Men's Basketball All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Men's Basketball All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Bowdoin's Hausman Named Player of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. – Bowdoin guard Lucas Hausman (Westport, Conn.) has been chosen by the conference coaches as the 2015 NESCAC Player of the Year. The junior helped the Polar Bears earn the No. 2 seed in the NESCAC Championship, which was the highest seed in program history, en route to becoming the first Bowdoin men’s basketball player to earn the accolade.

Hausman paces the league in scoring with 20.7 points, but saw his production rise against conference foes as he averaged 24.7 points during the regular season. He ranks fourth in the conference in free-throw percentage (87.8) and tenth in field goal percentage (49.9). The first-time all-conference honoree was at his best at the end of the season, pouring in 30 or more points in four of Bowdoin’s last nine games. Hausman tied the program’s 61-year old single-game scoring mark when he scored 44 points against Bates on February 13, and fell two points shy of tying the NESCAC Championship single-game scoring record when he tallied 37 points versus Williams in the quarterfinal round. 

In addition to Hausman, the remainder of the First Team is comprised of first-time All-NESCAC selections.

Bates senior Graham Safford (Hampden, Maine) helped guide the Bobcats to their first-ever appearance in the NCAA Tournament after earning the third seed in the NESCAC Championship. The guard’s 1.78 steals and 6.30 assists per game are good for first and second, respectively, in the NESCAC, while his 15.2 points per game are sixth. Safford also ranks ninth with a 79.2 free-throw percentage.

Williams senior guard Daniel Wohl (La Canada, Calif.) sits in second in scoring among all conference players at 19.7 points per game and fourth in rebounding at 8.6 boards per game. In addition to scoring 20 or more points in 13 games this season, he also paced the Ephs in minutes (807), steals (23) and blocks (19).

Junior guard Connor Green (Bedford, N.H.) of Amherst leads the Jeffs in scoring with 16.5 points per game, which ranks fifth in the league. The three-point sniper paced the conference with 76 treys to go along with 6.4 rebounds per contest, as he helped Amherst earn an at-large bid into the NCAA Tournament for its fifth consecutive appearance. 

Rounding out the First Team is Trinity’s Jaquann Starks (Hartford, Conn.). The junior guard leads the NCAA Tournament-bound Bantams with 13.5 points per game, which ranks tenth in the NESCAC. Starks also ranks second with an 88.7 free-throw percentage and fourth with a 42.7 three-point field goal percentage.

Senior John Swords (Sudbury, Mass.) of Bowdoin repeated as the Defensive Player of the Year. The center’s presence in the paint helped the Polar Bears hold opponents to 64.2 points per game and a conference-low 38.3 percent shooting this season. Swords finished the season second among all NESCAC players with 254 rebounds and tied for second with 55 blocks. He is the third player in league history to be a repeat winner along with Amherst’s Adam Harper (2003-04) and Middlebury’s Tim Edwards (2009-10). 

Amherst guard Johnny McCarthy (Medfield, Mass.) was selected as the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. McCarthy immediately contributed on both ends of the court for the Jeffs this season, averaging 10.7 points, 6.7 rebounds and 2.4 assists per game. He also leads the league with 48 steals. McCarthy is the third Jeff to receive the award joining Andrew Olson and Aaron Toomey, who earned the award in 2005 and 2011, respectively.

Trinity head coach James Cosgrove was named Coach of the Year by his coaching peers for the first time in his career. In his fifth season at the helm, Cosgrove guided the Bantams to the top seed in the NESCAC Championship for the first time since 2002 with a 9-1 conference record and their first 20-win season since 2008. Trinity earned an at-large bid into the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2008 and the eighth time overall.

Men's Basketball All-Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
G Connor Green Amherst Jr. Bedford, N.H.
G Lucas Hausman Bowdoin Jr. Westport, Conn. 
G Graham Safford Bates Sr. Hampden, Maine
G Jaquann Starks Trinity Jr. Hartford, Conn.
G Daniel Wohl Williams Sr.  La Canada, Calif.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
G Joseph Lin Hamilton Sr. Palo Alto, Calif.
F Tom Palleschi Tufts So. Haverhill, Mass.
G Hayden Rooke-Ley Williams Sr. Eugene, Ore.
F Dylan Sinnickson Middlebury Sr. Sands Point, N.Y.
C John Swords Bowdoin Sr. Sudbury, Mass.
Lucas Hausman
Player of the Year
Lucas Hausman, Bowdoin
John Swords
Defensive Player of the Year
John Swords, Bowdoin
Johnny McCarthy
Rookie of the Year
Johnny McCarthy, Amherst

James Cosgrove
Coach of the Year
James Cosgrove, Trinity