Men's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Released

Men's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Released

HADLEY, Mass. – Bates senior attack Charlie Fay (Falmouth, Maine) has been named the 2017 NESCAC Player of the Year as voted on by the league’s coaches. He is an All-NESCAC First Team selection for the third straight year and ranks among the league leaders in points (71) and goals (56). He is the first Bobcat to be named Player of the Year. Fay helped Bates post an unbeaten record this season and garner the top seed for the NESCAC Championship. Bates is hosting the semifinal and final this weekend for the first time in program history.

Seven players repeated as All-NESCAC First Team honorees this season, while two players were repeat Second Team selections. Fourteen players collected all-conference recognition for the first time in their collegiate careers, as three players received First Team recognition for the first time and 11 were named to the Second Team.
Amherst paced all teams with five total all-conference selections, while Bates, Bowdoin, and Wesleyan received four All-NESCAC picks.

Wesleyan’s Harry Stanton, the 2015 Rookie of the Year, earns First Team honors for the second straight season. He leads the league in scoring (80 points) and goals (59). He has been a key contributor to the Cardinals’ run to a 15-1 record.

Williams senior Michael Fahey and Tufts sophomore Danny Murphy round out the First Team attack. Fahey, a Second Team honoree in 2016, led the Ephs and ranks third in the conference in scoring (74 points). He also netted 47 goals to rank fourth in the NESCAC and added a team-leading 27 assists. Murphy has recorded a team-high 78 points, which is second in the NESCAC, and leads the team in goals (46). Additionally, Murphy’s 32 helpers rank fourth in the league.

Senior Kyle Weber of Bates is a First Team midfielder for the first time in his career. He tied a 20-year old Bates record with nine goals in a victory over Amherst early in the season. Weber has registered career-highs in points (61) and goals (47) this year.

Juniors Taylor Ghesquiere of Wesleyan and Matthew Crowell of Bowdoin round out the midfielders on the First Team. Both players moved from last year’s Second Team to this year’s First Team. Ghesquiere is tied for third on among Wesleyan’s leading scorers with 37 points on 34 goals and three assists, helping the Cardinals earn the No. 2 seed in the championship. Crowell tallied 33 points and 29 goals for the Polar Bears, who garnered the No. 4 seed in the championship.

The All-NESCAC First Team defenders are all repeat honorees. Williams senior Riley Hoffman earns a spot on the First Team for the third straight year. He ranks third on the team with 46 ground balls and has registered 22 caused turnovers, while also scoring seven points for the Ephs. Junior Eric Rogers of Middlebury and senior Fred Ulbrick of Bates are a pair of repeat honorees to highlight the First Team defenders. Both players garnered First Team honors in 2016. Rogers has registered 27 ground balls and a team-high 14 caused turnovers for the Panthers, while Ulbrick has 17 caused turnovers and 31 ground balls for the Bobcats.

Connecticut College face-off specialist Ben Parens earns First Team honors for the second straight season and All-NESCAC honors for the third time in his career. The junior won 71.3 percent of his face-offs this season to pace the conference, winning 239 of 348 draws while corralling 119 ground balls.

Senior Alex Calabro of Connecticut College earned all-conference recognition for the first time in his career as a long-stick midfielder. He registered 59 ground balls and 10 caused turnovers to go along with three goals and five assists for eight points.

Matt Killian of Amherst is the First Team selection as a short-stick midfielder. The senior, who was an All-NESCAC Second Team selection in 2015, recorded 14 goals and 11 assists for 25 points, while also tallying 54 ground balls.

Wesleyan’s Ted Bergman collected All-NESCAC recognition for the second time in his career by being named the league’s top goalkeeper. The senior was a Second Team honoree in 2015. He has played nearly every minute in net for the Cardinals, who have the best defense in the NESCAC, allowing 8.82 goals per game. He owns a league-best 8.66 goals against average and .574 save percentage.

Amherst first-year Colin Minicus was named NESCAC Rookie of the Year. The attack ranks second among rookies in the conference with 64 points on 25 goals and 39 points. He is the third player in program history to garner the accolade, joining Derek Cherney (2004) and Devon Action (2011).

John Raba of Wesleyan earned NESCAC Coach of the Year recognition for the third time in his career. In his 21st season at the helm, Raba guided the Cardinals to the No. 2 seed in the NESCAC Championship after posting an 9-1 record in league play and 15-1 mark overall. Raba also won the NESCAC Coach of the Year honor in 2001 and 2006.

Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
A Charlie Fay
Sr. Falmouth, Maine
A Harry Stanton Wesleyan Jr.
New Canaan, Conn.
A Michael Fahey
Williams Sr. Manhasset, N.Y.
Danny Murphy
Tufts So. Hauppauge, N.Y.
M Kyle Weber
Bates Sr.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
M Taylor Ghesquiere
Wesleyan Jr.
Bloomfield Hills, Mich.
Matthew Crowell
Bowdoin Jr. Medfield, Mass.
Fred Ulbrick
Bates Sr. Fairfield, Conn.
D Eric Rogers
Middlebury Jr. Lebanon, N.J.
Riley Hoffman Williams
Sr. Darien, Conn.
Ben Parens
Conn. College Jr. Sleepy Hollow, N.Y.
Alex Calabro
Conn. College
Sr. Newton, Mass.
Matt Killian
Amherst Sr.
Summit, N.J.
GK Ted Bergman
Media, Pa.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
A Brett Kujala
Jr. Maple Ridge, British Columbia
A Henry Riehl
Middlebury Jr. Baltimore, Md.
A Evan Wolf
So. Wynnewood, Pa.
M Daniel Buckman
Bowdoin Jr. Merion Station, Pa.
M Ben Connelly
So. Winnetka, Ill.
M Andrew Ford
So. Mendham, N.J.
Parker Sessions
Bowdoin Jr. Baltimore, Md.
D Arend Broekmate
Tufts So. Sammamish, Wash.
D Jamie Smith
Amherst So. Tewksbury, N.J.
Dylan Finazzo
Amherst Fy.
Bohemia, N.Y.
Ben Shively
Wesleyan Jr. Bronxville, N.Y.
Scott Baber
Bates Sr. Pound Ridge, N.Y.
GK C.J. Layton
So. Wakefield, Mass.
Charlie Fay
Player of the Year
Charlie Fay, Bates
Colin Minicus
Rookie of the Year
Colin Minicus, Amherst
John Raba
Coach of the Year
John Raba, Wesleyan