Men's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Released

Men's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Released

HADLEY, Mass. – Amherst junior Evan Wolf (Wynnewood, Pa.) has been selected as the NESCAC Player of the Year as voted on by the league’s coaches. Wolf, who also earns First Team honors at attack and earned All-NESCAC Second Team honors last season, ranks second in the conference in scoring with 84 points and has netted a league-leading 53 goals. He is the third Mammoth to garner the Player of the Year honor, joining Quinn Moroney (2015) and Derek Cherney (2007). Wolf leads Amherst, the No. 2 seed, into the semifinals of the NESCAC Championship this weekend at Wesleyan.

• Amherst and Wesleyan placed the most players on the All-NESCAC teams with six each. Tufts was represented by five players and Bowdoin and Middlebury had three selections each.

• A total of 12 players across both the First and Second Team honorees were selected in 2017. Seven members of the First Team are repeat selections.

Colin Minicus (Darien, Conn.), last year’s Rookie of the Year, is on the All-NESCAC First Team for the first time in his career. The attack ranks third in the league in scoring with 82 points and has a team-high 43 assists for the Mammoths.

Danny Murphy, a junior attack from Tufts, returns to the First Team for the second year in a row. The Hauppauge, N.Y. native leads the Jumbos and ranks fourth in the league in scoring with 78 points and 34 goals and 44 assists. Tufts will be playing in the NESCAC Semifinals for the 10th year in a row.

• Bowdoin’s Matthew Crowell (Medfield, Mass.) earns his third All-NESCAC honor of his career. A Second Team selection in 2016, the senior midfielder is on the First Team for the second consecutive season. Crowell is tied for the team lead in goals (25) and has 30 points for the Polar Bears. 

• Middlebury junior midfielder Michael McCormack (Williamstown, Mass.) ranked third on the Panthers in scoring with 44 points on 30 goals and 14 assists. He earns All-NESCAC honors for the first time in his career.

• Amherst’s Matt Solberg (East Grand Rapids, Mich.) rounds out the First Team midfielders, earning his first All-NESCAC award. A sophomore, he ranks third on the Mammoths in scoring with 63 points on 38 goals and 25 assists.

• Bates junior defender Rocco Fantoni (Happauge, N.Y.) leads the NESCAC in caused turnovers (37). He also picked up 55 ground balls and scored a pair of goals for the Bobcats as he earns an All-NESCAC accolade for the first time in his career.

• Senior Eric Rogers (Lebanon, N.J.) is a First Team defender for the third straight season. He ranked second on the Middlebury squad in ground balls (39) and helped the Panthers qualify for the NESCAC Tournament for the sixth consecutive season.

• Bowdoin’s Parker Sessions (Baltimore, Md.) earns his third All-NESCAC honor his career at defense and moves up to the First Team as a senior. He was a Second Team honoree in both 2016 and 2017. Sessions led the Polar Bears in caused turnovers (17) and helped Bowdoin qualify for the NESCAC Tournament.

• Wesleyan sophomore Otto Bohan (Westlake, Ohio) earns his first All-NESCAC honor as the First Team goalie. He anchors the defensive unit for the Cardinals, which is allowing a league-low 8.63 goals per game. Bohan leads the league with a 7.67 goals against average and ranks second in save percentage (.565).

• Amherst sophomore Dylan Finazzo (Bohemia, N.Y.) moves up to the First Team after being the Second Team faceoff specialist last season. Finazzo leads the NESCAC with a .683 win percentage at the dot and ranks second in the NESCAC with 121 ground balls.

Jordan Sanford (Grand Rapids, Mich.), a senior from Amherst, is the First Team long-stick midfielder. He collected 23 ground balls and started every game for the Mammoths. He has also contributed eight points and six goals this season.

• Amherst sophomore Jimmy McAfee (Perrineville, N.J) was selected as the First Team short-stick midfielder and earns his first All-NESCAC honor. McAfee has registered 26 points on 10 goals and 16 assists, to go along with 59 ground balls.

• First-year Ronan Jacoby (Glastonbury, Conn.) of Wesleyan was selected as the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. He is the fifth Cardinal to be honored, joining teammate Harry Stanton (2015), and former Wesleyan players John Froats (2009), Jon Killeen (2007) and Glen Adams (2003). Jacoby has 46 goals, which ranks fifth among the NESCAC leaders, and 59 points for the Cardinals this season.

• For the second time in his eight years at the helm, Amherst head coach Jon Thompson was selected by his peers as the NESCAC Coach of the Year for the second time in his career. He also garnered the award in 2015. Thompson directed the Mammoths to a 9-1 mark in conference play this season. Amherst will play in the semifinal at Wesleyan this weekend.

Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: Evan Wolf, Amherst
Rookie of the Year: Ronan Jacoby, Wesleyan
Coach of the Year: Jon Thompson, Amherst

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
A Colin Minicus Amherst So. Darien, Conn.
A Danny Murphy Tufts Jr. Hauppauge, N.Y.
A Evan Wolf Amherst Jr. Wynnewood, Pa.
M Matthew Crowell Bowdoin Sr. Medfield, Mass.
M Michael McCormack Middlebury Jr. Williamstown, Mass.
M Matt Solberg Amherst So. East Grand Rapids, Mich.
D Rocco Fantoni Bates Jr. Hauppauge, N.Y.
D Eric Rogers Middlebury Sr. Lebanon, N.J.
D Parker Sessions Bowdoin Sr. Baltimore, Md.
G Otto Bohan Wesleyan So. Westlake, Ohio
FO Dylan Finazzo Amherst So. Bohemia, N.Y.
LSM Jordan Sanford Amherst Sr. Grand Rapids, Mich.
SSM Jimmy McAfee Amherst So. Perrineville, Mich.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
A Matt Chlastawa Bates So. Westfield, Mass.
A Carter Hawthorne Wesleyan Jr. Massapequa, N.Y.
A Henry Riehl Middlebury Sr. Baltimore, Md.
A Harry Stanton Wesleyan Sr. New Canaan, Conn.
M Christian Barker Wesleyan Jr. Highlands Ranch, Colo.
M Taylor Ghesquiere Wesleyan Sr. Bloomfield Hills, Mich.
M Nick Shanks Tufts So. Laguna Beach, Calif.
D Arend Broekmate Tufts Jr. Sammamish, Wash.
D Connor Lansdale Tufts Sr. San Diego, Calif.
D Andres Rodriguez Wesleyan Sr. Morristown, N.J.
G C.J. Layton Colby Jr. Wakefield, Mass.
G George Peele Williams So. Norwalk, Conn.
FO Sam Carlin Bowdoin Jr. New Albany, Ohio
LSM Rock Stewart Williams So. Darien, Conn.
SSM Cam Irwin Tufts Sr. Glenview, Ill.