Three NESCAC Teams Selected for NCAA Rowing Championships

Three NESCAC Teams Selected for NCAA Rowing Championships

HADLEY, Mass. - Three NESCAC teams have been chosen to participate in the 2018 NCAA Rowing Championships, which will be held May 25-26 at Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Florida, with the University of Central Florida and the Suncoast Aquatic Nature Center Association serving as hosts.

Conference champion Bates earned an automatic bid to this year's championship after capturing the NESCAC title for the second straight year and fourth time overall. Williams and Wesleyan were chosen as two of four at-large Varsity Eight boats.


In 2017, Bates captured its second national title in three years at the NCAA Division III Women’s Rowing Championships held at Mercer Lake in West Windsor, New Jersey. Bates put together a Second Varsity Eight Grand Final victory and a runner-up finish in the Varsity Eight Grand Final for the national title.

Bates is in the national championship for the 12th consecutive year and also won the NCAA title in 2015. Williams will be making its 15th straight NCAA appearance, 19th overall, this spring. The Ephs won the first-ever Division III event in 2002 before winning eight straight NCAA crowns starting in 2006. Wesleyan is making its fourth appearance in five seasons after earning its first trip to the NCAA Championships in 2014.

The championships are comprised of eight teams and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and a coxswain. The following are the berths that are allocated: Pool A – four (Pool A consists of conferences that have been awarded automatic qualification); Pool B/C – four (Pools B and C include independents, institutions from conferences that do not meet automatic-qualification standards and Pool A institutions that did not receive their conference’s automatic qualification).