Trinity Captures 12th Consecutive NESCAC Title in Women’s Squash

Trinity Captures 12th Consecutive NESCAC Title in Women’s Squash

Courtesy of Hamilton Sports Information

CLINTON, N.Y. - Trinity captured its 12th conference title with a 7-2 win against Williams in Sunday's final of the 2018 NESCAC Women's Squash Championship at Hamilton College's Little Squash Center.

Complete Results

The top-seeded Bantams (13-2 overall) are the only team to win the women's title since the inaugural Championship was held in 2007. Trinity players were winners at each of the top seven positions on the ladder against Williams. Six of those seven matches were decided in three games. The No. 2 seed Ephs (13-10) collected the runner-up trophy for the 10th time. Williams players swept their eighth and ninth position matches in three games.

No. 3 seed Middlebury (10-6) edged No. 4 seed Amherst 5-4 in the third-place match. The Panthers finished third for the sixth time in the Championship. The deciding match was at the eighth position where a Middlebury player won the fifth game by the score of 14-12. The Mammoths (10-6) were playing in this match for just the second time; they also lost to Middlebury for third place in 2016.

No. 6 seed Bates (9-8) prevailed 6-3 in the fifth-place match against No. 5 seed Tufts. Bobcat players were winners at each of the top six spots on the ladder, and five of those six matches ended after three games. The Jumbos (12-6) were playing for fifth place for the first time.

No. 7 seed Wesleyan (10-11) clipped No. 8 seed Hamilton 5-4 in the seventh-place match. The Cardinals recorded victories in five of the top six positions on the ladder. Wesleyan players won in five games at the second, fifth and sixth positions. The Continentals (7-9) also finished in eighth place in 2016.

Final: Trinity def. Williams, 7-2
Third-place match: Middlebury def. Amherst, 5-4
Fifth-place match: Bates def. Tufts, 6-3
Seventh-place match: Wesleyan def. Hamilton, 5-4
Ninth place: Colby
10th place: Bowdoin
11th place: Connecticut College