Men's Soccer All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Men's Soccer All-NESCAC Selections Announced

HADLEY, Mass. – Tufts senior Conor Coleman has been selected as the NESCAC Player of the Year. He is the first Jumbo to garner the award and the fourth defender to earn the honor. He anchors Tufts’ defensive unit that has allowed just one goal on the year and posted 17 shutouts. Also an All-NESCAC First Team selection, Coleman helped the Jumbos capture their first NESCAC Men’s Soccer Championship with a 1-0 victory over Middlebury and a berth to the NCAA Tournament.

• Five players represented Bowdoin on the All-NESCAC teams, while Hamilton and Tufts had three players selected. Sixteen players earned All-NESCAC honors for the first time in their careers across the two teams.

• Senior Nate Merchant led the Bates Bobcats in scoring and is tied for second in the conference with 18 points. He handed out a league-leading six assists and added six goals to help Bates earn a spot on the NESCAC Championship for the first time since 2008.

• Trinity forward Cody Savonen earns his third All-NESCAC honor with a spot on the First Team. He was a Second Team selection in 2014 and 2015. Savonen tallied 18 points, tied for second among the league leaders, to lead the Bantams in scoring. A senior, he netted eight goals, matching the NESCAC leaders.

Mark Sisco-Tolomeo of Williams earns All-NESCAC honors for the first time in his career. The senior forward started all 15 matches he played and leads the Ephs in scoring with nine points on four goals and one helper.

• Hamilton sophomore Aidan Wood is the leading scorer in the NESCAC with 19 points. He tied for the league lead in goals (8), including three game-winners, and added three assists. Wood helped the Continentals advance to the NESCAC Semifinals for the second consecutive season. Teammate Luke Eckels, last year’s Rookie of the Year and a member of the All-NESCAC Second Team, is the second Continental on the First Team this season. Eckels started every game this season for the Continentals.

• Senior midfielder Tyler Kulcsar of Tufts is a first-time All-NESCAC selection. As a central midfielder, he had the most impact on the defensive side of the ball for the Jumbos. He has started every game he has played this season for the NCAA-bound Jumbos, who have not surrendered a goal since September 30.

Ben Manoogian, a junior midfielder, tied for the league lead in goals (8) and has 17 points on the season. He helped Connecticut College earn the No. 4 seed in the NESCAC Championship. The Camels are headed to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 1995.

Riley Bubb a defender, midfielder Moctar Niang, and goalkeeper Stevie Van Siclen represent Bowdoin on the First Team. Bubb is a newcomer to the NESCAC awards, while Niang repeats as a First Team selection and Van Siclen was a Second Team honoree in 2015. The trio helped the Polar Bears reach the NESCAC Semifinals and earn an at-large berth to the NCAA Tournament. Niang has contributed two goals and five points and Bubb has started every match this season. Bubb and Van Siclen have led the Bowdoin defensive unit that owns a 0.56 goals against average Van Siclen has played every minute in net for the Polar Bears and registered nine wins, eight by shutout, and carries an .867 save percentage.

• Connecticut College first-year A.J. Marcucci is the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. He is the second Camel to earn Rookie of the Year honors, joining Mark Leon (2015), and just the second goalkeeper to be earn the honor. Marcucci, who earned a spot on the All-NESCAC Second Team, played all but 26 minutes in net and posted a 0.54 goals against average with a .897 save percentage, which both rank third among the NESCAC goalkeepers. He also posted six shutouts in his first season with the Camels.

• Tufts head coach Josh Shapiro is the NESCAC Coach of the Year for the second time in his eight seasons at the helm of the Jumbos. Shapiro, who also earned the honor in 2014, guided Tufts to a 7-1-2 record in league play and the top seed in the NESCAC Championship where the Jumbos claimed their first NESCAC title.

Men's Soccer All-NESCAC Teams

Player of the Year: Conor Coleman, Tufts
Rookie of the Year: A.J. Marcucci, Connecticut College
Coach of the Year: Josh Shapiro, Tufts

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Nate Merchant Bates Sr. Los Angeles, Calif.
F Cody Savonen Trinity Sr. Orleans, Mass.
F Mark Sisco-Tolomeo Williams Sr. Franklin Lakes, N.J.
F Aidan Wood Hamilton So. Ipswich, Mass.
M Tyler Kulcsar Tufts Sr. Wayne, N.J.
M Ben Manoogian Connecticut College Jr. Peabody, Mass.
M Moctar Niang Bowdoin Jr. New York, N.Y.
D Riley Bubb Bowdoin Sr. Fort Wayne, Ind.
D Conor Coleman Tufts Sr. Phoenix, Ariz.
D Luke Eckels Hamilton So. Ridgewood, N.J.
GK Stevie Van Siclen Bowdoin Sr. Carlisle, Mass.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Ethan Ellsworth Bowdoin Sr. Greenlawn, N.Y.
F Drew Goulart Middlebury So. Weston, Mass.
F Jeff Rosenberg Colby Jr. Bethesda, Md.
M Komar Martinez-Paiz Wesleyan Jr. Pawtucket, R.I.
M Eli Morris Hamilton Sr. Sherburne, N.Y.
M Daniel O'Grady Middlebury Jr. New York, N.Y.
D Matty McColl Bowdoin Jr. Victoria, British Columbia
D Tobias Muellers Williams Sr. Burlington, Vt.
D Max Watson Bates Sr. Yarmouth, Maine
D Sterling Weatherbie Tufts Jr. Cape Elizabeth, Maine
GK A.J. Marcucci Connecticut College Fy. West Chester, Pa.