Williams' Moore Named CRCA Coach of the Year

Williams' Moore Named CRCA Coach of the Year

Courtesy Williams Sports Information

WILLIAMSTOWN, Mass. - For the third time in four years (2006, 2008 & 2009) the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) has named Justin Moore from Williams the National Division III Coach of the Year. It is the fourth time that Moore has been accorded national coach of the year honors (2000).

Moore guided his Eph women’s team to a record fourth consecutive NCAA title on May 30th when his Varsity 1 boat won the NCAA Grand Final and his Varsity 2 boat finished fifth in the Grand Final. Williams was the only team to have two boats advance to the NCAA Grand Final.

Moore also coached the Ephs to the first NCAA Division III Rowing Championship for Women in Indianapolis, Indiana in 2002.

Moore’s Ephs have qualified for nine NCAA Championships, the first two in an NCAA event that featured all divisions in one championship, and has posted six top five finishes.

This year Moore’s Eph Varsity 1 boat completed an undefeated fall and spring collecting the Head of Charles title in the fall and the Little Three, New England and NESCAC titles along with the NCAA crown in the spring. His Ephs also netted the All Points Trophy at the New England Championships.

Moore, who is spending the summer with the US Junior National Women’s Team, has had 24 of his rowers named All-Americans, including three seniors this year who were named to the First Team -- Allison Prevatt, Katherine Robinson and Sam Smith.