Men's Squash All-Conference Teams Announced

Men's Squash All-Conference Teams Announced

HADLEY, Mass. - Trinity junior Michael Craig (Belfast, Northern Ireland) has been selected as the 2018 NESCAC Player of the Year by the conference coaches. Craig is the fifth Bantam to garner Player of the Year honors, joining Baset Chaudihry (2008), Gustav Detter (2009), Randy Lim (2011) and Vikram Malhotra (2012). Craig returns to the All-NESCAC First Team after earning Second Team honors in 2017. He went 15-1 in dual matches for the unbeaten Bantams (17-0), who captured their 12th straight NESCAC title.Three players on the All-NESCAC First Team are repeat honorees, while three players were Second Team selections a year ago. The All-NESCAC Second Team includes five first-time all-conference recipients.

  • Six Trinity players received All-NESCAC recognition, while three players from Williams were recognized along with two players each from Bates, Middlebury and Tufts. Overall, nine different schools had a player recognized on the First or Second Team.
  • Colby senior Will McBrian closed out his career as a four-time All-NESCAC honoree and is a repeat First Team selection. McBrian, the 2015 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, played at the No. 1 position for the Mules this season. He was also named to the Second Team in 2015 and 2016.
  • Juniors John Fitzgerald of Williams and Ian Squiers of Bowdoin earn their third consecutive All-NESCAC honors. Fitzgerald recorded a 7-2 mark for the Ephs this season and moved up to the First Team after being named to the Second Team in 2016 and 2017. Squires also elevated to the First Team after garnering All-NESCAC Second Team honors the last two years. He posted a 5-8 record playing No. 1 for the Polar Bears.
  • Trinity’s Thoboki Mohohlo, last year’s NESCAC Rookie of the Year, and Bates sophomore Mahmoud Yousry are repeat All-NESCAC First Team selections. Mohohlo posted an 8-2 record in his second season with the Bantams, while Yousry went 7-5 at the No. 1 position for the Bobcats, helping Bates earn NESCAC Runner-Up honors for the third consecutive season.
  • Three sophomores earn all-conference recognition for the first time in their careers. Middlebury’s William Cembalest played at No. 1 for the Panthers, helping them place third at the NESCAC Championships. Kush Kumar, of NESCAC Champions Trinity, earns his first All-NESCAC honor. He posted a 9-2 record for the unbeaten Bantams. Carl Shuck, the No. 1 player for the Ephs, posted an 8-9 record in 2017 to help guide Williams to a fourth-place finish at the conference tournament.
  • Wesleyan first-year Sean Choi was selected as the NESCAC Rookie of the Year by the conference coaches. He is the second Wesleyan player to earn Rookie of the Year honors, joining John Steele (2011). Choi, also an All-NESCAC First Team honoree, posted a 15-5 mark playing the No. 1 spot for the Cardinals.
  • Middlebury head coach Mark Lewis repeats at NESCAC Men’s Squash Coach of the Year after leading the Panthers to a third-place finish at the NESCAC Championships for the third straight season.

Men's Squash All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: Michael Craig, Trinity
Rookie of the Year: Sean Choi, Wesleyan
Coach of the Year: Mark Lewis, Middlebury

First Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
William Cembalest Middlebury So. Brooklyn, N.Y.
Sean Choi Wesleyan Fy. Jung-gu, Seoul
Michael Craig Trinity Jr. Belfast, Northern Ireland
John Fitzgerald Williams Jr. Greenwich, Conn.
Kush Kumar Trinity So. Dhampur, India
Will McBrian Colby Sr. Dedham, Mass.
Thoboki Mohohlo Trinity Jr. Johannesburg, South Africa
Carl Shuck Williams So. Rye, N.Y.
Ian Squiers Bowdoin Jr. Dayton, Ohio
Mahmoud Yousry Bates So. Cairo, Egypt
Second Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Omar Allaudin Trinity Sr. Lahore, Pakistan
Tom De Mulder Trinity Jr. Ghent, Belgium
Jacob Ellen Middlebury So. New York, N.Y.
James Evans Trinity Sr. Maidstone, England
Raghav Kumar Tufts So. Redwood City, Calif.
Alan Litman Tufts Jr. Merion, Pa.
Will Means Williams So. Bryn Mawr, Pa.
Anirudh Nambiar Bates Sr. Pune, India
Colin O'Dowd Hamilton Jr. Boston, Mass.
Terrence Wang Amherst Fy. Bellevue, Wash.