Men's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Released

Amherst's Evan Wolf is the NESCAC Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year
HADLEY, Mass. - Amherst senior Evan Wolf (Wynnewood, Pa.) earns NESCAC Player of the Year honors for the second consecutive year, as voted on by the league’s coaches. Wolf also earns All-NESCAC honors for the third time in his career with a spot on the First Team. Wolf, the NESCAC leader in points (94) and goals (62), is the fourth player in the history of the award to be honored in back-to-back seasons and is the third Mammoth to garner the NESCAC Player of the Year honor, joining Quinn Moroney (2015) and Derek Cherney (2007). Amherst, the No. 4 seed, faces No. 3 Williams in the NESCAC Semifinals on Saturday at Tufts.
First-year attack Jake Haase (Wayland, Mass.) is the second Eph to garner NESCAC Rookie of the Year honors, joining David Hawley (2008). Haase leads Williams in scoring with 73 points on 27 goals and 46 assists. His 46 helpers rank second in the NESCAC, and he is fourth among the league’s scoring leaders.
Williams head coach George McCormack earns his third NESCAC Coach of the Year honor in his 16 years at the helm of the Ephs. Williams garnered its highest seed in program history (No. 3) and its victory over No. 6 Colby marked the team’s 14th win of the year, setting a school record for most wins in a single season. The Ephs will face Amherst in the NESCAC Semifinals as they look to capture their second NESCAC title and first since 2008.
Seniors Danny Murphy (Hauppauge, N.Y.) and Arend Broekmate (Sammamish, Wash.), along with junior Matt Treiber (Medfield, Mass.) of top-seeded Tufts all earned First Team honors. Murphy, an attack, returns to the First Team for the second year in a row. He leads the Jumbos and ranks third in the league in scoring with 78 points, scoring 43 goals and adding 35 assists. Broekmate, a defender, earns his third All-NESCAC honor and moves to the First Team after back-to-back years as a Second Team selection. He has collected 40 ground balls and registered 10 caused turnovers for the Jumbos. Treiber earns his first all-conference accolade. The midfielder is the third-leading scorer for Tufts with 53 points on 28 goals and 25 assists. The Jumbos are hosting the remaining rounds of the NESCAC Championship and have reached the semifinals for the 11th consecutive year.
Williams juniors Brendan Hoffman (Darien, Conn.) and Rock Stewart (Darien, Conn.) represent the third-seeded Ephs on the First Team. Hoffman, a midfielder has 53 points on 36 goals and 17 assists for Williams, while Stewart, the First Team long-stick midfielder, has 65 ground balls and nine points to go with 29 caused turnovers.
Joining Wolf on the NESCAC First Team from Amherst are juniors Matt Solberg (East Grand Rapids, Mich.) and Jimmy McAfee (Perrineville, N.J.) both repeat First Team performers, and sophomore Tamer Sullivan (Ipswich, Mass.). A midfielder, Solberg ranks third on the Mammoths in scoring with 54 points (35-19-54). McAfee is the First Team short-stick midfielder for the third straight season. He has 41 ground balls, nine caused turnovers, and 15 points (8-7-15) this season. Sullivan earns his first all-conference accolade as a defender. He has started 15 games and recorded 31 ground balls and 19 caused turnovers. The Mammoths are in the NESCAC Semifinals for the second year in a row and looking to reach the championship game for the first time since 2015.
Junior Matt Chlastawa (Westfield, Mass.) and senior Rocco Fantoni (Hauppauge, N.Y.) represent Bates on the NESCAC First Team. Both players earn their second All-NESCAC honors after being Second Team selections last season. Chlastawa’s 92 points (39-53-92) led the Bobcat attack and ranks second in the NESCAC. Fantoni led Bates with 30 caused turnovers and collected 55 ground balls.
Trinity’s Scott Morgan (East Grand Rapids, Mich.) was chosen as the First Team faceoff specialist. He led the NESCAC in ground balls (144) and posted a .669 winning percentage at the dot. The senior helped the Bantams qualify for the NESCAC Championship for the first time since 2012.
Senior C.J. Layton (Wakefield, Mass.) of Colby and junior Otto Bohan (Westlake, Ohio) of Wesleyan are the First Team goalies. Layton led the Mules to a NESCAC Championship berth for the first time since 2015. He ranked third in the conference with a .563 save percentage and moved up to the First Team after earning Second Team honors in 2017 and 2018. Bohan helped the Cardinals secure the No. 2 seed in the NESCAC Championship and led the league with a .601 save percentage and an 8.52 goals against average.

Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: Evan Wolf, Amherst
Rookie of the Year: Jake Haase, Williams
Coach of the Year: George McCormack, Williams

2018-19 NESCAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference First Team
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
A Matt Chlastawa Bates Jr. Westfield, Conn.
A Danny Murphy Tufts Sr. Hauppauge, N.Y.
A Evan Wolf Amherst Sr. Wynnewood, Pa.
M Brendan Hoffman Williams Jr. Darien, Conn.
M Matt Solberg Amherst Jr. East Grand Rapids, Mich.
M Matt Treiber Tufts Jr. Medfield, Mass.
D Arend Brokemate Tufts Sr. Sammamish, Wash.
D Rocco Fantoni Bates Sr. Hauppauge, N.Y.
D Tamer Sullivan Amherst So. Ipswich, Mass.
FO Scott Morgan Trinity Sr. East Grand Rapids, Mich.
LSM Rock Stewart Williams Jr. Darien, Conn.
SSM Jimmy McAfee Amherst Jr. Perrineville, N.J.
G Otto Bohan Wesleyan Jr. Westlake, Ohio
G C.J. Layton Colby Sr. Wakefield, Mass.
2019 NESCAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Second Team
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
A Ben Connelly Tufts Sr. Kenilworth, Ill.
A Ronan Jacoby Wesleyan So. Glastonbury, Conn.
A Colin Minicus Amherst Jr. Darien, Conn.
M Christian Barker Wesleyan Sr. Highlands Ranch, Colo.
M Curtis Knapton Bates Jr. Westbrook, Maine
M Nick Shanks Tufts Jr. Laguna Beach, Calif.
D Rod Castro Amherst Jr. Bryn Mawr, Pa.
D Colin Malarchuk Wesleyan Jr. Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.
D Henry Savage Bowdoin So. Marblehead, Mass.
FO Kyle Helfrich Tufts So. North Andover, Mass.
LSM Stewart Stockdale Tufts Sr. Darien, Conn.
SSM Sean Penney Wesleyan So. Simsbury, Conn.
G Mason Pollack Tufts Jr. Arlington, Va.