Bates & Williams Finish Second & Third at NCAA Rowing Team Championship

Bates & Williams Finish Second & Third at NCAA Rowing Team Championship

Courtesy of Bates, Wesleyan and Williams Sports Information


GOLD RIVER, Calif. - Bates and Williams posted second- and third-place finishes at the 2016 NCAA Women's Rowing Championship on Saturday at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center. 

In the final team standings, which combine the results from the WV8 and WV28 grand finals, Wellelsey earned the national championship with 40 points. Defending national champion Bates, which earned its sixth national runner-up finish, was second with 36 points. Williams was right behind in third with 35 followed by Pacific Lutheran was fourth with 27 points. 

The WV8 grand final was close at the start before Wellesley took charge of the race after the first 250 meters. Williams and Wesleyan tried to challenge Wellesley in the final 500 meters, but the deficit was too much to overcome as Wellesley won the race with a time of 6:46.100. The Ephs edged the Cardinals at the finish line for second place with a time of 6:47.405, while Wesleyan clocked a time of 6:47.824. Bates finished fourth with a time of 6:50.996.

Williams' runner-up boat was made up of Louisa Abel as the coxswain, Anne Tewksbury in the stroke seat, Sophia JannettyEmory Strawn, Gabrielle Markel, Eileen Russell, Bertie Miller and Clara Beery in seats seven through two and Katie Costantini in the bow. Wesleyan's boat was comprised of Ava Miller-Lewis, Remy Johnson, Annalee Holmdahl, Emma Koramshahi, Ricky Flowers, Emma Halter, Annie Dade, Amanda Molitor and coxswain Elissa Greenberg.

In the W2V8 grand final, Bates raced out to an early lead, owning more than a three-second lead through the first 500 meters. The Bobcats continued to extend their advantage throughout the race, as they went on the win the race by more than eight seconds with a time of 6:50.927. Wellesley came in second with a mark of 6:59.315, while Williams finished third (7:06.509). It is the third straight year that Bates' second varsity eight claimed the grand final gold medal.

The first-place Bobcat boat was comprised of Abigail Bierman as the coxswain, Julia Mason in the stroke seat, Molly Pritz, Phoebe Long, Ella Bourland, Kiera Degener-O'Brien, Sophia Merelas, and Grave Jurkovich in seats seven through two and Margaux Joselow in the bow. Williams' boat consisted of Ava Palmo as the coxswain, Mikhayla Armstrong, Caroline Kessler, Emily Burch, Rebecca Smith, Bety Lopez, Diana Matthiessen, Gemma Holt and Merritt Harlan.

Photo courtesy Aaron Morse, Bates College