Men's Basketball All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Men's Basketball All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Amherst's Toomey Repeats as Player of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. – Senior guard Aaron Toomey (Greensboro, N.C.) of Amherst has been chosen by the conference coaches as the NESCAC Player of the Year for the second consecutive year. Toomey helped Amherst to its unprecedented third straight NESCAC Championship as the 24-3 Jeffs earned a bye in the first round of the NCAA Tournament and will host a Second Round game on Saturday, March 8. He is the fourth Amherst player to be selected as Player of the Year and the second player in league history to earn back-to-back honors joining Amherst’s Andrew Olson, who accomplished the feat in 2007 and 2008. 

Toomey makes his third consecutive First Team appearance after being named Rookie of the Year in 2011. He ranks second in the league with 20.5 points per game, while leading the conference with 6.4 assists per contest. Toomey also paces the conference with a .899 free throw percentage and 3.11 three-point field goals per game, and ranks second with 2.0 steals per game. He is also averaging 5.0 rebounds per game. During the NESCAC Championship, he scored 36 points in Amherst’s semifinal win over Trinity and recorded a triple-double on 12 points, 12 assists and 10 rebounds in the final against Williams.

Middlebury senior guard Joey Kizel (Short Hills, N.J.) picked up his third straight First Team honor as well. Averaging 16.6 points and 5.0 rebounds per game, Kizel led the Panthers to the NESCAC semifinal round. His 5.61 assists per game are good for second in the NESCAC, while his 1.81 steals per game are fourth.

Williams senior center Michael Mayer (Durham, N.C.) earned back-to-back First Team All-NESCAC recognition, as he helped lead the Ephs to their second straight NCAA Tournament appearance. Mayer leads all NESCAC post players with 17.9 points per game, while his 8.0 rebounds per game and 53.8 field goal percentage are good for sixth and ninth, respectively.

Hamilton sophomore guard Matt Hart (Orchard Park, N.Y.) lands on the First Team for the first time in his career. Hart sits atop the NESCAC scoring list, averaging 20.6 points per contest. On the season, Hart shot 41.2 percent from three-point range and 83.5 percent from the free throw line, which ranks sixth among conference players.

Rounding out the First Team is Bowdoin’s John Swords (Sudbury, Mass.), who also garnered Defensive Player of the Year honors. The junior center paces the Polar Bears in scoring with 14.1 points per game and rebounding with 9.5 boards per contest, which is good for second in the conference. He also led the league in field goal percentage, shooting a red-hot 68.7 percent on the season. Swords provides a defensive presence in the lane for NCAA-bound Bowdoin, as he ranks second in the NESCAC with 2.50 blocks per game. He is the first Polar Bear to be named Defensive Player of the Year. 

Williams forward Duncan Robinson (New Castle, N.H.) was named the Conference’s Rookie of the Year. An instant scoring threat for the Ephs, Robinson averages 16.7 points, 6.5 rebounds and 1.2 steals per game. He shot 55.1 percent from the floor, 47.0 percent from three-point range and 88.9 percent from the free-throw line. Robinson is the second Eph to earn NESCAC Rookie of the Year honors, with Michael Crotty earning the award in 2001.

Amherst head coach David Hixon was named Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year and the fourth time in his career by his coaching peers. Hixon was also recognized in 2001, 2005 and 2013. In his 37th season with the Jeffs, Hixon’s squad became the first team in league history to win three straight NESCAC championships.

Men's Basketball All-Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
G Matt Hart Hamilton So. Orchard Park, N.Y.
G Joey Kizel Middlebury Sr. Short Hills, N.J. 
C Michael Mayer Williams Sr. Durham, N.C.
C John Swords Bowdoin Jr. Sudbury, Mass.
G Aaron Toomey Amherst Sr.  Greensboro, N.C.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
C Chris Hudnut Colby So. Chevy Chase, Md.
F Tom Killian Amherst Sr. Summit, N.J.
G Andrew Madlinger Bowdoin Sr. Basking Ridge, N.J.
F Duncan Robinson Williams Fy. New Castle, N.H.
G/F Matt Vadas Connecticut College Sr. Spring Lake Heights, N.J.
Aaron Toomey
Player of the Year
Aaron Toomey, Amherst
John Swords
Defensive Player of the Year
John Swords, Bowdoin
Duncan Robinson
Rookie of the Year
Duncan Robinson, Williams

Coach of the Year
David Hixon, Amherst