Trinity Garners 12th Straight NESCAC Crown in Men’s Squash

Trinity Garners 12th Straight NESCAC Crown in Men’s Squash

Courtesy of Hamilton Sports Information

CLINTON, N.Y. - Trinity cruised to its 12th conference title with a 9-0 victory against Bates in Sunday's 2018 NESCAC Men's Squash Championship final at Hamilton College's Little Squash Center.

Complete Results

The top-seeded Bantams (14-0) are the only team to win the title since the first Championship was held in 2007. Trinity's players won all nine matches in three games. No. 2 seed Bates (11-4) finished as tournament runners-up for the third straight year.

No. 4 seed Middlebury (7-8) breezed to an 8-1 triumph against No. 3 seed Williams in the third-place match. Four Panthers won their matches in three games as Middlebury recorded the mild upset. The Panthers captured third place for the fifth time and defeated the Ephs in this match for the third year in a row. Williams (9-15) has been the runner-up in this event nine times. The Ephs' lone victory in today's match came at the first position.

No. 6 seed Colby (10-8) edged No. 5 seed Amherst 5-4 in the fifth-place match. The Mules finished fifth for the third time as they defeated the Mammoths in this match for the second straight year. Colby has never placed higher than fifth. The Mules won three matches in five games, including at the seventh position where the fifth game was decided by a score of 18-16. Amherst (8-9) picked up three of its four wins in three games.

No. 8 seed Bowdoin (5-11) posted a surprisingly easy 9-0 victory against No. 7 seed Hamilton in the seventh-place match. Seven of the Polar Bears' nine wins were in four games or less. Bowdoin was playing in this match for the fourth straight year. The Polar Bears last finished seventh in 2015. The Continentals (6-11) defeated Bowdoin 6-3 at Little Squash Center back on Dec. 2. Hamilton hadn't played on Sunday since 2013 when the Continentals were also in the seventh-place match.

Final: Trinity def. Bates, 9-0
Third-place match: Middlebury def. Williams, 8-1
Fifth-place match: Colby def. Amherst, 5-4
Seventh-place match: Bowdoin def. Hamilton, 9-0
Ninth place: Connecticut College
10th place: Tufts
11th place: Wesleyan