Eight NESCAC Athletes Named Pocock CRCA All-Americans

Pocock CRCA All-America Teams

HADLEY, Mass. - The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) announced its 2018 Pocock All-America teams. The CRCA All-America squad, which recognizes the outstanding performances of rowers and coxswains at NCAA Division III institutions, featured eight individuals from five NESCAC schools. 


Bates, the 2018 NCAA National Champions and NESCAC Champions, was represented by seniors Rosemary Kyne and Olivia Stockly. Stockly was recognized for the third straight year, earning a spot on the All-America First Team. She is the second Bates rower to receive three First Team All-America awards. Kyne was named to the Second Team for the second consecutive season and is the seventh athlete in team history to earn multiple All-America honors. Both Bobcats were also All-NESCAC First-Team selections.

Tufts seniors Sera Busse and Emma Conroy, both All-NESCAC First Team honorees, were recognized with All-America honors, marking the first time in women's rowing history that two members of the program earned the award. Busse was named to the First Team for the second straight year, while Conroy earned a spot on the Second Team.

Wesleyan also had a pair of athletes named to the All-America squads. Junior Rachelle Flowers earned First Team honors, while senior Amanda Molitor concluded her career with a spot on the Second Team, earning her second All-America award after being named to the Second Team as a sophomore in 2016. Both Cardinals were All-NESCAC First Team selections this year.

Hamilton's sophomore Annie-Sophie Koglin and Williams junior Eileen Russell rounded out the NESCAC rowers who were honored. Koglin, an All-NESCAC Second Team honoree, earned her first All-America citation with a spot on the Second Team, while Russell picked up her second All-America honor, elevating to the First Team after being named to the Second Team last season. Russell also earned All-NESCAC First Team honors this spring.

Additionally, Bates head coach Peter Steenstra was named Division III National Coach of the Year for the third time in four years after leading the Bobcats to their second straight NCAA title and third in four seasons. Earlier this year, Steenstra was named NESCAC Women's Coach of the Year for the sixth time, and NESCAC Men's Coach of the Year for the fourth time. Bates' coaching staff of Steenstra, Haley Eovine and Elizabeth Kinney, also repeated as the Division III Coaching Staff of the Year.

Each year the coaches of the CRCA recognize the outstanding student-athletes in Division I, II, and III. Criteria for the award include:

  • The student-athlete must meet all eligibility rules as defined by her institution.
  • The student-athlete must have rowed at least 75% of the season's races in the varsity boat
  • The student-athlete must be nominated by her institution
  • The Head Coach of the student-athlete's institution must be a member in good standing of the CRCA.

All-American athletes are selected from those athletes already named First-Team All-Region. Criteria considered for selection include: boat performance, nomination rank, coach's comments, individual achievements, and 2K erg score. One coxswain is named to each team.