Ten NESCAC Players Named to USILA All-America Squads

Ten NESCAC Players Named to USILA All-America Squads

USILA Division III All-Americans

HADLEY, Mass. - A total of 10 individuals representing five NESCAC institutions have been honored as All-Americans by the U.S. Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA).

Of the 10 players, six players landed on the USILA All-America First Team. NESCAC Player of the Year attackman John Uppgren, senior midfielders Ben Andreycak and Jake Gillespie represented conference champion Tufts, while senior attacker Quinn Moroney and senior defender Ryan Cassidy represented Amherst and sophomore face-off midfielder Ben Parens represented Connecticut College.

For the third straight season, Uppgren led the country in points with a career-high 131 (73 goals, 58 assists). As a result, he was named a First Team All-American for the third consecutive season. Uppgren also shared the 2016 USILA/Nike Iroquois National Award as Most Outstanding Player in Division III with Preston Dabbs from Salisbury. Uppgren also received the Lt. Col. J.I. (Jack) Turnbull Award for Most Outstanding Attackman in Division III. He is Tufts' first Iroquois Award winner, and the third to earn the Turnbull honor along with Cole Bailey in 2014 and D.J. Hessler in 2011.

Andreycak was second on the team in scoring with 92 points on 45 goals and 47 assists, while Gillespie finished with 61 goals and 21 assists for 82 points. Both players were first-time All-America selections for the NCAA runner-up Jumbos. 

Moroney earned his third All-American nod, and second consecutive First Team All-American recognition that saw him lead Amherst in assists (67), points (101), ground balls (69), and finish third on the team in goals with 34. Moroney completed his four-year career with 267 assists – nine shy of the NCAA Division III record. Moroney also concluded his career with 228 ground balls and 109 goals.

Cassidy added a second consecutive spot on the USILA All-America First Team after leading the team and the NESCAC in caused turnovers (34) in 2016. He also picked up 52 ground balls as a senior and finished with 226 pickups during his career, in addition to causing 108 turnovers.

Parens made history as Connecticut College's inaugural First Team USILA All-America selection. He won 214-of-325 battles at the X to lead the conference with a .658 face-off winning percentage.  He also corralled 118 ground balls to rank fifth in the conference. 

Representing the NESCAC on the USILA All-America Second Team was Bates junior Charlie Fay. Fay is the only Bates player to receive All-America recognition above the Honorable Mention level twice in his career after being named to the Second Team last season. He scored a career-high 45 goals, in addition to six assists and 31 ground balls. He tied for third place in the NESCAC in goals per game (3.00) and ranked ninth in points per game (3.40).

On the Third Team were Amherst senior short-stick midfielder Connor Crump, Tufts senior face-off midfielder Conor Helfrich and Middlebury sophomore defender Eric Rogers

Crump, who was instrumental in Amherst's success this season, caused 14 turnovers which was fourth on the team, and added 34 ground balls. A key component in transition, Crump also fired in six goals and added an assist during his senior campaign. He concluded his career with 41 caused turnovers, 103 ground balls, 12 goals and eight assists.

Helfrich, a Third Team All-America selection in 2015 and an honorable mention pick in 2014, was outstanding during the NCAA Tournament winning 88 of 119 draws (.739) in five games. He finished the season with a .635 winning percentage, taking 387 of 609 face-offs.

Rogers was named to the All-America squad for the first time in his career after he racked up a team-best 15 caused turnovers to go along with 26 ground balls. He anchored a Panther defensive unit that allowed 10.38 goals per game.

Thirteen individuals garnered Honorable Mention recognition from the USILA. They were Rob Butko and Dylan Park of Amherst, Jack Allard and Fred Ulbrick of Bates, Peter Mumford of Bowdoin, Jon Broome and Tim Giarrusso of Middlebury, Garrett Clarke, Kyle Howard-JohnsonAlex Salazar and Blake Wood of Tufts, Harry Stanton of Wesleyan and Riley Hoffman of Williams.