Four NESCAC Teams Earn NCAA Men's Lacrosse Tournament Bids

Four NESCAC Teams Earn NCAA Men's Lacrosse Tournament Bids

HADLEY, Mass. - All four NESCAC men's lacrosse teams that earned a bid to the 2017 NCAA Division III Championship will host a second-round games on May 10. The four NESCAC teams were also placed in the same quarter and could face each other should they advance out of the second round. The 34-team tournament will be played entirely at on-campus sites until the championship game May 28 at Gillette Stadium in Foxboro, Massachusetts.


Bates (14-1), which earned the top seed in the NESCAC Championship and posted an unbeaten mark in conference play, received one of the top four seeds and makes its second NCAA appearance in three years. The Bobcats will host Plattsburgh State (12-5) on Wednesday. Bates won 14 straight games until it was upended by No. 6 Middlebury in the NESCAC Semifinals. Plattsburgh State is making its first NCAA Tournament appearance after winning the SUNYAC Championship on Saturday with a 10-6 win over Cortland State.

The winner between Bates and Plattsburgh State will play the winner of Amherst and Springfield on Saturday in the third round.

Amherst, which is making its fifth NCAA Championship appearance, earned a third straight bid to the national postseason and takes the field with a 12-4 overall record. The Mammoths, which earned the third seed in the NESCAC Championship after posting an 8-2 record conference mark during the regular season, earned an at-large bid following a 12-11 loss to Middlebury College in the NESCAC Quarterfinals. Amherst hosts Springfield (12-4), which is making its ninth consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance. The Pride finished their regular season 6-1 in NEWMAC action and went on to win the conference tournament with an 18-10 victory over Clark University on Saturday.

Tufts (12-5) will host Keene State (14-3) on Wednesday. The Jumbos, which has the top offense in the conference, averaging 17.19 goals per game this season, advanced to the semifinals of the NESCAC Championship, falling to eventual champion Wesleyan. Tufts is making its eighth straight NCAA Tournament appearance and won its most recent NCAA Championship in back-to-back seasons in 2014 and 2015. The Owls earned the Little East's automatic bid by winning the LEC Championship for the fourth straight year. 

Wesleyan (17-1) returns to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2009. The Cardinals claimed the automatic bid from the NESCAC following a thrilling 9-8 victory over Middlebury in the conference title game on Sunday. Wesleyan will host New England College (13-5). The Pilgrims earned the automatic bid from the North Atlantic Conference following a 12-3 win over Castleton in the championship game and are 13-5 overall. Wesleyan is riding a program-record 17-game win streak heading into the NCAA Tournament.

The winner of Tufts/Keene State will play the Wesleyan/New England College winner on Saturday.