Men's Soccer All-NESCAC Selections Announced

AJ Marcucci of Connecticut College is the NESCAC Player of the Year
HADLEY, Mass. – Connecticut College goalkeeper AJ Marcucci has been selected as the NESCAC Player of the Year as voted by the league’s coaches. He is the third Camel to garner the award joining Billy Hawkey (2013) and Pat Devlin (2016). Marcucci is also the third goalkeeper and the third sophomore to earn the award. 
Marcucci, who also earned a spot on the All-NESCAC First Team, leads all NESCAC goalkeepers with a .937 save percentage and has allowed four goals for a 0.26 goals against average. He has played all but 59 minutes in net for the Camels and has 11 wins, 10 of which have been shutouts. Marcucci, the NESCAC Rookie of the Year last season, is the first player since 2000 to earn the Rookie of the Year honor one season and the Player of the Year accolade the next.
• Joining Marcucci on the All-NESCAC First Team from Connecticut College are seniors Uzii Dieng and Ben Manoogian and sophomore Liam Donelan. Dieng, a forward, earns his first All-NESCAC accolade with a spot on the First Team. He ranks second on the team in scoring with 13 points on four goals and five assists. Manoogian repeats as an All-NESCAC First Team selection and has contributed five points, including two game-winning goals, from his midfield position. Donelan, another first-time All-NESCAC First Team honoree, has contributed to a Camel defensive unit that has surrendered four goals in over 1,400 minutes this year. Connecticut College earned an at-large selection to the NCAA Tournament and will host first and second-round matches November 10-11.
• Midfielders Cutler Coleman and Luke Nguyen represent Amherst on the All-NESCAC First Team as first-time honorees. Nguyen is second on the team in scoring with 13 points and five goals in 12 starts. Coleman has chipped in five points and one game-winning goal in 16 games this season. The Mammoths, who earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament, will host first and second-round matches.
• The Bowdoin duo of Drake Byrd and Moctar Niang earned spots on the All-NESCAC First Team. Byrd, a sophomore, is honored for the first time by the league, while Niang is a First Team selection for the third straight year. Although a defender, Niang is tied for second among the NESCAC leaders with 15 points. He scored seven goals, including two game-winning tallies, and started all 16 games for the Polar Bears. Byrd netted five goals and totaled 13 points in 16 starts for Bowdoin.
• Tufts senior Sterling Weatherbie moves to the All-NESCAC First Team after earning Second Team honors last year. He is joined on the First Team by junior teammates Joe Braun and Gavin Tasker as they earned their first All-NESCAC accolades. Weatherbie has contributed to a Tufts defense that has limited opponents to nine goals and posted nine shutouts. Braun is the league’s leading scorer with 20 points and eight goals in 12 starts. Tasker is the second-leading scorer for the Jumbos with 10 points and four goals. Tufts earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament and will host a second-round match after receiving a first-round bye.
• After being named to the All-NESCAC Second Team three straight years, Middlebury’s Daniel O’Grady earned a spot on the First Team as a senior. O’Grady ranks second among the Panthers leading scorers with 12 points (4 goals, 4 assists) in 13 games. O’Grady and the Panthers earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament.
• Hamilton defender Luke Eckels rounds out the All-NESCAC First Team. A junior, Eckels is on the First Team for the second straight season. He was the Rookie of the Year and a Second Team honoree in 2016. Eckels led Hamilton to its third straight NESCAC Semifinal game appearance. He started all 17 games and was part of a Continental defensive unit that posted nine shutouts.
• Amherst first-year German Giammattei is the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. The forward is tied for fourth among the NESCAC leaders in points (14) and has six goals in 13 starts for the NCAA-bound Mammoths. He is the fifth Mammoth to garner the honor and the first since 2006, joining Franklin Perry (2000), Andrew Syfu (2001), Joseph Gannon (2002), and Matt Lewis (2006).
• Connecticut College head coach Kenny Murphy was selected as the NESCAC Coach of the Year by his peers. Murphy, who is in his 10th season at Connecticut College, guided the Camels to the No. 2 seed in the NESCAC Tournament and an NCAA Tournament berth for the second year in a row. Murphy earns the Coach of the Year honor for the first time in his career and is the first Connecticut College coach to be honored since 2000.

Men's Soccer All-NESCAC Teams

Player of the Year: AJ Marcucci, Connecticut College
Rookie of the Year: German Giammattei, Amherst
Coach of the Year: Kenny Murphy, Connecticut College

2018 NESCAC Men's Soccer All-Conference First Team
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Joe Braun Tufts Jr. Yardley, Pa.
F Drake Byrd Bowdoin So. Simpsonville, N.C.
F Uzii Deing Connecticut College Sr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
M Cutler Coleman Amherst Jr. Winter Park, Fla.
M Ben Manoogian Connecticut College Sr. Peabody, Mass.
M Luke Nguyen Amherst Sr. Old Lyme, Conn.
M Daniel O'Grady Middlebury Sr. New York, N.Y.
M Gavin Tasker Tufts Jr. Concord, Mass.
D Luke Eckels Hamilton Jr. Ridgewood, N.J.
D Liam Donelan Connecticut College So. Milton, Mass.
D Moctar Niang Bowdoin Sr. New York, N.Y.
D Sterling Weatherbie Tufts Sr. Cape Elizabeth, Maine
GK AJ Marcucci Connecticut College So. West Chester, Pa.
2018 NESCAC Men's Soccer All-Conference Second Team
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Fikayo Ajayi Amherst Sr. London, England
F Alistair Matule Trinity So. Charlestown, Mass.
F Jeff Rosenberg Colby Sr. Bethesda, Md.
F Aidan Wood Hamilton Jr. Ipswich, Mass.
M Gregory Andreou Williams Sr. Baltimore, Md.
M Peder Bakken Bates Jr. Seattle, Wash.
M Cam Clouse Colby Sr. Holliston, Mass.
M Chris Fleischer Williams Jr Bethesda, Md.
M Brett Rojas Tufts Jr. Madison, N.J.
D Biagio Paoletta Tufts So. Fairfield, Conn.
D Liam Bardong Williams Jr. Manhasset, N.Y.
D Aidan Robinson Middlebury Jr. Gloucester, Mass.
D Matty McColl Bowdoin Sr. Victoria, British Columbia
GK Dan Carlson Colby Sr. Littleton, Mass.