NESCAC Men's Golf All-Conference Teams Announced

NESCAC Men's Golf All-Conference Teams Announced

Giudotti Earns Player and Rookie of the Year Honors

HADLEY, Mass. – Middlebury first-year Scott Guidotti (Orinda, Calif.) was named the NESCAC Player of the Year following the NESCAC Men’s Golf Championship Qualifier hosted by Williams this past weekend. The annual honor is given to the individual who finishes first at the championship qualifier. Guidotti was also selected as the NESCAC Rookie of the Year by virtue of being the highest placing rookie.

Placement on the NESCAC Men's Golf All-Conference Teams is based on individual performance at the qualifier. Eight players were honored on each of the First and Second Teams.

  • Scott Guidotti posted rounds of 74 and 72 for a 36-hole total of 146, which was five strokes ahead of teammate and runner-up Reid Buzby. Guidotti is the third golfer in conference history to be named NESCAC Player and Rookie of the Year, joining Trinity’s Reid Longley (2006) and Williams’ Nick Ryder (2004). Guidotti is the fourth Middlebury golfer to be named Player and Rookie of the Year. Previous Panther winners of Player of the Year were David Greiner (2000), Brian Cady (2010) and John Louie (2014). Former Middlebury golfers named Rookie of the Year include Harrison Bane (2005), Andrew Emerson (2009) and Rob Donahoe (2010).
  • Middlebury and Trinity landed four players each on the All-NESCAC First and Second Teams. Amherst, Hamilton and Williams had two all-conference players apiece.
  • The seven first-year players on the all-conference teams is the most since 2007 when seven rookies were also recognized.
  • Jack Burlison, Brad Rutkin and Joe Tigani tied for third after turning in matching two-day scores of 152. 
  • Rutkin is the first Bates player to receive First Team All-NESCAC recognition since 2008 when Lee Smith was also named NESCAC Rookie of the Year.
  • Jeff Durkin, Philippe Morin and Will Rosenfield carded identical two-round scores of 153 to finish tied for sixth place.
  • Owen Elliott and Bayard Geeslin recorded 36-hole scores of 154 and 155, respectively, to place ninth and tenth.
  • Rodrigo Andrade, Nate Choukas and Ross Hoffman posted matching scores of 157 to end the weekend tied for 11th place.
  • Taylor Kay-Green, Dan Langa and Tyler Tsay tied for 14th place after turning in two-round scores of 158.
  • Bill Beaney of Middlebury was selected as the NESCAC Coach of the Year by his peers for the third straight season. He also received the award in 2007. He has guided the Panthers to seven NESCAC titles (1999, 2006, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014 and 2015) and seven NCAA Championship appearances.    
First Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Jack Burlison Amherst Fy. Salinas, Calif.
Reid Buzby Middlebury Fy. San Francisco, Calif.
Jeff Durkin Trinity Sr. Scituate, Mass.
Scott Guidotti Middlebury Fy. Orinda, Calif.
Philippe Morin Middlebury Fy. Canton, Conn.
Will Rosenfield Trinity Fy. Baltimore, Md.
Brad Rutkin Bates Jr. Great Neck, N.Y.
Joe Tigani Hamilton So. Hockessin, Del.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Rodrigo Andrade Middlebury Jr. Guatemala City, Guatemala
Nate Choukas Trinity So. Hanover, N.H.
Owen Elliott Tufts Jr. New York, N.Y.
Bayard Geeslin Hamilton Sr. College Park, Ga.
Ross Hoffman Williams Jr. Great Neck, N.Y.
Taylor Kay-Green Trinity Fy. Needham, Mass.
Dan Langa Amherst So. Ann Arbor, Mich.
Tyler Tsay Williams Fy. Los Angeles, Calif.
Scott Guidotti
NESCAC Player of the Year
NESCAC Rookie of the Year
Scott Guidotti, Middlebury

Bill Beaney
NESCAC Coach of the Year
Bill Beaney, Middlebury


Greg Palmer
 Rick Pohle, Williams