2001 NESCAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams Announced

Wesleyan's Landay Named Player of the Year

HARTFORD, Conn. – Senior attack John Landay of Wesleyan University was named the 2001 NESCAC Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year. Landay became the first player in school history to record 100 points in a single season, became the school's all-time leading scorer, and ranked among the top players in the nation in points all season.

Landay was one of five players to earn repeat first-team all-conference honors. Senior attacks Alex Ellis of NESCAC tournament runner-up Bowdoin and Holt Hopkins of NESCAC champion Middlebury were repeat first-team honorees. Ellis led the Polar Bears with 29 regular season goals and 17 assists. Hopkins scored 30 goals and added 17 assists to help the Panthers earn the top seed for the conference tournament. Senior midfielders Tim Boyd of Connecticut College and Mark Tassie of Trinity also received repeat first-team recognition. Boyd, a three-time first-team honoree, scored 17 regular season goals and led the team in ground balls. Tassie started all four years for the Bantams and led the team in scoring this season.

Senior defender Brian Nickel and junior midfielder Matt Dunn also received first-team honors for Middlebury, which earned its fourth consecutive trip to the national tournament and fifth in six years. Nickel anchored the Panther defense while Dunn scored 26 goals in 11 games.

Junior defender Brian Matthews and sophomore long-stick midfielder Jamie Nichols were also named to the first team for Bowdoin. Matthews matched up against opponents' top attackmen all season. Nichols earned first-team recognition after being named the 2000 NESCAC Rookie of the Year.

Senior goalkeeper Corey Simonson of Amherst and sophomore defender Clancy Galgay of Connecticut received first-team accolades. Simonson was among the conference leaders in goals against average and save percentage all year. Galgay was the Camels' top defender, being assigned to shut down opponents' top attackmen, and finished second on the team in ground balls and takeaways.

Freshman defender Tony Alexandre of Trinity was named the 2001 NESCAC Rookie of the Year after starting every game and usually being assigned to the opponent's top attackman. Wesleyan Head Coach John Raba was named the 2001 NESCAC Coach of the Year after leading the Cardinals to an 8-0 record in regular season conference play.

2001 NESCAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Team

  First Team Institution Yr.   
A Alex Ellis
Bowdoin Sr. Brookline, Mass.
A Holt Hopkins
Middlebury Sr. Baltimore, Md.
A John Landy
Wesleyan Sr. Baltimore, Md.
M Tim Boyd
Connecticut College
Sr. New Canaan, Conn.
M Matt Dunn
Middlebury Jr. Kent, Conn.
M Mark Tassie
Trinity Sr. Hopewell, N.J.
Jamie Nichols
Bowdoin So. Skaneateles, N.Y.
D Clancy Galgay
Connecticut College
So. Concord, Mass.
D Brian Matthews
Jr. Dallas, Texas
D Brian Nickel
Middlebury Sr. Sharon, Mass.
GK Corey Simonson
Amherst Sr. Brookline, Mass.
  Second Team Institution         
Yr. Hometown 
A Graham Davidson
Williams Sr. Needham, Mass.
A Dave Seeley
Jr. Wayland, Mass.
A Rob Travieso
Connecticut College  
Sr. Baltimore, Md.
M Jamie Haire
Middlebury Sr. Summit, N.J.
M Patrick Reid
Wesleyan Sr. Gladstone, N.J.
M Wendell Simonson
Bowdoin Sr. Brookline, Mass.
LSM Chris Mele
Wesleyan Fr. Stony Brook, N.Y.
D Chris Buckley
Sr. Washington, D.C.
D James Moorhead
Williams Sr. Greenwich, Conn.
D Chris Sullivan
Connecticut College
Jr. Winchester, Mass.
GK Lukas Cash
Wesleyan Sr. North Attleboro, Mass.

Player of the Year  

A John Landay
Wesleyan Sr. Baltimore, Md.

  Rookie of the Year 
Tony Alexandre
Trinity Fr. Bernardsville, N.J.
  Coach of the Year      
  John Raba