NESCAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams Announced

Tufts' Griffin Repeats as Player of the Year

HARTFORD, Conn. - Tufts University junior Bryan Griffin was selected by the conference coaches as the NESCAC Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. Griffin, named conference Rookie of the Year in 2002, has led the NESCAC in scoring each of the past two seasons. This year Griffin matched his total of 41 goals from a year ago and added 35 assists to lead the conference with 76 points.

Seven of this year’s first team selections are repeat choices from a season ago. Middlebury junior Mike Saraceni led the conference in assists averaging 2.33 per contest for the league’s top ranked offense. Panther seniors John West and Eric Krieger anchored the conference’s top defense. Krieger led the league in goals against average yielding just 6.5 scores per contest while West orchestrated the Middlebury defense in front of him. All three are two-time all-conference honorees.

A pair of Amherst midfielders makes their second appearance on the first team. Senior Mike Allison contributed 23 goals while long stick midfielder sophomore Andrew Wilcox led Amherst in ground balls. Freshman attacker Derek Cherney led the Lord Jeffs with 43 points on the season. Cherney, a first team selection, was named NESCAC Rookie of the Year after leading his squad with 28 scores on the season. Amherst junior defender Greg Donohue was also selected to the first team after earning second team honors a year ago.

Wesleyan senior defender Jeff Jorve earned first team honors for the second consecutive season while teammate Glenn Adams was selected for the first time. Adams, named NESCAC Rookie of the Year last season, led Wesleyan with 25 assists while finding the net 26 times from his midfield position.

Tufts’ Devin Clarke and Bates sophomore Averill Cook round out the first team selections. Clarke, a junior midfielder, scored 28 goals and teamed with Griffin to provide a powerful scoring attack. Tufts head coach Mike Daly was named NESCAC Coach of the Year by his peers. Daly led the Jumbos to a school record 13 wins, a top 10 ranking nationally and an 8-1 mark in conference play.

NESCAC all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches. Additional players honored are due to ties in the voting.

2004 NESCAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Team

  First Team School Yr.   
A Derek Cherney Amherst Fr. Chappaqua, N.Y.
A Bryan Griffin Tufts Jr. West Islip, N.Y.
A Mike Saraceni Middlebury    
Sr. N. Syracuse, N.Y.
M Glenn Adams Wesleyan So. Norwalk, Conn.
M Mike Allison Amherst Sr. W. Nyack, N.Y.
M Devin Clarke Tufts Jr. Ridgewood, N.J.
Andrew Wilcox Amherst So. Ancramdale, N.Y.
D Averill Cook Bates So. Williamstown, Mass.
D Greg Donohue Amherst Jr. Bow, N.H.
D Jeff Jorve Wesleyan Sr. Bothell, Wash.
D John West Middlebury Sr. New Canaan, Conn.
GK Eric Krieger Middlebury Sr. Princeton, N.J.
  Second Team School Yr. Hometown 
A Josh Cleaver Colby Sr. Kennett Square, Pa.
A Connor Fitzgerald Bowdoin So. Hingham, Mass.
A Charley Howe Middlebury Sr. Darien, Conn.
M Ian Applegate Wesleyan Sr. E. Setauket, N.Y.
M Greg Bastis Middlebury Sr. Old Greenwich, Conn.
M Mike O'Brien Tufts So. Concord, Mass.
LSM Chris Mele Wesleyan Sr. Bridgewater, N.J.
D Ed Brown Middlebury Jr. Baltimore, Md.
D Alexei Kudla Amherst Sr. Bethesda, Md.
D Dave Richman Tufts Sr. Baltimore, Md.
GK Cushing Donelan Amherst Jr. Noroton, Conn.
  Players of the Year 
A Bryan Griffin
Tufts Jr. West Islip, N.Y.
  Rookie of the Year 
A Derek Cherney Amherst Fr. Chappaqua, N.Y.
  Coach of the Year      
  Mike Daly