Twelve Men's Tennis Players Named All-America by ITA

HADLEY, Mass. - Twelve men's tennis players came away with All-America honors on Monday, it was announced by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA). Of the 12 individuals honored, six were for singles play while four doubles teams were recognized, a total of eight players.

The singles players honored included Amherst's Austin Chafetz and Zach Lerner, Ben Stein of Bates, Stephen Sullivan of Bowdoin, Conrad Olson of Middlebury, and Williams' Nick Lebedoff.

At doubles were Moritz Koenig and Lerner from Amherst, Amrit Rupasinghe and Stein of Bates, the Bowdoin tandem of Jamie Neely and Oscar Pena, and David Farah along with Andrew Thomson of Middlebury.

Unseeded at this year's national championship, Rupasinghe and Stein teamed up to win the NCAA doubles title this spring at Claremont-Mudd-Scripps on May 24. Stein also finished as the runner-up in the singles championship prior to claiming the NCAA doubles crown over Bowdoin's Neely and Pena.

Lerner and Olson shared NESCAC Player of the Year honors in May, while Chafetz was recognized as the 2009 NESCAC Rookie of the Year. All 12 individuals came away with All-NESCAC accolades this season.