Men's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Released

Men's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Released

Hamilton's Leanos Takes Top Honors

HADLEY, Mass. – Senior attacker Jon Leanos (Long Valley, N.J.) of Hamilton has been chosen by conference coaches as the NESCAC Player of the Year. The Continentals' top scorer in 2012, Leanos amassed 50 points while starting all 15 of his team's matches.

A unanimous choice by the coaches for All-NESCAC First Team honors, the second-year captain led his squad through a transition period this spring, as Hamilton competed as a member of the conference for the first time. The offensive engine for the Continentals, Leanos was responsible for nearly a quarter of his team's scoring, tallying 29 goals and assisting on 21 others to rank fourth among conference players in overall points. Leanos was the difference-maker in both of Hamilton's overtime games this season, scoring the decisive goal against Williams and Utica for his only two game-winning goals of the year. A starter in each of his four seasons with the Continentals, Leanos completed his career with 179 points, good enough for fourth all-time at Hamilton.

The 2012 NESCAC All-Conference First Team was a diverse group, as seven of the league's 11 members were represented among the 12 individuals honored. Joining Leanos at attack were Trinity junior Rob Nogueras (Parkland, Fla.) and Tufts sophomore Beau Wood (Sherwood Forest, Md.). Nogueras currently paces the Bantams in scoring for the second-straight spring with 38 points, one better than the 37 he posted last season, on a personal-best 34 goals (4th NESCAC) and four assists. After appearing in only four games for the Jumbos last year, scoring a goal and assisting on another, Wood shot to the top of the stat sheet this season as he has collected a league-leading 44 goals along with 11 assists for a conference-high 55 points through all 16 games.

Earning a second-straight appointment to the All-NESCAC First Team was senior midfielder Kevin McCormick (Laytonsville, Md.). One of only two individuals on the First Team to return from last year, McCormick initiates and dictates the Jumbos' potent attack. A three-year starter, McCormick is fourth among his teammates in scoring and needs just four more points this year to tie his personal best of 51 from 2011. Also at midfield on the First Team was Bowdoin senior Mark Filbotte (Cohasset, Mass.) and Colby junior Ian Deveau (Portsmouth, R.I.). Filbotte enters this weekend's NESCAC championship action second among the Polar Bears in scoring with 37 points, scoring a team-high 29 goals. Deveau, the 2010 NESCAC Rookie of the Year and a Second Team honoree in 2011, had the top point totals for the Mules for the second year in a row, netting 25 goals and 18 assists. Three of his goals proved to be the game-winner during Colby's 9-5 season, while his five man-up goals put him among the league leaders.

Of the three defenders honored on the First Team, two received promotions from the 2011 Second Team. Moving up this year were seniors Matt Egan (Newton, Mass.) of Bowdoin and Kevin Helm (Norwell, Mass.) of Bates. Egan has caused a team-best 24 turnovers, scooped up 38 ground balls, and chipped in on a goal on the offensive end. Helm was a disruptive force in the back for the Bobcats this spring, leading his team with 19 caused turnovers and picking up 30 ground balls. He also scored his second career goal and netted his first two assists during the final year of his tenure with Bates. Egan and Helm were paired up with Tufts junior Matt Callahan (Acton, Mass.), as the Jumbos led all programs with four First Team selections. The defensive leader for the Jumbos, Callahan has 29 ground balls and nine caused turnovers through 16 games.

Middlebury sophomore Darric White (Fairfield, Conn.) garnered First Team recognition at long-stick midfield. Seeing action in 11 of the Panthers' outings, White contributed three goals, two assists, 36 ground balls, and 12 caused turnovers. At specialist was senior Nick Rhoads (McLean, Va.) of Tufts. Rhoads is first in the NESCAC in ground balls with 135, an average of 8.44 per game, and third in face-off percentage at .599 (212-354).

Trinity senior Peter Johnson (Riverside, Conn.) completes the All-NESCAC First Team with his second-straight selection at goalkeeper. The Bantams' everyday goalkeeper over the past three seasons, Johnson (10-5) holds a 7.90 goals against average and a .592 save percentage heading into the conference semifinals.

Tufts' Cole Bailey (Millersville, Md.) earned NESCAC Rookie of the Year. Bailey has enjoyed a breakout season with the Jumbos, ranking second only to Wood among his teammates with 54 points on 20 goals and a league-leading 34 assists. Also selected to the Second Team, Bailey has gathered 41 ground balls in 16 starts.

For the first time in his career, Bowdoin's Tom McCabe was selected by his peers as NESCAC Coach of the Year. In his 22nd and final season under the pines, the Polar Bears will look to give McCabe the ultimate retirement gift this weekend when they compete for the NESCAC title. McCabe's squads have qualified for the annual NESCAC championship every year it has been held, reaching the finals on two occasions (2001, 2008). McCabe enters the weekend with 227 career wins, a figure that ranks him 15th in Division III all-time.


2012 NESCAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Team

First Team Institution Yr. Hometown
A Jon Leanos Hamilton Sr. Long Valley, N.J.
A Rob Nogueras Trinity Jr. Parkland, Fla.
A Beau Wood Tufts So. Sherwood Forest, Md.
M Ian Deveau Colby Jr. Portsmouth, R.I.
M Mark Filbotte Bowdoin Sr. Cohasset, Mass.
M Kevin McCormick Tufts Sr. Laytonsville, Md.
LSM Darric White Middlebury So. Fairfield, Conn.
SP Nick Rhoads Tufts Sr. McLean, Va.
D Matt Egan Bowdoin Sr. Newton, Mass.
D Matt Callahan Tufts Jr. Acton, Mass.
D Kevin Helm Bates Sr. Norwell, Mass.
GK Peter Johnson Trinity Sr. Riverside, Conn.
  Second Team Institution     
Yr. Hometown 
A Cole Bailey Tufts Fr. Millersville, Md.
A John Jennings Colby Jr. Danvers, Mass.
A Evan Redwood Amherst Sr. Baltimore, Md.
M John Lyons Connecticut College Jr. Barrington, R.I.
M Jonathan McIvor Colby Sr. Sudbury, Mass.
M Luke Sadoff Hamilton Sr. Massapequa, N.Y.
M Nick Shaheen Trinity Jr. Williamsburg, Mass.
LSM Danny Gold Amherst Jr. Medfield, Mass.
LSM Brendan Hanley Wesleyan Jr. Rockville Centre, N.Y.
SP Mac Jackson Bates Fr. Hood River, Ore.
D Billy Chapman Middlebury Jr. Greenwich, Conn.
D Clay Hillyer Connecticut College Sr. South Windsor, Conn.
D Lex Johnson Wesleyan Jr. Skaneateles, N.Y.
GK Chris Williamson Bowdoin Jr. Chicago, Ill.
  Player of the Year      
A Jon Leanos
Hamilton Sr. Long Valley, N.J.
  Rookie of the Year    
A Cole Bailey
Tufts Fr. Millersville, Md.
  Coach of the Year      
  Tom McCabe