Men's & Women's All-NESCAC Rowing Teams Released

Bates Rowing
HADLEY, Mass. – The New England Small College Athletic Conference announced the 2019 Men’s and Women’s Rowing All-NESCAC Teams. The 10-member squads are comprised of individuals from the league’s eight teams and based on each team’s finish at the NESCAC championships, which are held in conjunction with the National Invitational Rowing Championship.
The Bates men’s rowing team placed four individuals on the All-NESCAC First Team, with seniors Eric Jordan (Stratham, N.H.), Julian Stolper (Walpole, N.H.), Kento Kaijima (New York, N.Y.) and Ariel Lee (coxswain) (Misawa-shi, Aomori, Japan) all receiving recognition. Lee is a First Team coxswain for the second year in a row. The Bobcats captured the NESCAC title for the third straight year. Trinity placed three individuals on the First Team after finishing second among NESCAC teams in the men’s varsity eight grand final. Senior Paul Swetz (Waban, Mass.), junior Jack Reid (Deerfield, N.H.), and sophomore Tyler Somerville (North Salt Lake, Utah) garnered accolades for the first time in their careers. Wesleyan seniors Ben Lynch (Lyme, N.H.) and Jack Sheffer (Bow, N.H.) represented the Cardinals on the First Team and earned their first all-conference accolades. Tufts sophomore Rick Boer (Brookline, Mass.) garnered his first All-NESCAC honor to round out the First Team men’s rowers. 
On the women’s side, Bates senior Lena Rintell (Brookline, Mass.), along with juniors Hannah Fitts (Pawtucket, R.I.) and Emma Lee Wheeler (Paradis, Norway), and sophomore Elizabeth Folsom (coxswain) (San Mateo, Calif.) represented the NESCAC Champions. Bates beat out the competition by seven seconds to win its third consecutive NESCAC title. Rintell moves up to the First Team after being a Second Team selection in 2017 and 2018. Fitts also moves to the First Team after being a Second Team selection last year. Folsom is a First Team coxswain for the second consecutive season. Wesleyan was represented by seniors Allison Quintana (Bothell, Wash.), Rachelle Flowers (Marblehead, Mass.), and Emma Porrazzo (Greensboro, Vt.). Flowers repeats as a First Team selection for the Cardinals. The Hamilton duo of senior Danielle Schuman (West Hartford, Conn.) and junior Ann-Sophie Koglin (Westfield, N.J.) represented the Continentals. Koglin earns her third All-NESCAC honor and is on the First Team for the first time in her career after being a two-time Second Team honoree. Williams senior Julia Mini (Danvers, Mass.) is a first-time honoree, earning a spot on the First Team to represent the Ephs.
Bates’ Peter Steenstra was selected as the 2019 NESCAC Men’s & Women’s Rowing Coach of the Year by his peers after guiding both squads to a sweep of the NESCAC Championships for the third consecutive year. The women’s team won its fifth NESCAC Championship in six years and the men’s squad captured its fourth championship overall. Steenstra, who won both Coach of the Year honors the past two seasons, earns the Women’s Coach of the Year honor for the seventh time and the Men’s Coach of the Year for the fifth time in his 11-year career at Bates.

Men's All-Conference Teams

2019 NESCAC Men's Rowing All-Conference First Team
Name Institution Class Hometown
Rick Boer Tufts So. Brookline, Mass.
Eric Jordan Bates Sr. Stratham, N.H.
Kento Kaijima Bates Sr. New York, N.Y.
Ariel Lee (Coxswain) Bates Sr. Misawa-shi, Aomori, Japan
Ben Lynch Wesleyan Sr. Lyme, N.H.
Jack Reid Trinity Jr. Deerfield, N.H.
Tyler Somerville Trinity So. North Salt Lake, Utah
Julian Stolper Bates Sr. Walpole, N.H.
Paul Swetz Trinity Sr. Waban, Mass.
Jack Sheffer Wesleyan Sr. Bow, N.H.
2019 NESCAC Men's Rowing All-Conference Second Team
Name Institution Class Hometown
Ethan Ashley Colby Sr. Philadelphia, Pa.
Kevin Downing Bates So. Natick, Mass.
Nicholas Filosa Trinity So. New York, N.Y.
Abby Hart (Coxswain) Trinity Sr. Chester, Vt.
Harrison Malec Wesleyan Sr. Westport, Conn.
Maxwell Milavetz Bates Jr. Salt Lake City, Utah
James Miller Tufts Sr. Towson, Md.
Trent Pfeiffer Hamilton Sr. Richmond, Mass.
Daniel Ross Connecticut College Sr. Westport, Conn.
Drew West Williams Sr. Rockport, Maine

Women's All-Conference Teams

2019 NESCAC Women's Rowing All-Conference First Team
Name Institution Class Hometown
Hannah Fitts Bates Jr. Pawtucket, R.I.
Rachelle Flowers Wesleyan Sr. Marblehead, Mass.
Elizabeth Folsom (Coxswain) Bates So. San Mateo, Calif.
Ann-Sophie Koglin Hamilton Jr. Westfield, N.J.
Julia Mini Williams Sr. Danvers, Mass.
Emma Porrazzo Wesleyan Sr. Greensboro, Vt.
Allison Quintana Wesleyan Sr. Bothell, Wash.
Lena Rintell Bates Sr. Brookline, Mass.
Danielle Schuman Hamilton Sr. West Hartford, Conn.
Emma Lee Wheeler Bates Jr. Paradis, Norway
2019 NESCAC Women's Rowing All-Conference Second Team
Name Institution Class Hometown
Hannah Barnes Bates So. Mattapoisett, Mass.
Sally Harris Porter Bates So. Washington, D.C.
Gavi King Connecticut College Sr. Raymond, Maine
Ellie Krossa Colby Sr. Kirkland, Wash.
Samantha Lazar Williams So. Orchard Park, N.Y.
Libby Lichter Tufts Sr. Weston, Mass.
Monica Rao  Wesleyan Sr. Austin, Texas
Nicole Rizzuto (Coxswain) Wesleyan Jr. Saratoga Springs, N.Y.
Perrin Salewood Hamilton So. St. Louis, Mo.
Kirsten Thiim Trinity Jr. Acton, Mass.