First Team School  Yr.  Hometown 
F Ben Coffin Williams Jr. Westford, Mass.
G Michael Crotty Williams Jr. Belmont, Mass.
F Kanem Johnson Wesleyan Jr. New Haven, Conn.
Mike McGlynn
Tufts Sr. Medford, Mass.
F Steve Zieja Amherst Sr. Hadley, Mass.
  Second Team      
F Nate Anderson
Middlebury Jr. Hinesburg, Vt.
C Craig Coupe
Tufts So. Niskayuna, N.Y.
C Pat Fitzsimons
Amherst Sr. Durham, N.C.
G Adam Harper
Amherst Jr. Washington, D.C.
F C.J. Neely
Bates Sr. North Easton, Mass.
  Player of the Year      
Steve Zieja
Amherst Sr. Hadley, Mass.
  Defensive Player of the Year  
G Adam Harper Amherst Jr. Washington, D.C.
  Rookie of the Year      
F Tyler Rhoten
Fr. Ridgewood, N.J.
  Coach of the Year      
  Dave Paulsen