Three NESCAC Teams Selected for NCAA Rowing Championships

NCAA Rowing Championships

HADLEY, Mass. - Three NESCAC teams have been chosen to participate in the 2019 NCAA Rowing Championships, which will be held May 31-June 1 at the Indianapolis Rowing Center in Indianapolis, with Indiana University and the Indiana Sports Corporation serving as hosts.

Conference champion Bates earned an automatic bid to this year's championship after capturing the NESCAC title for the third straight year and fifth time overall. Hamilton and Wesleyan were chosen as two of four at-large Varsity Eight boats.


In 2018, Bates captured its second straight and third national title in four years at the NCAA Division III Women’s Rowing Championships held at Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Florida.  Bates put together victories in both the Grand Finals for the national title.

Bates is in the national championship for the 13th consecutive year and also won the NCAA title in 2015. Hamilton is making its second NCAA appearance and first since 2015. Wesleyan returns to the national championships for the fourth consecutive season. In 2016 and 2017, the Cardinals' Varsity Eight boat earned at-large bids and in 2016, Wesleyan's V8 became the first at-large boat to win a medal in tournament history as it finished third overall. Last year, the Cardinals finished fifth overall.

The championships are comprised of eight teams and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and a coxswain. The following are the berths that are allocated: Pool A – four (Pool A consists of conferences that have been awarded automatic qualification); Pool B/C – four (Pools B and C include independents, institutions from conferences that do not meet automatic-qualification standards and Pool A institutions that did not receive their conference’s automatic qualification).